How long did it take you to adjust to new workplace?

alfakidz85

How long did it take for you guys to get used to the work culture, environment, job scope, and colleagues at your new workplace?

Generally a change of new job can seem daunting to many. Not knowing what to expect and whether you will like the people you work with..

Would be great if you guys can share the dos and donts of surviving at your new workplace especially if it’s a totally new industry from what you’ve done previously.

Thanks!

Usually a new workplace will assign a colleague to "mentor" you for a while, or for the higher ranks, at least be a "starter" friend and resource person.

That should be the first step to building your circle in the new company. Learning new procedures etc. in your job may take up to 1 month.

When changing to a new job, in the first few months or even first few years, keep an open mind and be accepting to try new things. Basically, its a fine balance between being viewed as a "doormat" (always say yes), or as a helpful, positive, motivated employee. Occasionally doing things outside your scope or going out of the way to help colleagues will build relations, even if you eventually leave the company, will continue to be viewed positively. That's important - as SG is a very small place.

Never had "mentor" or "starter" friend and resource person in all the companies that i have worked. I believe the most importantly thing in new workplace is the culture and the colleagues, if you cannot adapt or like them within 1 month, the rest of your life in that company would be either unhappy or lone ranger.

Normally, it will take me a week or two. Just keep a low profile and be nice to everyone. Also need to swallow the nasty things that others may throw at u or stab u in the back.

For me, my height is always a conversation starter.

Normally, it will take me a week or two. Just keep a low profile and be nice to everyone. Also need to swallow the nasty things that others may throw at u or stab u in the back.

Sometimes by keeping low profile no use de, if your colleagues are those high profile and vocal type. Low profile might give people impression that you are anti-social. To adapt a new workplace is to see and find the gang who is manipulating office politics and people in the office and join them. Lol.

So stressed siah. What job or in what industry? [laugh]

There will be no doubt ppl will test you in some way or the other, just be confident but if ppl ask you stuff you don't know just tell them you don't know and will go find out. Give ppl the positive attitude.

So stressed siah. What job or in what industry? [laugh]

There will be no doubt ppl will test you in some way or the other, just be confident but if ppl ask you stuff you don't know just tell them you don't know and will go find out. Give ppl the positive attitude.

Sometimes it is not about people will test you on work related stuff, but more to how you communicate with people on personal stuff and gossip.

befriend a chio colleague, other guy colleagues will tag along with you

Befriend a colleague which have influence in others in the office, chio or not not the main reason. I have encountered before in one of my previous companies, new joiners know who is the influencer in the office, aka indian chief. By getting good relationship with these people is super important.

Hmmm........... I thought your build and "yan tau" look were the starter with the office ladies .. :grin:

Edited by Picnic06-Biante15

Sometimes by keeping low profile no use de, if your colleagues are those high profile and vocal type. Low profile might give people impression that you are anti-social. To adapt a new workplace is to see and find the gang who is manipulating office politics and people in the office and join them. Lol.

Not always got gang one. My shipyard office, 20+ guys there and all work independently one. Sometimes quarrels and fights, chio each other one on one. Not young hor 40's and 50's. Multi races and nationality. Even my mentor was a quiet person and dont teach me much, have to keep probing him to dig info.

Lucky got 3 of us new birds and around same age, we stick together. The old birds all very ego one. Better not say wrong thing in front if them.

Lunchtime is sleeping time. No socialise one. After work, go separate ways. During work, all scatter to their respective vessel or skive somewhere.

Hmmm........... I thought your build and "yan tau" look were the starter with the office ladies .. :grin:

Please hor. The first week of my current job, kena stab in the back by my female director seating directly behind me for playing Solitare on my work pc after office hours.

Not always got gang one. My shipyard office, 20+ guys there and all work independently one. Sometimes quarrels and fights, chio each other one on one. Not young hor 40's and 50's. Multi races and nationality. Even my mentor was a quiet person and dont teach me much, have to keep probing him to dig info.

Lucky got 3 of us new birds and around same age, we stick together. The old birds all very ego one. Better not say wrong thing in front if them.

Lunchtime is sleeping time. No socialise one. After work, go separate ways. During work, all scatter to their respective vessel or skive somewhere.

Maybe industry different and if your office mostly are guys, seldom would have gang de. Think usually when there are more ladies in the office, esp those vocal type de, would have gang de. And if you offended them or dont have good relationship with them, good luck.

Only when i worked in factory, production line. All ladies around me, from young to old. Then I became the beacon, attracting all their attention. They would come up and talk to me in the cleanroom.

Esp when i am working there with my twin brother. Lots of questions to answer and wana join us for meals.

Very shy and paisey. Have to think of a way to avoid them.

How long did it take for you guys to get used to the work culture, environment, job scope, and colleagues at your new workplace?

Generally a change of new job can seem daunting to many. Not knowing what to expect and whether you will like the people you work with..

Would be great if you guys can share the dos and donts of surviving at your new workplace especially if it’s a totally new industry from what you’ve done previously.

Thanks!

when you change underwear do you ask so many questions 

what do we all do

just dive in

just like you switched job you dived out

so if not suitable just dive out and dive in into a new job

going swimming today

when you change underwear do you ask so many questions 

what do we all do

just dive in

just like you switched job you dived out

so if not suitable just dive out and dive in into a new job

going swimming today

I find that the younger generation these days - the (sorry) strawberry gen - have more such questions and self-doubt. What course should I study? Which institution is better? Is this company A better or company B better as a first job in this industry? etc. etc.

Nothing wrong. Just more reflection, I guess. And also shows the multitude of options that are available to them these days.

My gen, not many flavours/options available, just choose the best course that can get in with the results, choose the most prominent / largest / stable company, etc. Once in, never think too much, just do and do. Give a few years, if movement too slow and salary growth too slow, start looking for new job. If still satisfied, stay on, yes, don't think too much [laugh]

Edited by Sosaria

I find that the younger generation these days - the (sorry) strawberry gen - have more such questions and self-doubt. What course should I study? Which institution is better? Is this company A better or company B better as a first job in this industry? etc. etc.

Nothing wrong. Just more reflection, I guess. And also shows the multitude of options that are available to them these days.

My gen, not many flavours/options available, just choose the best course that can get in with the results, choose the most prominent / largest / stable company, etc. Once in, never think too much, just do and do. Give a few years, if movement too slow and salary growth too slow, start looking for new job. If still satisfied, stay on, yes, don't think too much [laugh]

I think the younger generation these days, if they dont like something in the company they just resign and move on. No need to endure anything and any people. Lol.