Guy near 40 looking to purchase first car

SkimMilk

Newbie here. Need to tap on experienced drivers' expertise.

I'm an old guy (near 40) who just got my Class 3 looking to get a AtoB ride for a family of 4.

Should I get a COE car for a start or should I invest in a brand new car (kind of stretching the pocket)?

I understand that as I'm a P plate, my insurance will be rather high?

What other stuff should I take note of for the different recommendations (COE vs brand new)?

↡ Advertisement
  • Praise 5

I'm an old guy (near 40) who just got my Class 3 looking to get a AtoB ride for a family of 4.

Should I get a COE car for a start or should I invest in a brand new car (kind of stretching the pocket)?

What other stuff should I take note of for the different recommendations (COE vs brand new)?

my advice is not to get COE car if you can afford as you are not sure of the condition. if brand new car is a stretch, can consider a used car, age depending on your pocket.

How about consider to rent a car for few months to try out first?

see if you really need the car, and also how the other expenses such as fuel, parking, ERP affect your lifestyle ? 

Also, during this time, you can try renting different model of cars to see what type of car you really need / want. 

• Praise 21

Bec u r 40 , insurance will not be very high . But since u are P plate , no NCD meaning no discount on insurance as well. 

Avoid getting new car for first few yrs . New car , insurance more ex too.  2nd hand car will be good , say 2-3 yr left 

• Praise 15

A car with a year or less left would be cheap or you can get those few months left car and renew Coe, since you got to use a car, you probably won’t give up driving it so soon.

Use the old car for practise and not heartache if you rough it up.

• Praise 4

Bec u r 40 , insurance will not be very high . But since u are P plate , no NCD meaning no discount on insurance as well.