Makan in Thailand

steveluv

It's rainy season now and almost every evening the storm will come. Arrived early at the restaurant at 6pm and pouring so not many customers

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0mFWO2PGKmc&t=9s

tNtIMV8.jpg

9BV4Teo.jpg

Icy beer, beer is stored at a temperature almost frozen so when poured into a glass with ice it freezes up and become like smoothie.

iNuWfDL.jpg

Somtam pu pala - somtam with raw crab and pala a smelly sauce from fermented (rotten) fish, one cannot be more Isaan tan this

lAeJTos.jpg

Khanom jeen, I mentioned this before its fermented rice noodle

UAbQyvs.jpg

Larb moo thod, minced pork with Thai herb deep fried

JQLSOT1.jpg

Yam pak khana, yam salad with kailan

Bg88WC3.jpg

Larb ped, duck with Thai herbs (no fried)

2MG4gDq.jpg

Gai yang, grilled chicken (the most famous Gai yang comes from a district in Khon Kaen Province known as Khao Suan Kwang

11xeX4G.jpg

Duck beak

9Omikot.jpg

Cabbage here known as kalampi

X2WgFfQ.jpg

Tom saab sikong moo, tom saab is similar to tomyam this version with pork ribs

yCubS8m.jpg

The dinner

ivWX0uY.jpg

Finaly for those of you who goes to Thai disco you may have heard of this very popular song before, ask any ethnic Thai if they understand the words of this song I bet 100% of them will tell you they don't understand this Isaan song.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rJ57YfmKic4

Edited by steveluv

Thais love chicken rice like Singaporeans as its an easy meal to have however as a Singaporean we are spoiled for choice so the quality of chicken rice in Singapore is pretty high compared to anywhere else.However I have to admit most of Thai chicken rice cannot make irt. I am lucky to have a very good stall just 1km from my home.

KMBk5up.jpg

0PzXkgV.jpg

This is taken today breakfast costs 70 baht about $3 only 

Somtam pu pala - somtam with raw crab and pala a smelly sauce from fermented (rotten) fish, one cannot be more Isaan tan this

lAeJTos.jpg

I had this before.. really scared to eat the raw crab (cos I was travelling... didn't want stomach trouble LOL)

my pic quite low quality. I think I was half drunk that time

post-111352-0-45919000-1536251371_thumb.jpeg

I had this before.. really scared to eat the raw crab (cos I was travelling... didn't want stomach trouble LOL)

my pic quite low quality. I think I was half drunk that time

attachicon.gifWhatsApp Image 2018-09-07 at 00.26.15.jpeg

Lived here 13 years never eaten raw crab somtam however and strangely wife love it and eat very very often, really don't understand how she could stomach it.

Midnight hungry in Bangkok? No worries lots of nice street food to have.

One near my home serves delicious seabass fish soup

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6DrvFtT90hg

Simple stall

70jN21n.jpg

FIsh soup with boiled rice

wKji5kS.jpg

Clear fish soup with vegetables

CTrUDBw.jpg

Additional omelette with mninced pork

rnuTlfr.jpg

Thai yam salad with wun sen

kEn0WSu.jpg

Supper

VrIs0jN.jpg

A typical noodle shop in Bangkok and. Having Early breakfast about 07.10

BxpZJJa.jpg

Typical setup

fvKVjx8.jpg

Breakfast - short rice noodle starts at $1.60 this is $2

xqKnMyq.jpg

A healthy and filling breakfast

Bangkok is a food paradise as all will know. Its not just for Thai food and its street food but also a range of very good international cuisine. If one is craving for Chinese cuisine as in the real stuff like Cantonese and Teochew like East Ocean and Paradise in Singapore I will highly recommend Hong Bao. There are 5 branches all located at high end malls serving mainly Thailand's upper-class Chinese. 

Just finished lunch at Hong Bao's branch in Crystal Park Mall with a 2 customers 

I simply love the restaurant's crunch preserved radish, ask for more

Started with crispy pork and roast duck and boiled chicken

Then its dimsum. Thais love dimsum. Just go to any 7Eleven you can find a cabinet full of different types of bao, siew-mai, har-gao etc etc but then these 7Eleven dimsum I am sure Singaporeans will not like. Then there are those specialise dimsum kiosk or stall they're better than 7Eleven but still not like ours. Hong Bao restaurant however serves dimsum very similar in taste and quality to Hong Kong dimsum that is why I always enjoy my dimsum here

Siew mai

V

Nice spread

How is the siew mai?  I tried siew mai once in a restaurant in bangkok.  The porky smell was so strong until we all spit out and dare not eat.

Generally for Chinese food is Bangkok people especially us canto expect too much. Chinese food here had been modified too much to suit the Thais however once can still find very good Chinese food from Hong Kong restaurants which still maintain teh Cantonese style and material but this is very rare. Then we have the very local Chinese restaurants found in the heart of old Thai Chinese communities all over Thailand but these are hard to find. So my advise if one need to have good and real Chinese food to be safe go to restaurants like Crystal Jade or hotels' Chinese restaurants.

