Car with best real world Fuel Consumption

Cantina

Hi all,

Due to lifestyle/commitment change, my traveling distance per day has increased to at least 55 to 60km in the weekdays. Currently driving a Hyundai Avante left around 1 year to scrap. It's give me about 11+km/l depending on traffic, recently like getting worst.

I know now alot of new cars with better lower cc engines can give up to 20km/l paper spec! Choon boh? Hybrid got so good?

I need advise from the forum gurus. Which new car now can really give me good fuel comsumption but still driving at least like my avante? basically I'm looking at this requirements:

- Real life FC better thatn 16km/l (not paper spec, switch off AC, controlling pedal carefully those type. I want realistic normal driving in SG)

- Still Driving a like 1.6 (Avante power actually not bad)

- Size around like Avante (sedan or hatch)

- Price around 100k +/- 10k

- don't need other bell and whistle.

Such cars exist? How is Hybrid but don't have such price right?

I try to find same topic but dun have. Hope the good bros here can advise. Thanks in advance.

Hi all,

Due to lifestyle/commitment change, my traveling distance per day has increased to at least 55 to 60km in the weekdays. Currently driving a Hyundai Avante left around 1 year to scrap. It's give me about 11+km/l depending on traffic, recently like getting worst.

I know now alot of new cars with better lower cc engines can give up to 20km/l paper spec! Choon boh? Hybrid got so good?

I need advise from the forum gurus. Which new car now can really give me good fuel comsumption but still driving at least like my avante? basically I'm looking at this requirements:

- Real life FC better thatn 16km/l (not paper spec, switch off AC, controlling pedal carefully those type. I want realistic normal driving in SG)

I try to find same topic but dun have. Hope the good bros here can advise. Thanks in advance.

If u wanted 20km/l or more, i think only Hybrid liao. Petrol cars sure cannot. Some-more, u need to consider traffic jams since u r driving 55/60km per day. Paper specs, I nvr believe becas normally paper specs refer to Highway driving only, unless the specs also states km/l, city drive.

Since u hav 100+/- 10k to spend, u hav afew choices, e.g, Freed, Prirus, Grace, etc etc ... But then hor, i heard hybrid cars every 5yrs must change batt which is very exp hor. 

No budget? Buy any vehicle that's diesel powered also give you economic FC. Small cars that's powered by a 1.2L NA petrol engine can also give you the FC you are looking for. So many choices. Come up with a budget first lah otherwise how to narrow down your choices?

Hi all,

FC is dependent on city/highway ratio.  What is your current ratio?

If u wanted 20km/l or more, i think only Hybrid liao. Petrol cars sure cannot. Some-more, u need to consider traffic jams since u r driving 55/60km per day. Paper specs, I nvr believe becas normally paper specs refer to Highway driving only, unless the specs also states km/l, city drive.

Since u hav 100+/- 10k to spend, u hav afew choices, e.g, Freed, Prirus, Grace, etc etc ... But then hor, i heard hybrid cars every 5yrs must change batt which is very exp hor.

Thanks all for the suggestion. The vezel hybrid caught me. Will research more on this car.

But kennyyy say battery 5 yr must change. Really True? How much is the battery? How exp? In Ks? Maybe end up lppl same cost.

My traffic mostly in CTE yishun to CBD. CTE siao siao sometimes okay sometimes jam like crazy. My morning trip is very early and night trip will kena the major traffic. I think lile this roughly 50 50 highway and city.

Ask @sunset73

Who is sunset? Same situatuon as me?

No budget? Buy any vehicle that's diesel powered also give you economic FC. Small cars that's powered by a 1.2L NA petrol engine can also give you the FC you are looking for. So many choices. Come up with a budget first lah otherwise how to narrow down your choices?

Uncle, already say my budget 100k +/- 10k.

I dun mind 2nd hand too.

I saw a the nissan 1.2 turbo but duwant suv. The mitshubishi attrage is too small for my needs cos have some barang barang to move too.

So far the Vezel hybrid like good candidate but more on the high side of my budget.

Thanks all again...

Edited by Cantina

Hi all,

Also depends on how heavy footer u are. I m getting 14km/l on my ride while someone else is getting 18km/l or more

Choices of brand new cars –

You can choose to spend over $100K on a hybrid or economical fuel sipper, or get a Hyundai Elantra at $74K or Mitsubishi Attrage at $64K, and save $30K to $40K. This more than suffices to cover the slightly higher fuel consumption for the Elantra. 

The Attrage returns an amazing 26km/l - https://www.torque.com.sg/news/mitsubishi-attrage-fuel-efficiency-challenge/

Remember - the higher the car price, the higher the loan interest payable.

Edited by Vinceng

Sometimes it’s not how heavy the foot is but the rests of the body.

I think 700k peasant can expand a bit on that front...

Uncle, already say my budget 100k +/- 10k.

I dun mind 2nd hand too.

Oh ok. My bad. I was searching for the keyword "budget" not "price". LoL...

That budget leaves you with the typical Toyota/Honda hybrids hatchbacks. AD or PI? Cos if PI you will have another choice from Honda Shuttle hybrid. A bit more interior space compared to other hybrid hatchbacks.

2nd hand cars depreciation more dan new car....might as well go for new.

Thanks all for the suggestion. The vezel hybrid caught me. Will research more on this car.

But kennyyy say battery 5 yr must change. Really True? How much is the battery? How exp? In Ks? Maybe end up lppl same cost.

Last time my ex-colleague told me after 5yr (New car, from 0yr on-wards), the batt sure need to change (just like normal car batt, change every 2yr, Hybrid is 5yr). The cost of a new batt range frm $5k - 10k. He actually say "Bro, hybrid bat jhap-chiang (10k) ok!", but heard from most ppl is 5k-10k la.

Myself nvr drive Hybrid before so true or nt, I can't be sure. However, since this is wat I heard frm most ppl, I think really need to consider. Mayb some ppl here in MCF can advise on the batt life and cost for hybrid bah. Or mayb u can ask some Prius Taxi Drivers.. gd luck  [;)]

You can buy hybrids from Toyota where they give 10 years warranty on the battery. 

Toyota Prius C will go up by $20,000 come 1st July, as VES change from $10k rebate to $10k surcharge.

wah, can be so drastic? They all just like VW/Audi went to doctor results kanna found out huh? [lipsrsealed]