Malaysia may drop High Speed Rail project with Singapore

Wt_know

Sg govt huat liao this time!  Get 500M conpensation, tender out the Jurong CC land for Integrated Resort aka Casino No 3, still left with plenty of surrounding land for commercial/residential.

JE will still be the next hub, minus the train.

And the beauty of this alternative plan?  No investment from the govt!  After selling the land, still got good yearly gambling tax from Casino.

I know is a non realistic proposal. what if we are able to shift the custom a bit further up north? No need to far just Aeon will do.

Agree.

Since the HSR project is a no go and we got 500 mil from Malaysia as a penalty, we can jolly well scrap the 2% increase of GST.

Don't know, I feel we should give malaysia discount abit when malaysia is in trouble. Of coz not fully scrap the penalties La. If not later we will be in very tight situation when malaysia keep finding fault with us. That's my thinking. Edited by Yewheng

reading the yahoo review/comments not a single negative posted for the scrap of this HSR. Many infact thanks Dr M for the decision. I too nod my head with a warm smile.

see how high in the Ivory our PAP sitting up there now!

How viable is this project from both sides?

We need to charge a high fee for the tickets to recoup the ROI asap.

In the end, many people would rather take the flights, bus, normal train or just drive, which could be cheaper. The ticket fees itself will turn off many average Malaysians and Singaporeans who go between these two countries. and use the normal modes as mentioned above. In the end, the billion dollar project becomes a white elephant.

Let's say Tun M decides to let the project go ahead. If Malaysia continues deeper into its national debt due to Najib's corruption, when will they ever clear their national debts? Without even having to clear these debts, how to even proceed to build and fully complete the HSR project if the country has no money? Even if the project is completed, will Malaysia have the money to run it and maintain it in the long run? In the end, while our side has built the HSR, but Malaysia side is not completed or cannot maintain due to lack of funds, isn't it a waste of our taxpayers' monies building a very expensive white elephant that travels from Jurong East to Woodlands?

Again, if we put in the scenario that Najib is still the PM of Malaysia now, I seriously doubt the HSR will also go ahead. Before the project even starts, the funds would have gone missing under Najib's corrupted regime. In the end again, our taxpayers' monies is wasted building a HSR in SIngapore only and Malaysia has no money to build since Najib most likely will siphoned the money away. That 500 mil penalty is nothing to them if they can take billions of dollars away into their pockets. And yes, this is the kind of scenario that Singaporeans have thought about when Najib signs the agreement for the project.

So I am glad it is cancelled. But rail links have to be maintained with more sophisticated and faster trains that can at least link KL and SG by about 1 hour.  And with an expanded mega T5 airport terminal in the future, it could also help in the demands of MY and SG flights.

And I hope the GST 2% increase will be scrapped since such expensive and unnecessary projects are scrapped, for good.

Don't know, I feel we should give malaysia discount abit when malaysia is in trouble. Of coz not fully scrap the penalties La. If not later we will be in very tight situation when malaysia keep finding fault with us. That's my thinking.

We can't give them a discount if it is stated in the agreement.

Rather if we really want to make it easier for them to pay, then let them build up their currency instead.

This is ideal timing, air flight is less predictable than land transport. Run way, taxi way, immigration, etc can add at least 1 to 2 hrs to the above timing.

Both countries are infamous for late train

In the end, many people would rather take the flights, bus, normal train or just drive, which could be cheaper. The ticket fees itself will turn off many average Malaysians and Singaporeans who go between these two countries. and use the normal modes as mentioned above. In the end, the billion dollar project becomes a white elephant.

Let's say Tun M decides to let the project go ahead. If Malaysia continues deeper into its national debt due to Najib's corruption, when will they ever clear their national debts? Without even having to clear these debts, how to even proceed to build and fully complete the HSR project if the country has no money? Even if the project is completed, will Malaysia have the money to run it and maintain it in the long run? In the end, while our side has built the HSR, but Malaysia side is not completed or cannot maintain due to lack of funds, isn't it a waste of our taxpayers' monies building a very expensive white elephant that travels from Jurong East to Woodlands?

Again, if we put in the scenario that Najib is still the PM of Malaysia now, I seriously doubt the HSR will also go ahead. Before the project even starts, the funds would have gone missing under Najib's corrupted regime. In the end again, our taxpayers' monies is wasted building a HSR in SIngapore only and Malaysia has no money to build since Najib most likely will siphoned the money away. That 500 mil penalty is nothing to them if they can take billions of dollars away into their pockets. And yes, this is the kind of scenario that Singaporeans have thought about when Najib signs the agreement for the project.

So I am glad it is cancelled. But rail links have to be maintained with more sophisticated and faster trains that can at least link KL and SG by about 1 hour. And with an expanded mega T5 airport terminal in the future, it could also help in the demands of MY and SG flights.

