Aeroplane noise

Rollagt

Hello gurus,

Need your advise here, am experienceing aeroplane noise on my tweeters whenever I step on the gas pedal. Had install a microfilter but the noise can still be heard alittle.

However, if I switch off my air con, the noise will be reduced by alot. Any idea wat went wrong ?

Tried re-attach and tighten the cables of my amp but it does not helps.

https://www.lifewire.com/common-amp-problems-and-solutions-534492

5)

In order to track down the source of your distortion, you’ll have to rule out each potential cause. First, you need to inspect your patch cables and speaker wires. If the cables that connect your head unit and amplifier run alongside any power or ground cables at any point, they can pick up interference that you will then hear as distortion.

The same is true of the speaker wires. Although this can be an annoying problem to track down, fixing it is a simple matter of rerouting the wires so that they don’t come close to any power or ground cables, and that they cross at a 90 degree angle if absolutely necessary. Using higher quality cables or wires with good shielding can also help.

If you aren’t able to find any problems with the way your patch cables or speaker wires are routed, you can try unplugging the speakers from the amp. If you still hear noises, then you’ll want to check for a bad ground.

Of course, the problem could always be in your head unit, or whatever else you’re using as an audio source. For more information on how to diagnose that type of problem, check out how to deal with ground loops, and more details about what causes car speaker whine.

Hello gurus,

Need your advise here, am experienceing aeroplane noise on my tweeters whenever I step on the gas pedal. Had install a microfilter but the noise can still be heard alittle.

However, if I switch off my air con, the noise will be reduced by alot. Any idea wat went wrong ?

Tried re-attach and tighten the cables of my amp but it does not helps.

Ur cables got tangle up with one another?

Oh.. it will affect ah..got little bit tangle up. Will try to tidy them up and see how.

New installation or old installation?

What is the change?

Old installation already. When I change HU to an export set Pioneer, installer say maybe my HU got problem thats why got aeroplane noise. He initially want to charge me for installing additional microfilter..told him, if you had install properly, such noise wont happen.

car cam installer told me its probably my amp problem. Sigh.

Oh.. it will affect ah..got little bit tangle up. Will try to tidy them up and see how.

Old installation already. When I change HU to an export set Pioneer, installer say maybe my HU got problem thats why got aeroplane noise. He initially want to charge me for installing additional microfilter..told him, if you had install properly, such noise wont happen.

car cam installer told me its probably my amp problem. Sigh.

Installer added the noise cos you smart not to take the microfilter

and he not happy didn't carrot you for extra money.

To check if head unit or amp faulty is very easy just swap for another working unit.

Had the alternator whine when I turn the gain up even a bit. I must have tried everything; regrounding everything to different places/battery to using inline power filters. In the end I fixed it by only grounding 2 points together, headunit and high level amp cable harness(I'm not using RCAs), and now can increase the gain which currently is set at half turn.

Installing filter to audio cable is a bs fix, and will degrade sound quality.

If you're not a DIY person, it can be very tiring to trial and error. The audio professional should have been able to fix for you.

1. Check your grounding for all amplifiers. Must grind off the paint on car body to have good grounding

2. Signal cable and power cable cannot be run side by side. Must be opposite sides (passenger and driver) to reduce interference

oh..I took some time to take a look at the wires and indeed they are all lumped together ! I disconnect and connect back the cables and de-clutter them and the attenuator noise/aeroplane noise disappear !

1. Check your grounding for all amplifiers. Must grind off the paint on car body to have good grounding

2. Signal cable and power cable cannot be run side by side. Must be opposite sides (passenger and driver) to reduce interference

I remember seeing the installer uses the passenger seat mount as the grounding point and the amp is placed below the passenger seat. Not sure if it is a correct way of doing.

So I guess your power and control cables were running side by side.. cross talk interference which caused the aeroplane sound

The seat mount as grounding point is ok i guess, but it must be bare metal to bare metal. Meaning no paint in between.

oh..I took some time to take a look at the wires and indeed they are all lumped together ! I disconnect and connect back the cables and de-clutter them and the attenuator noise/aeroplane noise disappear !

I remember seeing the installer uses the passenger seat mount as the grounding point and the amp is placed below the passenger seat. Not sure if it is a correct way of doing.

Nice !!

That's the first step I did when working on the wires for the amp. Which shop did you go to for this "professional" job? Terrible.

The installer I know him for many years..din expect once $$ change hands, attitute 100% change even thou I am classify as old customer. Last heard his shop is near nee soon camp. One man show.

For me, he do charge me less lah. Lesson learnt from all these crap. DO NOT pay upfront for any installation, be it ICE, servicing, repair, paint job etc untill U inspect or check until U satisfied, then pay.

I remember once I dont know install what, after installation, I spend a good 15mins to test and see the finished product, the mechanic sibei prompt with my queries. After that then I pay . LOL

Sometimes it really pays to be an a**hole.

The installer I know him for many years..din expect once $$ change hands, attitute 100% change even thou I am classify as old customer. Last heard his shop is near nee soon camp. One man show.

For me, he do charge me less lah. Lesson learnt from all these crap. DO NOT pay upfront for any installation, be it ICE, servicing, repair, paint job etc untill U inspect or check until U satisfied, then pay.

I remember once I dont know install what, after installation, I spend a good 15mins to test and see the finished product, the mechanic sibei prompt with my queries. After that then I pay . LOL

Sometimes it really pays to be an a**hole.

I thought most workshops will expect you to pay when you are collecting your car, after the job is done.

U are right. So long U haven pay, they are at your 'mercy' to rectify any issues that U have, be it shabby job or had install wrongly.

Example, U want to install left side, they make an error to install right side. U pay up before realising.

U approach them, they say "no what, U say right side". Want to rectify ?  Pay another $X, they treat it as a new job.

U are right. So long U haven pay, they are at your 'mercy' to rectify any issues that U have, be it shabby job or had install wrongly.

Example, U want to install left side, they make an error to install right side. U pay up before realising.

U approach them, they say "no what, U say right side". Want to rectify ? Pay another $X, they treat it as a new job.

No leh , good reputable ones will troubleshoot and fix the problem foc if its due to their installation issue