Public Buses of Yesterday

SiLangKia

Lol...dats y i started to use a ruler after missing my stop once as too scared to ask stranger. Those days cannot talk to stranger. Wait they kidnap and behead u and place under bridge u noe

Hahaha! So funny! Yes I remember those days...when kids go missing and never came home, and mothers ask us to be careful, don't anyhow follow strangers. Dunno who spread those awful tales about bridge thing...

That time I purposely went to AMK to take a bus ride on this to Orchard road. It was on a loop ride, so one round return back to AMK.

I remembered that the bus had laborious acceleration, probably due to the aircon sucking up all the power from the engine.

There is a strip of doorbell near the door which usually doesnt work, and primary school me...

And when it works..... BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE sibeh loud sia.... LOL

@SiLangkia

Below pictures are from my personal collection. Enjoy.

Will release batch by batch here. See how this thread goes.

Leyland Atlanteans along New Bridge Rd in the 1980s.

Left one is the newer version bodied by Walter Alexander R type body, left one is the older version bodied by Walter Alexander L type body.

post-180434-0-62522200-1528299096.jpg

Leyland Victory with Soon Chow Body in the old Toa Payoh bus interchange.

Service 137 was from Toa Payoh to Singapore Zoo.

post-180434-0-20981100-1528299097_thumb.jpg

post-180434-0-22459500-1528299099_thumb.jpg

First batch of double deckers in Singapore in 1977.

Leyland Atlanteans bodied by Baco.

post-180434-0-14577100-1528299101.jpg

This one mentioned before. One of the first few air con bus fleet in SBS in the 1980s.

8 used Mercedes Benz O303 donated to SBS from SATS.

post-180434-0-07762000-1528299103.jpg

Leyland Victory with Soon Chow Body when new in the 1970s.

It was quite well known for its loud engine noises.

post-180434-0-09703200-1528299105_thumb.jpg

Albion Viking EVK41L.

Non standard bus that was taken over from the 3 private bus companies and formed SBS in 1973.

Standard buses bought by SBS after its formation includes an entrance and exit door.

This bus only has a middle door for both entrance and exit purposes.

post-180434-0-00152600-1528299107.jpg

Albion Viking EVK55CL with Soon Chow Body in the 1970s.

Bought by SBS in the 1970s with more standard bus features. It is also features a longer wheel base and longer than the EVK41L.

It has a very loud engine and loud transmission cranking sound. 

post-180434-0-97496100-1528299108.jpg

Another picture of Albion Viking EVK55CL in the old Toa Payoh bus interchange.

post-180434-0-01387000-1528299096.jpg

Ah Boy arh .............. You not born yet <_<

No need to tell Every1 unkerTianmo got PG card lah

Lol...dats y i started to use a ruler after missing my stop once as too scared to ask stranger. Those days cannot talk to stranger. Wait they kidnap and behead u and place under bridge u noe

Agreed, last time cannot anyhow talk to stranger de, thats why everytime very stressful when reaching my stop and no one else alighting. Lol.

Really ?? Back then people would immediately get up to press the bell on the roof for little kiddos ( unless during afternoon time when the buses were quite empty ) and the drivers compartment was seperate but then there were always conductors in the bus whom would just tap their ticket punching tool on the chromed chairs ( they also just like to sit down and rest )

After the bus become OMO, no more conductor. Anyway, i love to press those strip bell located at the bus door even i am not alighting and always got scolded by the bus driver.  :a-happy:

wah all those photos are your personal ones?

Old Toa Payoh interchange...

Do you have photo of the old Toa Payoh Terminal or not? The one where the bus stops are made up of a few big round round structures/seats? It's near to the area that is now the area betw crystal jade and the KFC area...

@SiLangkia

Left one is the newer version bodied by Walter Alexander R type body, left one is the older version bodied by Walter Alexander L type body.

attachicon.gif2 Atlanteans.JPG

attachicon.gif137.jpg

attachicon.gif1373.jpg

attachicon.gif1977 Alanteans.jpg

This one mentioned before. One of the first few air con bus fleet in SBS in the 1980s.

attachicon.gif1984 Mercedes O303.jpg

attachicon.gif6668-092.jpg

Albion Viking EVK41L.

Non standard bus that was taken over from the 3 private bus companies and formed SBS in 1973.

Standard buses bought by SBS after its formation includes an entrance and exit door.

attachicon.gifAlbion Viking EVK41L.JPG

Bought by SBS in the 1970s with more standard bus features. It is also features a longer wheel base and longer than the EVK41L.

attachicon.gifAlbion Viking EVK55CL 1.jpg

attachicon.gifAlbion Viking EVK55CL 2.jpg

You're right. But only if they see you struggling. But if you know you cant reach the bell, you dont try, and no one will know.

And then you wave to your bus stop going past. :D

Ah Boy arh .............. You not born yet   <_<  

hahahah sucks to be young  :XD:

@SiLangkia

attachicon.gif137.jpg

attachicon.gif1373.jpg

Albion Viking EVK41L.

Thanks for sharing! Pretty impressive collection of pics you have eh  [laugh] which are your favourites?

hahahah sucks to be young :XD:

Thanks for sharing! Pretty impressive collection of pics you have eh [laugh] which are your favourites?

Volvo B57 single deckers and Mercedes Benz O305 double deckers.

Will try to share more tonight.

Volvo B57 single deckers and Mercedes Benz O305 double deckers.

Will try to share more tonight.

After researching, I'm quite fond of the B57s also hahaha :XD:

well thats how we learnt to inch taller and taller slowly by slowly, but my time never had issuesof missing bus stops but back then the drivers sometimes drive so fast that they forget to stop.... but back then the conductor will make some noises and the bus will stop on the road and drop you off .... those were the days can stop anywhere...... but got once or twice especially the bus just full skip the bus stop as those days got like @Angcheek type of hero hero ,one leg on the steps and other one leg dangling out of the door   [:p] .... those days the bus have doors but not automated , can really squeeze in until some people are holding on to the handle and still running and somehow people push push and they get in 

You're right. But only if they see you struggling. But if you know you cant reach the bell, you dont try, and no one will know.
And then you wave to your bus stop going past. :D

I used to take 152 , can remember if it was from Bartley (Toa Payoh )vicinity to East Coast Road 

@SiLangkia

attachicon.gif137.jpg

attachicon.gif1373.jpg

Albion Viking EVK41L.