Parenting question, strengths vs weakness

Wind30

not asking him to be a lawyer or doctor lah...

It is more like should I give him more books which is what he is interested in, or less books and more physical activities like cycling , play ball.

It's like do you expose your kid to his interests mainly, or do you make the effort to improve stuff he don't like...

imo just give the normal exposure for all things. if your kid is meant to be good at something, the interest will be there. similarly, certain things no interest means no interest one...

more important is how you want your kids to turn out to be in future. for me, character lasts a lifetime.

Too early to tell to do anything concrete.

Can you pls be less kiasu? Try to contain your overly enthusiastic parenting.

3years old. Can you remember what are your interest at 3 years old?

Agreed. TS over stress himself.

Leave it till 5/6 probably a better gauge.

Now to kids at 3/4 are exposure age. Curiosity..absorbing of knowledge. They like to imitate adult behaviour. Now is the age to coach them how to interact with other children.

Edited by Kopites

Another one of those " i want my son to be this and that, so I am saying he show talent at young age". [laugh]

3 years old? what makes one parent think that his son is better than other 3 years old? Seen every 3 years old's interest in letters and numbers? I dont know, but mayb other 3 years old are just into letters and numbers?

3 years old? what has he been expose to? books and more books? not enough books give some more? conclusion is that he love books, because books are all he gets. [laugh]

Children interest change at different stage at different age. But at 3 years old, if he cannot play with a ball, I will be very worry of his motor skills than anything else. -_-

Ok lah, Tiger woods hit his first golf ball at age 3, and yah he became a legend, large part was because his dad wanted him to be also. [laugh]

Hahaha..yes.

We borrow books from library he like to flip through those books. At age 3/4 no problem with simple word. Can read short sentences.

We gAve him hotwheel he can set up the whole track. Same go to Thomas set.

School teaches him violin. He can recognise a few of those famous classical song. Bumble bee, Canon d etc. All because my wife used to play piano during her pregnancy.

Kid being kid..expose them to new stuffs their attention will be shifted.

I wish I can groom my son to join PAP.........

Minister if possible or MP also can la.

Got pension leh......

Where can I sign UP?

ð¤£

Bring you son to the RC. He must learnt how to be thick skin hor..a prerequisite.

Preschool can do all that what. Just let him enjoy being a 3year old. Drink neh neh, sh!t and sleep. [laugh]

3 still drink neh neh?

Like father like son.

3/4 should start to toilet train. 5/6 want him to sleep on his own.

A neighbour of mine was so proud that the 3yo could recognised 1000 Chinese words...ended up having autism with difficulty in socialising with people - no eye contact, blunt in conversation etc - no motor skill for sport too. Now? Busy working on behavioural alteration...

I wonder why so many PRC parents are pushing their kids to be the next LangLang...music is to be enjoyed...

Like mentioned...provide different exposure for the kid to experience and enjoy...don’t limit to what the parents would like to do as kids usually look up to them as pointer to life and accept it as their own future.

not asking him to be a lawyer or doctor lah...

It is more like should I give him more books which is what he is interested in, or less books and more physical activities like cycling , play ball.

It's like do you expose your kid to his interests mainly, or do you make the effort to improve stuff he don't like...

Continue to give him book but don't restrict to only one language.

At the same time observe how he interact with other kids (playground/school/adults).

Don't stress up your kids. When you see he is starting to lose focus on certain activity do not force him. Switch his attention to something else. Don't stress him so as not to develop dislike for certain activity.

actually what TS ask is a simple and real parenting question.  for me my first kid is a zai nan with affinity for math, i die die make sure he go swim, go bicycle, go learn rollerblade.  my second kid can walk at 10 mth and kick football accurately at 1 plus and ride a two wheel bike before 3, i sign him up for abacus and piano. 

those things they have affinity to they will ownself do, those things that they don't naturally have affinity to, i make them do.  i think balance is the key to life. 

but like what someone said about parenting, the day you finally know what to do, is the day  :a-bang: all your kids are grown up 

We put my son in an international school. The curriculum are mostly art/muisc/musical instruments. Nothing academic. But he still learn from daily interaction with teacher and classmate. Now even start to reason with us.hahaha

One thing like papa. like son..he prefer to play with pretty Japanese gals.

We put my son in an international school. The curriculum are mostly art/muisc/musical instruments. Nothing academic. But he still learn from daily interaction with teacher and classmate. Now even start to reason with us.hahaha

One thing like papa. like son..he prefer to play with pretty Japanese gals.ð I saw the monthly school update I laugh.

elite!!!

elite!!!

Elite your head lah. Just want him to enjoy his preschool before the start of primary which will be very much academic based. Me and wife always believe preschool is a very important aspect for a child brain development. Children need the exposure. They need to built up the confidence. Able to express their thoughts. Art(sight) and music(listen) are the closes linking bridge for brain at age 3/5 to the surroundings. You will be amazed by how fast they can learn/adopt new stuffs through song and art.

Just me and wife view. Don't flame me

Edited by Kopites

Elite your head lah. Just want him to enjoy his preschool before the start of primary which will be very much academic based. Me and wife always believe preschool is a very important aspect for a child brain development. Children need the exposure. They need to built up the confidence. Able to express their thoughts. Art(sight) and music(listen) are the closes linking bridge for brain at age 3/5 to the surroundings. You will be amazed by how fast they can learn/adopt new stuffs through song and art.

Just me and wife view. Don't flame me

I am kind of curious since there are parents around here.

What would you do if you find you child have a specific interest in something at a VERY EARLY age?

Example, my 3 year kid is very into letters and numbers at a very early age but is super crappy at physical stuff like playing with balls, etc. 

Whenever you catch him reading, throw a tennis ball his way.  If he drops it, no more reading that day.  You can get the slightly larger fluffy tennis ball for children type one.  Also put him outside for a few hours each day to avoid needing glasses.

hsien loong's daughter probably already has a long line of suitors.

but kuan yew's daughter is still single and available.

Also a doctor. Any taker?