Honda Civic Water droplets in Head / Back Lights

Marzsomeone

Hi All,

Any Civic drivers facing the same issue with water droplets in the head / back lights after rain or wash? Is it normal?

My paint protection guys told me this is a defect for a new car, suspected sealant has not been done properly. But the Honda agent say it is normal [confused]

The agent confirmed say normal lah, they dun want help you mah. Just ask them back this question, as an customer, will you accept this defect? new car will not have this kind of issue. warranty should cover this kind of things, you have your customer rights to ask them for replacement.

Edited by PaulMeng

Most likely lights not sealed properly. At least don't have any ponding inside and when turning, the water will form "waves".

Hi All,

Any Civic drivers facing the same issue with water droplets in the head / back lights after rain or wash? Is it normal?

My paint protection guys told me this is a defect for a new car, suspected sealant has not been done properly. But the Honda agent say it is normal [confused]

Tell them to put your headlight on their showroom can and say it’s normal to potential buyers then

If it is just a few droplets and would vaporise off subsequently then still can close 1 eye but if it is 1 big patch of droplets then something must be wrong ..... [gossip]

The agent confirmed say normal lah, they dun want help you mah. Just ask them back this question, as an customer, will you accept this defect? new car will not have this kind of issue. warranty should cover this kind of things, you have your customer rights to ask them for replacement.

Ya lor, she ask me to feedback during my 1k servicing  [shakehead]

Tell them to put your headlight on their showroom can and say it’s normal to potential buyers then

lol good one, I like your response  :a-fun:

If it is just a few droplets and would vaporise off subsequently then still can close 1 eye but if it is 1 big patch of droplets then something must be wrong ..... [gossip]

Just hopefully mold will not form in the headlight so fast  :scared:  quite sad if happen to a new car

Bro, tell them it’s not normal and unacceptable. It’s obvious that this is a factory problem. They need to rectify for u. Even my 20 year old starlet in the past does t have this problem

If a few droplets formed, think they will tell you it is normal as it is water condensation, will disappear after a while de. My friend's car which is not civic, when new car also have such problem but the AD gave him such reason. They said only droplets is formed on the whole of the headlights then consider got problem.

this is usually the seal is not properly fitted properly during manufacturing.

Request to remove and check the 'O' ring is not dislodge, may result the 

long and heavy rain to leak in.

Definitely I would request the above or have it replace when stock arrives!

this is usually the seal is not properly fitted properly during manufacturing.

Request to remove and check the 'O' ring is not dislodge, may result the 

long and heavy rain to leak in.

Definitely I would request the above or have it replace when stock arrives!

Perhaps AD will change for you when you show them that your headlights is flooded with water.

Hi All,

It's raining now.

Possible to show some pictures?

Hi All,

of course, it's abnormal, go back your dealer to claim warranty and compensation, this is very dangerous defect, might catch fire while short circuit,  

You study science what. When a cold surface meets with a warm medium. What you get? Condensation right or not? Just like your glass of cold drink in room temp. Water droplets form on the glass surface.

Headlights might not be completely sealed or vacuum coz when you replace the bulb you know there's air that can get inside in the headlight casing. Where there's air there's also moisture.

Is your car using halogen bulbs? After using them for a while does the casing get warm or even hot? Hence in the event when it meets with cold outside air eg. raining. Will water droplets form inside the casing surface?

Does this answer your question? Is the information helpful? [laugh]

Hi All,

ur car is having LED headlight or the halogen?

i got water in my old car, it is due to i never cover the halogen housing with the rubber properly. but for LED for water, means get them to replace the whole housing liao!