Looks simple yet I'm sure its tasty and filling! 

May I ask for the address of this place please?

Thanks!

A typical noodle shop in Bangkok and. Having Early breakfast about 07.10

BxpZJJa.jpg

Typical setup
fvKVjx8.jpg

Breakfast - short rice noodle starts at $1.60 this is $2
xqKnMyq.jpg

A healthy and filling breakfast

Looks simple yet I'm sure its tasty and filling! 

May I ask for the address of this place please?

Thanks!

Its very tasty and filling, can also order other flavour like tomyam and yantaofu also.

Location is here

ก๋วยเตี๋ยวบางรัก "เจ้เกียง"
19/86 Khlong Luang Rd, ตำบลคลอง3 Amphoe Khlong Luang, Chang Wat Pathum Thani 12120
085 833 3184

Thanks very much! 

Looks like it'll be a good place to stop en route back from Ayutthaya!

Its very tasty and filling, can also order other flavour like tomyam and yantaofu also.

Location is here

ก๋วยเตี๋ยวบางรัก "เจ้เกียง"
19/86 Khlong Luang Rd, ตำบลคลอง3 Amphoe Khlong Luang, Chang Wat Pathum Thani 12120
085 833 3184

Bro Steveluv,

I want to thank you for your wonderful sharing despite your busy schedule, 

those delicious thai foods, dessert gourmet certainly warm my appetite, i guess living abroad for so many years certainly add spices and herbs with your galfren or wifey, simply eating alone overseas is boring.

Once again, thanks again. Kam Xia Lu [:p]

As mentioned before Bangkok is not always Thai food, Bangkok also offers great Italian, Japanese, French etc. Always nice to be dining here

The restaurtant

t1f7D7e.jpg

Yes its only 5.40pm on a Thursday evening but I needed this badly

lG8oOOi.jpg

Peppe the owner is preparing the Italian bread

3tUUZqO.jpg

and burrata

snfCeps.jpg

Here comes the cold meats

j7Fy4cS.jpg

to go with eh Amarones

jj5EyQF.jpg

Fresh rockets

OUuigYy.jpg

Italian tomatoes

jtcPJ9f.jpg

Angelhair with freshly made tomato sauce, Peppe make this fresh everyday

DpZKkPn.jpg

Sharing the main course

eHwB232.jpg

#1 Best Italian restaurant in Bangkok https://www.tripadvisor.com.au/Restaurants-g293916-c26-Bangkok.html

post-235536-0-74947100-1536892978_thumb.png

Edited by steveluv

Subscribed to this thread. Sharing two of my die die must eat whenever I go.

Kuay teow neaw at Nuer Koo Siam Paragon

Can consider sibei high ses Thai food since a bowl of roadside beef noodles is about 15b - 40b and this place comes up to about 1000b for 2 pax. But its soooooo good. Tastes like the founder's grandma is brewing soup in the kitchen.

post-196289-0-63966600-1536923764_thumb.jpg

Donita at 122/81 ถนนราชปรารภ แขวง ถนนพญาไท เขต ราชเทวี กรุงเทพมหานคร 10400

One of those small alley food stalls but the tom yum talay is yummy to me. Very lemak and liao gao gao. Kai jeaw damn tasty too. I can go there for 5 days in a row every day eat same thing. Soup + egg + veggie + meat usually costs under 270b.

post-196289-0-56894000-1536924143_thumb.jpg

Edited by chryst

Needed to go the company's factory for a customer visit, factory is in Rayong about 130km from central Bangkok. The Rayong local sales lady brought me to a very popular noodle shop for lunch in Ban Beung. Ban Beung is a district of Chonburi province bordering Rayong.

This noodle shop is very famous for 2 things

(1) starting a style of noodle where shredded cuttle fish and dry prawns is added and minced pork is flatten. This styler of noodle become known as "Ban Beung Noodle"

(2) Probably the best crab balls you can find

There are many "Ban Beung Noodle" copycats around Thailand but this the original known as Ta Kun Kang Restaurant

YM1kccz.jpg

pPG6M9J.jpg

So here are the crab balls and noodles

Dry yellow noodle

ay0T1Wl.jpg

Thai small rice noodle soup

ZIhXbvl.jpg

This is flat rice noodle with lots of shredded cuttle fish, very delicious

xHHZDeU.jpg

Delicious crab balls

KBOe7dw.jpg

This meal costs only 280 baht, 3 bowls of noodles and 1 plate of 8 crab balls 15 baht each. Really cheap.

Whenever I have to stay in Pattaya, I will make a point to visit a nice Italian restaurant known as Trattoria Pizzeria Toscana. Main reason is this restaurant grows most of its vegetables (organic) and rare most of the animals the meat we have in the restaurant.

Watch this video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jPaKxAZdmZ0

Daily make its own pastas

Ur37eLC.jpg

Age their own meat

XKBM6H9.jpg

4Q1R8Le.jpg

Beautiful t-bone

XvRxcKF.jpg

Huge restaurant indoor sitting

iGf2sQS.jpg

Outdoor