Elected MPs pay $365 annually for parking at HDB carparks

ChaosMyth

MPS are charged a proportion of the parking fee as they "do not park overnight or full day at their constituencies".

LOL. Can they hire someone to do some logical thinking and reasoning before releasing such statement for their press releases? Or maybe just don't mention at all because it will backfire. Neither do teachers park overnight in schools. Neither do we park overnight at our workplace. Can pay half price only anot? $1 a day parking. Good lei... [nod]

Elected Members of Parliament (MPs) pay S$365 for an annual permit that allows them to park at Housing & Development Board (HDB) car parks when doing constituency work and at Parliament House when on official business, the Ministry of National Development (MND) said on Monday (Jun 25).

The amount is "a proportion of" the current HDB season parking rate, MND said in responses to The Straits Times that were shared with Channel NewsAsia. For HDB residents' first parking lot, the monthly parking charge is S$80 for surface car parks and S$110 for sheltered car parks.

"The rate is a proportion of the prevailing HDB season parking rate since MPs do not park overnight or full day at their constituencies," the MND said, adding that the permit fee was increased from S$260 in 2016. 

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/elected-mps-pay-365-annually-parking-hdb-car-parks-parliament-10468334

Edited by ChaosMyth
  • Praise 15

Where to buy such type of season parking? No park overnight type?

Ask your cow lah. He or she was voted in... to answer questions and write letters then kena scolded or cursed regardless.

I oso dont park wholeday at my hdb carpark......and i dont park whole night at work........ Can get half rate for both bor?..lol

dont make sense sia. if got people park their cars full day and night just because they paid full day season parking as mentioned, then it means they buy car just to park at parking lot for 10 years ah? even if coe at an all time low now also don't need like that burn money lah. hahaha...

since when the whities and their hardcore fans made sense when they open their mouth to give reason or excuses?

Why aren't they are charged the same as what all other vehicle owners do? MPs aren't suppose to set good example? Pay what you use and not getting special treatment. Not as if they are pay peanuts like some of us...

I also don't park overnight at my office. So will they come up with another parking scheme? $105 divide by 30 days divide by 24 hours x 9 hrs x 22 days since I only work 8 to 5 and five day week?

These stupid MOFOS will say anything to justify their sugar coated bulls**t even when the rest of the world can see through the sugar coating.

This is an insult to the teachers that are forced to pay parking charges for parking in school.

• Praise 12

Wah $30 season parking a month that’s cheap. MP’s are working adult too and their constituency is their office location, they should jolly well join us in paying the same price!

No standardization? Since teachers need to pay premium why should MP’s be exempted?

didnt know they need to pay. Because many years back, my friend was invited to join one such constituency. He can park for free at any coupon parking at that constituency. Maybe the rules has changed.

Dont quote me  

didnt know they need to pay. Because many years back, my friend was invited to join one such constituency. He can park for free at any coupon parking at that constituency. Maybe the rules has changed.

Dont quote me

coupon mar.....that was so long ago. Now most are eps....by right everybody must pay by left.......up to your imagination. Just like at work.......ceo or boss out of office......who would want to check their daily itinery! Boss say he go meeting outside everybody say 'boss go meeting'......

Dont quote me  

only Elected MPs can. Nominated MPs and non-constituency MPs dont this "benefit" lol... They say it's a permit but come on lah it's a benefit hah...

Want to charge this kind of parking rates for themselves, then charge the same rates for every Singaporean as well.

Don't double standards.

My question is..is the $365 for islandwide or just their constituency?

For example in a GRC, each MP covers different parts of the GRC, so how does HDB zone the carparks effectively? What about at the 'borders' of each GRC....if no choice so happen that that MSCP is full and the MP has to park across the road into another GRC's turf...is that payable at the normal rates?

Wah islandwide  :wub:

Dont quote me

last time coupon now eps.

do you know how big a GRC covered? example..jalan bear GRC!