The (trade) war has started

Civic2000

buy what? our best selling product is CONDO leh .... huat ah!!!!

Everybody export to SG
Everybody buy from SG
HUUUUUUUUUUUUAT AH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

India ald started to put tariff on 30 us products

This could turn more countries off from USA, which would continue consolidate China position in global trade.

And more and more countries will join china OBOR plan.

Yah, u right....

But hor, Trump also like to flip one. Can one time say cancel meeting, then U-turn and see meeting on. What a flipper!!!

Soon, China grow biggger and bigger with Free trade and OBOR members and Uncle Sam can go fly kite.

Same like the High tech war. Uncle Sam wake up China to reliased that they oso need to dvelop their own capability starting from the Silicon wafer and not just rely on the supply from Uncle Sam.

Now the China ppl put more money into that development.

It's not that Chinese cannot make CPU,it's just how much true effort and resources they are keen to put in for something more expensive and harder to design and build than nuclear missile.

VIA, once a major cpu competitor to Intel and AMD is Chinese (ROC) but could not survive the race as the world will only buy the best despite huge investments and good talents. TSMC, UMC, .. are also Chinese (ROC) and are big players in high end chips.

And you might ask did China (PRC) not realize it's important from early on? Were they less clever? No, they were heavily invested in chip R&D. In fact, they've even funded one of the biggest fraud invention in Chinese history back in 2006. You wonder why they didn't check it was fraud? They did, it was validated and supported by the prestigious Chinese Academy of Sciences and funded by Central funds. When the fraud was exposed by third parties, none of the people involved were penalized. You wonder why? One of them recently got new funding from Alibaba. You wonder again? Keep wondering. [laugh]

9e39f448caa047fd80d39c7059beb4dd.jpeg

https://xw.qq.com/cmsid/20171222A0BYBU

Taiwan supported by Uncle Sam hor... They will not go back to China anytime soon.

China Boh pian, cannot take back island by force but can only wait and such thumb...kekeke. But is a matter of time, they "surrender" to China using Economy and trade to slow pull Taiwan back.

The Chinese got space ship and now can fly to space hor and also can build Air craft carriers hor... don't pray pray hor....

Spaceship? 1960's technology leh. Aircraft carrier was sold by Ukraine meant to be converted into amusement park.

What good would it do to any Chinese or Asians to have Taiwan invaded by any means ?

Not say don't want to praise Chinese achievements, but also got to avoid false confidence of strength in a minority elite class leading to losing war like in the 1800's. LKY had warned about this.

Giving majority decent jobs and motivation to improve own lives through learning and working in a market economy is the right path for sure.

Taking funds from the market+public to fund fraudulent projects don't think it was foreigners fault right?

Don't snift at it hor. There is few countries that can send men to the moon hor. Its by no means a small feat.

The name of their ship is "Chang Er Yi Hao" I think. You can google it.

They build thier carrier from new "Liao Ning Yi Hao" (I think your news is back dated liao). Now they building 2nd one hor.

U mentioned LKY, he KTB liao and now new order and new economy liao. I a ciaotic country, the best is to have a "strong arm" leader can chart the developmental course and not easily detrack and delay the developments. (BTW, I not pro China hor...kekeke) Just saying.

wah ... isn't this guy just went to PRC to meet his counterpart ... so fierce ar? don't play play

AP_18143741884601.jpg

post-7984-0-42105700-1529397546_thumb.png

Since you mentioned new order and new economy.

SpaceX, a private company, like government-funded CNSA's are interested in various space expedition. SpaceX is aiming to go to Mars, and making it commercially feasible, with returning and reusable rockets already demonstrated. CNSA is aiming to go to the Moon, with funding from the CCP, using old technology. Of course, neither has completed their goals yet so you may say it's too early to tell. But you can see where the "new order" is heading towards, making space technology more accessible and thereby accelerating new research and development.

Other than Russia, US and China, there are other countries with space programs, Europe, India, Japan, etc. with their own individual goals, manned or unmanned and collaborative framework for joint funding and development. JAXA is planning to explore the moons of Mars in a few years. 

It's nice to see an independent effort from CNSA, because to some extent it will encourage competition and improvements. On the other hand, it is also spending $$$ to go through the learning cycles already taken by others. Some may argue, why not collaborate ? Of course, there will be more considerations than "technology development". China has its own defence consideration on being independent from US satellites and technology. US remains to be the only country with a complete GPS network today. There has been people who likes to think the US has a "cold war mentality", but why is China doing the same ? I hate to call it a Chinese thing, as much as it is certainly not an American or Russian thing, it's just politics and mistrust. Ultimately, if things are kept in balance, it will be good for everyone. 

Now, aircraft carrier .. why don't you elaborate more on the 2nd carrier ? How is it going to be a world leading carrier ? And what kind of planes they will be flying on the carrier ? How will the operational carrier group look like ? What other ships will be part of this group ? What advantages will it have over say, US' carriers, India's carrier ? Japan's carrier ?

When there is sufficient power to balance, we won't be in trouble. When any one side over-estimate their own power and start to intimidate, we should worry.

Recently there is a PLA Navy honcho that was arrested for corruption.

As long as long China don't spend money on basis research (those that have no commercial value), it is difficult to catch up.