Million dollar cash in bank now and zero debt...Anyone?

LPPL

I don't think this question has ever been asked in this forum before. I am wondering how many here have a million cash in the bank now (not CPF) with the house they are living in now (hdb or private) fully paid and with zero debt? Please note that I am not talking about those sitting on paper assets as some bros here will probably say they can liquidate this and that property to have x millions, I am talking about those debtless people with a million cash in the bank now. 

If you are in this category, it would be interesting to hear what do you plan to do with your cash in the next couple of years?

FD, SSB, Single Premium Insurance, Blue Chip stocks - all add up to $1M counted?

i think no one is in their right mind to keep $1M cash in bank la

keeping total $1M cash in bank means losing money every single day

hence, that’s your answer to what to do with $1M cash liao

i assume $200K total cash as liquidity should suffice for the $1M category

if sifu Enye ... $200k cash is pocket money for 1 month nia ... hehe

for T2 not even enough to buy/sell full gold Rolexes ... lol

FD, SSB, Single Premium Insurance, Blue Chip stocks - all add up to $1M counted?

keeping total $1M in cash in bank means losing money every single day

if sifu Enye ... $200k cash is pocket money for 1 month ... hehe

The million cash in the bank is usually short term, pending an investment decision. I think many in Singapore are sitting on a lot of cash in the bank now, thinking whether to divest in property, stocks, fx etc. 

Edited by LPPL

Cheng Hu has that billion dollar also tell you can only put down a deposit and borrow max... borrow max can invest more. Agree or not is a different story.

Nonetheless, I do believe there are many such people in SG. Property too ex, stocks too risky, only bonds and fixed deposits or CPF deposit (using cash). Prefer the security of cash or equivalent.

In olden and developing scenarios which Govt allow boom and bust (or no choice but to allow), that strategy can be very fruitful once in a while.

Spreading through out a few banks account for higher interest. Think now maybank offer 1.2% for first 50k

PS I do not have 1 million

Edited by Bacteria83

Some speculate that due to the property market pickup, buying into bank shares is like a sure win due to increase in loan activity.

For discussion’s sake.

If you have a million cash now.

1. Buy a property of $2M and put $1M as downpayment.

2. Buy Singtel shares. Current yield about 5% based on $3.35 share price.

5 years down the road. Which option will yield better absolute returns.

For discussionâs sake.

Which is a safer haven with 5 year horizon? Telco, pty or bank stocks? For discussion sake... Edited by LPPL

Spreading through out a few banks account for higher interest. Think now maybank offer 1.2% for first 50k

U have billions [grin]

For discussionâs sake.

Why not buy $1m properties? With additional 1% above 1m property and also interest from 1m, its better to pay full and rent out

For discussionâs sake.

What's your assumption in terms of property prices in 5 years? Average Interest rate and rental yield over the 5 years? Singhell share prices then?

It's garbage in garbage out. Top many assumptions involved, making the comparison not very meaningful...

BOC rate better but dont know got conid9ition bo

hence, thatâs your answer to what to do with $1M cash liao

Use $1m to open up watch shop specialise in rolex. I am sure u ald get hundred of loyal customers from mcf alone :D

U have billions [grin]

Why not buy $1m properties? With additional 1% above 1m property and also interest from 1m, its better to pay full and rent out

When my time is up highly possible to have billion to use :D

If i say i have, would you believe?

If i say i dont have would you believe?

Anyway a million bucks in cash is not a lot.

Singapore a lot of cash rich people.

Edited by Throttle2

Some speculate that due to the property market pickup, buying into bank shares is like a sure win due to increase in loan activity.

Already win quite a bit on this actually in a year total. Something like 30% before cashing out.

Switching to another type soon.

Well, guess i have not been in my right mind for more than a decade.

Edited by Throttle2