IC photocopying and detail collection illegal from sep19

From 1Sep illegal to photocopy and collect info

Liddat car dealer how?

Optional("Collecting NRIC numbers and making copies of the identity card will be illegal from Sept 1, 2019")

Collecting NRIC numbers and making copies of the identity card will be illegal from Sept 1, 2019
Organisations that have collected NRIC numbers will also have to dispose of them by 2019. PHOTO: ST FILE
PUBLISHED
35 SEC AGO

SINGAPORE - From Sept 1 next year, it will be illegal for organisations to collect, use or disclose NRIC numbers or make copies of the identity card under stricter rules spelt out on Friday (Aug 31) by the Personal Data Protection Commission (PDPC).

For years, places like shopping malls have collected NRIC numbers when registering customers for lucky draws, memberships or even to track parking redemptions.

But the updated rules mean organisations will no longer be allowed to do that.

Organisations that have collected NRIC numbers will also have to dispose of them by next year, following updates to the rules for NRIC collection under the Personal Data Protection Act, which went fully into force in July 2014.

"In today's digital economy, indiscriminate collection or negligent handling of NRIC numbers can increase the risk of unintended disclosure and may result in NRIC numbers being used for illegal activities such as identity theft or fraud," the commission said in a release on Friday (Aug 31).

It added such risks arise as the NRIC number is a permanent and irreplaceable identifier. Companies were also warned that unless required by the law, physically holding on to an individual's NRIC will not be allowed as well from Sept 1.

Although the Act already prohibits the indiscriminate collection of consumers' personal data, and requires organisations to account for the use of the data, privacy advocates argued that NRIC details were still being collected, sometimes for frivolous reasons.

This ranged from the need for such details to book a movie ticket to even renting a bicycle.

Following public feedback, the privacy watchdog proposed updated guidelines which were then put up for public consultation from November to December last year, before the stricter rules were developed.

There are, however, exceptions.

NRIC numbers or copies of the NRIC can only be obtained or shared if they are required by law, such as when subscribing to a new phone line, making a doctor's appointment or checking in to a hotel.

NRIC details may also be collected when an individual's precise verification - "to a high degree of fidelity" - is needed.

This would include getting the NRIC details of people visiting preschools or transactions involving healthcare, financial or real estate matters, and when not getting it could risk security or could cause significant harm.

"Where the collection, use and disclosure of NRIC numbers or retention of physical NRICs is permitted, organisations must ensure that adequate protection measures are in place to safeguard the personal data in their possession or under their control, in compliance with their obligations under the PDPA," added the commission.

Organisations that are found flouting the Act can be fined up to $1 million.

These updated rules for NRIC numbers also apply to other national identification numbers, like birth certificate numbers, foreign identification numbers and work permit numbers.

Although passports are periodically replaced, the commission said that organisations should avoid collecting the full passport numbers of individuals as well, unless justified.

It acknowledged that some organisations collect a partial NRIC number and clarified that details of up to the last three numerical digits and letter of the NRIC would not be considered the full NRIC number.

But it added that these partial numbers are still considered personal data under the Act, as it could allow an individual to be identified.

The privacy watchdog reiterated that organisations that collect partial NRIC numbers must still comply with the Act's Data Protection Provisions, and must take steps to make sure this data is secured and not disclosed.

It said it does not prescribe the type of identifiers that organisations can use instead of NRIC numbers, and that organisations are encouraged to assess these alternatives based on their own needs.

Some alternatives it suggested include organisation or user-generated ID, tracking numbers or organisation-issued QR codes.

The commission said it will, together with the Infocomm Media Development Authority (IMDA), help organisations adjust by publishing a technical guide on replacing the NRIC number with alternative identifiers.

The commission and IMDA will identify pre-approved technology solutions that companies can take up.

They will also develop template notices that organisations can use to manage customer expectations during this transition period.

Liddat car dealer how?

Optional("Collecting NRIC numbers and making copies of the identity card will be illegal from Sept 1, 2019")

LOL long overdue. But it's required in damn bloody a lot of things.

Anything to do in the bank, they photocopy your IC.

Do CPF transactions like use your medisave, also need your photocopy of IC.

LOL long overdue. But it's required in damn bloody a lot of things.

Anything to do in the bank, they photocopy your IC.

Do CPF transactions like use your medisave, also need your photocopy of IC.

Ya lor

ESP those pesky lucky draw fellas

Ya lor

ESP those pesky lucky draw fellas

i haven't participated in a lucky draw for many years. except the world cup tickets one when i bought the car (cos the AD has all my details anyway lol)

At many malls, u also need to be their members just to get free parking redemption on wkday lunch time.

Use smartphone take photo of IC considered as "photocopy"? [laugh]

I realised it's 1st Sept 2019, still got a year to go. Not tmr.

Next year Sep then start, not this year Sep hor?

So next time when go for test drive at ADs, cannot let them photostat my IC and driving licence liao.  [rolleyes]

Next year Sep then start, not this year Sep hor?

So next time when go for test drive at ADs, cannot let them photostat my IC and driving licence liao. [rolleyes]

Eh that is drivers license la

Oh, so they still can photostat the driving licence but cannot photostat IC liao. Lol.

Ya lo

If not TP ask me I can tell him find spider too

Hahhaha

Liddat car dealer how?

Huat for IT company.

Many companies with database will need to delete the NRIC field from their database!

Printing company too.

A lot of form has to be redesign to remove the NRIC field.

~!@!@#$$%%^&&**() Thanks to SingHealth!

Ya lo

If not TP ask me I can tell him find spider too

Hahhaha

Haha. Give them driving licence find still ok, but IC have too much info which i dont really like them to photostat.

I thought casino they just want to see passport. If no passport just means you are Sinkie. Pay Levy. :D

Eh casino le?

They collect wat