And I hope the GST 2% increase will be scrapped since such expensive and unnecessary projects are scrapped, for good.

Rather if we really want to make it easier for them to pay, then let them build up their currency instead.

Yes precisely.. Lucky its scrapped in time before its too late.. Imagine say 5 yrs down the road, construction in Malaysia side halted due to lack of money. How? Malaysia sure will approach Singapore for help. What will singapore government do then? If no help chip in money, the HSR construction will get stuck and never be completed and it will be wasted money to construct it in the 1st place. If chip in money means singapore get to lose out more and now singapore is footing most of the bill.

Okay nevermind, singapore side kind enough to foot the bill and let it construct finish hopping to recoup the cost. When the project is completed and up running. Suddenly they realized that hey, what the projected seems quite off. How come demand not that good? Like that how? Surely will become lost money hsr. Plus hsr maintenance surely be more costly then normal mrt train. Another big ticket expenses. End up only up government expenditures with no much income coming in.

So I am glad it is scrapped early. Heng Tun M got farsight and with his age 92 he still can think so clearly. I like his saying.. Its only a short track.. It will not be earning a single cent. This is a very clear thinking..

What about our side? Look at what fabrications about pap said about this?

post-14834-0-55526800-1527543056_thumb.png

What by 2060 111,000 jobs? That is too far ahead and anything can happen between now till 2060. There is no planer is able to predict future that is 40plus yrs ahead especially when it involved 2 countries. If 1 country still okay but then still too ahead to say it. Plus what if it is the opposite? There is a big risk involved. Confirmed will contribute 21rm gdp? That is during najib as pm calculated right? he is eating money so is he right? He only up government dept to 1 trillion dollars. Confirmed with the HSR.. The government dept will continue to skyrocket. It is like kicking the cans down the road for other people to pick up the sai. Now Tun M is picking up najib sai.. Although it's not that early but Heng it's not that too late until the country is beyond hope.

So singapore should take this as a Learning opportunity instead of now hammering malaysia. Does singapore have government debt that is skyrocketing? If don't have skyrocketing debt it's good. ( I really do not know whether ours is skyrocketing or not, we only know government nowadays are thinking ways to up money by raising gst and taxes). So still the same, reduce in government expenditures is the best solution.

Edited by Yewheng

It cost about S$66 for Economy Seat and S$98 for my Business Class Seat from Kaohsiung to Taipei. Taiwan's high-speed rail is considered one of the world's most efficient and affordable HSR network.

Between Singapore and Malaysia, how much cheaper can it be? Unlikely, the price will be way higher than Taiwan's prices.

DSC_1314~2.JPG

I quote this.

https://asia.nikkei.com/Economy/Debt-ridden-bullet-train-operator-warned-of-March-crisis

I don’t want my tax dollars to be used to bail out another rail line. It’s bad enough that tax dollars was used to buy back SMRT assets and even more to revamp it. At least the general public benefits.

So I am glad it is cancelled. But rail links have to be maintained with more sophisticated and faster trains that can at least link KL and SG by about 1 hour. And with an expanded mega T5 airport terminal in the future, it could also help in the demands of MY and SG flights.

Agreed. I was never for the hsr. Couldn’t see any benefits. We will never have enough ridership for the line to fund itself.

No need maglev to attain 235km/h. [laugh]

For using old tracks I've read that they reached up to 200km/h with upgraded trains. KTM electric trains I think only reached 100+ currently.

you can search youtube ... iirc they do have vids showing higher speeds for the same maglev previously ... but then scaled down for safety reasons.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/jurong-country-club-closes-for-good-on-saturday-7629602

Already closed and payout all settled.

Land bought back just before land price started to run up.

From Govt standpoint, buying back, they had nothing to lose even though the chance of HSR cancellation must have been factored in somewhere.

I wonder how is the Jurong Country Club now.?Has it been cleared out.?

I am not too sure if owners can get the land back. It is a pity for Jurong country club as their lease was suppose to run out in 2035 with no further renewal and they spent some money to upgrade their facilities only to be told they had to vacate it in 2016.

You seem to want the HSR to go through whatever the cost..... Just an observation.  :D

I myself dodged a bullet there at lakeside condo launch last year where the HSR was almost the main selling point for Jurong District growth story.

I have always been sceptical about hsr, was actually just intending to buy into the jurong growth story but the HSR story pushed the psf to mind bogging $1700psf. I backed out when I saw the crazy frenzies at the balloting tentage.... 

Good luck to those people.  :D

So HSR in japan, taiwan, korea and china all doesnt reap any benefits and earn everyone single cent.

Its just an excuse by him to get rid all Najib's plan
Use the land for disneyland, kill legoland, jurong east will still huat

I am glad that Tun Mahathir and team decided that HSR is not to be continued and will back out.

Yeah!

“With a pen, they will take it back....”

