Penang Hill - have you been there ?

The views from Penang Hill are great and the funicular ride is good.  It isn't always working though so check.

The views in Penang are much better than where we went on today up the funicular to the old town of Bergamo in Italy.

But the restaurants at the top of Penang Hill aren't very good and apart from the views there really isn't much else.

Whereas in Bergamo there are loads of good restaurants - not over priced, small alleys to wander around, many cafes to people watch and the interior of at least three of the churches rival the Sistine Chapel for brilliance.

Just saying like, because we like going to Penang.

Edited by Neutrino

Only went there once more than 25 yrs ago. Taking the old train up.

Only feeling is the temperature felt significant cooler after a short ride .

Edited by Tohto

Only went there once more than 25 yrs ago. Taking the old train up.

Only feeling is the temperature felt significant cooler after a short ride .

I went there as a boy. Haven't been back to penang since. 

Think i went only once which was at least 10 years ago.

Edited by 13177

drove to penang hill last year. nice scenery

Thought I am one of few crazy fellas who drove to Penang. I also do that. LOL! And at least 4-5 times over last 4 years to explore different parts of Penang. The beaches, the countryside for the farms, the food, and the shopping!

Why driving to Penang Hill is crazy ?

just fly there and rent a car lah  [laugh]

even my uncle who used to drive up also now does that. he has a condo there.

I was at Penang Hill last March. I rented a Honda Accord to explore the island, mainland, and south, to Ipoh.

Paid covered parking is available at the foothill. Funicular railway tickets buy from sheltered entrance block. The Q can be quite long. Best time to go is evening, then you can see the switch from day to night as the city lights come on.

You can walk around the hill, or rent a golf cart taxi to the various old houses. Interesting places to visit are :

1. Monkey Cup Garden

2. Penang Hill Hotel 

3. Sky walks with views

4. Holiday homes of the rich, that had seen better times.

At Monkey Cup, can see different types of pitcher plants, and have a cup of coffee in the middle of the jungle. Note that toilet facilities are basic (think hut over a drain with no flushing), and best avoided unless urgent.

Penang Hill Hotel serves tea with a view of Georgetown in the open verandah. I like the steamboat dinner best. Hearty serving at reasonable price, eaten as the night cools and the sun sets. Unforgettable.

If you like ruins, take a cart to historical Hotel Crag. Once a splendid place to recover from the heat, but now unoccupied and the jungle has reclaimed the buildings. A treat for paranormal hunters, and snake catchers.    

The back of the island has good durian plantations, and the best assam laksa I ever had was at a Balik Pulau village coffee shop. 

Very underrated tourist spot. This place better than Hong Kong's The Peak.

Yes indeed under-rated. 

I've been to Hong Kong's The Peak and all I get was a crowded hill top with no where to even take a great scenery.

All selfies sticks roaming around on your face and in the background.

Of course, The Peak has really cool weather, but that is just that.

Spent 45 minutes in the MacDonald's to get a meal. 

But Penang Hill is not for everyone.

This cup of tea is only good if your other half ( and kids ) are willing to walk.

Otherwise, forget it. 

Your day will be spoilt.

I was at Penang Hill last March. I rented a Honda Accord to explore the island, mainland, and south, to Ipoh.

Paid covered parking is available at the foothill. Funicular railway tickets buy from sheltered entrance block. The Q can be quite long. Best time to go is evening, then you can see the switch from day to night as the city lights come on.

You can walk around the hill, or rent a golf cart taxi to the various old houses. Interesting places to visit are :

1. Monkey Cup Garden

2. Penang Hill Hotel 

3. Sky walks with views

4. Holiday homes of the rich, that had seen better times.

At Monkey Cup, can see different types of pitcher plants, and have a cup of coffee in the middle of the jungle. Note that toilet facilities are basic (think hut over a drain with no flushing), and best avoided unless urgent.

Penang Hill Hotel serves tea with a view of Georgetown in the open verandah. I like the steamboat dinner best. Hearty serving at reasonable price, eaten as the night cools and the sun sets. Unforgettable.

If you like ruins, take a cart to historical Hotel Crag. Once a splendid place to recover from the heat, but now unoccupied and the jungle has reclaimed the buildings. A treat for paranormal hunters, and snake catchers.    

The back of the island has good durian plantations, and the best assam laksa I ever had was at a Balik Pulau village coffee shop. 

I will find time in my next trip to visit the Monkey Cup Garden and several other gardens within.

I will also try to make it on an evening for some sunset footage. 

I'm always venturing alone in Penang, so I can choose how I want to do with my trip. hehehe 

Thought I am one of few crazy fellas who drove to Penang. I also do that. LOL! And at least 4-5 times over last 4 years to explore different parts of Penang. The beaches, the countryside for the farms, the food, and the shopping!

Drive to penang from sg?! I always wanted to do that but never happen.  [:p]

I also dun think my family can endure the 9 hours+  road trip to Penang.  Thus we did some stopovers in Cameron Highlands before Penang and Ipoh and Malacca after Penang.  Like that not so tired.

Must stopover for a night along the way, dont think can drive straight from sg to penang. And must be more than one driver throughout the trip.

My friend's spouse drove all the way to Penang with one driver, they left the house at 3am.  

We find it too early and journey too long as we also one driver that's why we didn't follow him.   

My friend's spouse drove all the way to Penang with one driver, they left the house at 3am.  

We find it too early and journey too long as we also one driver that's why we didn't follow him.   

Your friend must be used to long distance driving, thats why can drive all the way to Penang. Maybe when younger i can also do such thing, but as i get older, cannot drive too long on the road. Lol.

Drive to penang from sg?! I always wanted to do that but never happen. [:p]

Not all the way from SG. Driving anything beyond 5 hrs is quite torturous and not forgetting the jams you may get during peak hours. Always like to break up. Normally stopover at KL or Ipoh