All about kueh lapis

Jman888

It is time of the year again, which is your favorite brand for kueh lapis.

i usually buy from batam since 3 years ago, tried a few brands there and can really tell one cent money, one cent goods!  There are many selling at the shopping malls, or some at the 'factory'. The price also varies from $10+ to $50+.

by the way, i was told to put cake in the freezer until eve of cny, or normal chill is good enough? 

see the different? ....  price also different  [laugh]

post-1109-0-32575100-1517543661_thumb.jpg

• Praise 16

i usually buy from batam since 3 years ago, tried a few brands there and can really tell one cent money, one cent goods!  There are many selling at the shopping malls, or some at the 'factory'. The price also varies from $10+ to $50+.

by the way, i was told to put cake in the freezer until eve of cny, or normal chill is good enough? 

attachicon.gifrps20180202_114909.jpg

huge different.

anyway i eat the one made at home until damn sian....

Made in IDN home made is the best.

Secret? Its a MUST to use Golden Churn butter.

those cheaper one would use margarine to save cost. Taste? CMI lor....

i usually buy from batam since 3 years ago, tried a few brands there and can really tell one cent money, one cent goods! There are many selling at the shopping malls, or some at the 'factory'. The price also varies from $10+ to $50+.

see the different? .... price also different [laugh]

rps20180202_114909.jpg

Lavender bakery in JB. Best!!

Atas looking and taste: Royal Istana.

the shops in nagoya....there is one popular brand, la moist. which is nice. but my last visit there i tried another brand. it is nicer than la moist. but i forget the name. 

$100 per kg?   [sweatdrop]  [sweatdrop]

the shops in nagoya....there is one popular brand, la moist. which is nice. but my last visit there i tried another brand. it is nicer than la moist. but i forget the name. 

lamoist very popular in the past long time ago, maybe the first and only brand selling in shopping mall. Now their standard drop a lot, the bottom one in the picture was Lamoist   [sweatdrop]

@jman888, you must buy some let me try first, then I can tell you the different mah. If got atas kopi to go with will be better.  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

$100 per kg? [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

lamoist very popular in the past long time ago, maybe the first and only brand selling in shopping mall. Now their standard drop a lot, the bottom one in the picture was Lamoist [sweatdrop]

Yup. Though I paid less for it due to some cc promotion. [laugh]

I still prefer the one from JB.

@jman888, you must buy some let me try first, then I can tell you the different mah. If got atas kopi to go with will be better.  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

i bring the cake you treat me atas kopi   [laugh]

must go with atas kopi kosong, the cake is quite sweet   [sweatdrop]

i bring the cake you treat me atas kopi   [laugh]

must go with atas kopi kosong, the cake is quite sweet   [sweatdrop]

ON!!! when?  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Made in IDN home made is the best.

Secret? Its a MUST to use Golden Churn butter.

those cheaper one would use margarine to save cost. Taste? CMI lor....

We make at home with SCS butter also good. 

attachicon.gifrps20180202_114909.jpg

I think chill can already. I always bake for CNY and keep for a few weeks in the fridge. Never go bad.

Some of the kueh Lapis from Batam got no brandy in it right? My family prefers those with brandy.

$100 per kg? [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

lamoist very popular in the past long time ago, maybe the first and only brand selling in shopping mall. Now their standard drop a lot, the bottom one in the picture was Lamoist [sweatdrop]

Wah... That bad already!?!? Last yr i went stil not bad. But now im switching to the other brand. Or the one at golden prawn also ok. Freshly made.

Do you happen to know how much it cost?? $100/kg like @jman888 mentioned?

Edited by Buadongdong

Do you happen to know how much it cost?? $100/kg like @jman888 mentioned?

Lavender?  They have 2 flavours I think.  Cranberry and normal.  I bought the normal.  1kg about 30+ sgd.  Comes in a rectangular tin box.  

Royal Istana? It's $100 sgd for 1kg.   CC discount only 10% now.  I think last day is 9 Feb.   Got delivery fee if you buy less than 250 bucks, I think.  Can keep 2 weeks in the fridge, no need to put in the freezer.

Lavender?  They have 2 flavours I think.  Cranberry and normal.  I bought the normal.  1kg about 30+ sgd.  Comes in a rectangular tin box.  

Royal Istana? It's $100 sgd for 1kg.   CC discount only 10% now.  I think last day is 9 Feb.   Got delivery fee if you buy less than 250 bucks, I think.  Can keep 2 weeks in the fridge, no need to put in the freezer.

Swee.. Walk in boleh right?? In time to buy some for my MIL.. hahaha..

And what CC discount are you referring to??

i used to love this as a child. can eat a lot.

But now find it too eggy and sweet haha  [laugh]

1-2 mouthful still ok. Or those very small slice one.

I last ate this when my indonesian chinese patient made it for me. 

i used to love this as a child. can eat a lot.

But now find it too eggy and sweet haha  [laugh]

1-2 mouthful still ok. Or those very small slice one.

I last ate this when my indonesian chinese patient made it for me. 

no wonder every house cut the cake until so thin slice  [laugh]  [laugh]  

Swee.. Walk in boleh right?? In time to buy some for my MIL.. hahaha..

And what CC discount are you referring to??

you sure love your MIL a lot, jamesc will be very proud of you   [laugh]  [laugh]