If a 92yr old man can be so clear minded to call a spade a spade... If Malaysia don't benefit from this HSR, does it mean Singapore is was reaping all the benefits?

its either both sides reap the benefits or no benefits haha... Dr M was trying to say its not wise to spend this money at this time when MY debts are skyhigh...

Looking at our northern recently enlightened neighbour, only when the former government was pulled down then they realised how much deeper in dept they are in because their 1MDB account is not open to public and people at the top have the power to manipulate and twist the law in their favour. 

Now, look at our own Temasek.... Are they fully accountable to us Singaporean? Ong Teng Cheong had wanted them to be accountable.. Look at his political fate... Look at how his life achievement was muted towards the end. The one currently holding the key to reserves was unshamingly selected against all odds. Is there something to hide? 

Other countries raise GST because they are in debt ... We raise our GST while having billions in reserve and we are funding mega projects that does not seem to make financial sense. Something fishy there. 

I don't wish that one day, we wake up to realise that our billions in reserve is all a fancy cover up. 

Yes precisely.. Lucky its scrapped in time before its too late.. Imagine say 5 yrs down the road, construction in Malaysia side halted due to lack of money. How? Malaysia sure will approach Singapore for help. What will singapore government do then? If no help chip in money, the HSR construction will get stuck and never be completed and it will be wasted money to construct it in the 1st place. If chip in money means singapore get to lose out more and now singapore is footing most of the bill.

Okay nevermind, singapore side kind enough to foot the bill and let it construct finish hopping to recoup the cost. When the project is completed and up running. Suddenly they realized that hey, what the projected seems quite off. How come demand not that good? Like that how? Surely will become lost money hsr. Plus hsr maintenance surely be more costly then normal mrt train. Another big ticket expenses. End up only up government expenditures with no much income coming in.

So I am glad it is scrapped early. Heng Tun M got farsight and with his age 92 he still can think so clearly. I like his saying.. Its only a short track.. It will not be earning a single cent. This is a very clear thinking..

What about our side? Look at what fabrications about pap said about this?

attachicon.gifScreenshot_20180529-053039.png

What by 2060 111,000 jobs? That is too far ahead and anything can happen between now till 2060. There is no planer is able to predict future that is 40plus yrs ahead especially when it involved 2 countries. If 1 country still okay but then still too ahead to say it. Plus what if it is the opposite? There is a big risk involved. Confirmed will contribute 21rm gdp? That is during najib as pm calculated right? he is eating money so is he right? He only up government dept to 1 trillion dollars. Confirmed with the HSR.. The government dept will continue to skyrocket. It is like kicking the cans down the road for other people to pick up the sai. Now Tun M is picking up najib sai.. Although it's not that early but Heng it's not that too late until the country is beyond hope.

So singapore should take this as a Learning opportunity instead of now hammering malaysia. Does singapore have government debt that is skyrocketing? If don't have skyrocketing debt it's good. ( I really do not know whether ours is skyrocketing or not, we only know government nowadays are thinking ways to up money by raising gst and taxes). So still the same, reduce in government expenditures is the best solution.

Oil price dropped like hell

Our petrol price dropped a teeny weeny bit very slowly

Oil price go up

Our petrol price also go up

Suddenly coefficient 1

Nuff said.

I am glad that Tun Mahathir and team decided that HSR is not to be continued and will back out.

Yeah!

“With a pen, they will take it back....”

oh yeah?  I thought he did the 10% minister pay cut and HSR abortion all by himself [laugh]

flashback article ......Mr. Mahathir was often branded a dictator during the 22 years he spent as Malaysia's prime minister, ruthlessly repressing his political opponents. During Mr. Mahathir's era in power, Malaysia leapt ahead economically, but was considered the most repressive Southeast Asian country outside of Communist Vietnam and military-ruled Myanmar.

Mr. Mahathir apologizes for none of these. But at age 92, he's nonetheless reinvented himself as a democracy-minded opposition leader. Now, it's Mr. Mahathir who complains about the authoritarianism of those in power. His primary target is his long-time protégé, Prime Minister Najib Razak.

Looking at our northern recently enlightened neighbour, only when the former government was pulled down then they realised how much deeper in dept they are in because their 1MDB account is not open to public and people at the top have the power to manipulate and twist the law in their favour.

Now, look at our own Temasek.... Are they fully accountable to us Singaporean? Ong Teng Cheong had wanted them to be accountable.. Look at his political fate... Look at how his life achievement was muted towards the end. The one currently holding the key to reserves was unshamingly selected against all odds. Is there something to hide?

Other countries raise GST because they are in debt ... We raise our GST while having billions in reserve and we are funding mega projects that does not seem to make financial sense. Something fishy there.

I don't wish that one day, we wake up to realise that our billions in reserve is all a fancy cover up.

Anyway, our CPF is getting further and further away from us.

Me reaching half century mark in a few yrs time, and by right should not be too long to reach 55. Now can't even smell it.