Lithium-Iron Battery (LFP) - New & Better Alternative?

jumpwarrior

Hi bros, 

I was researching about these Lithium-Iron Batteries (LiFePo4, LFP Batteries) and was pretty impressed by the benefits it has compared to what's available in the market now. I am quite new to owning a car and perhaps a bit too excited about trying new stuff for my car so would like to seek your knowledge and opinion on this.

What really caught my attention was the benefits of it (albeit the price, not sure how much but they say more ex than the normal batteries): 

• No maintenance (like those sealed type)

• Suitable for start/stop feature (haha this one I know not many people like!)

• No explosion (they say very safe, won't catch fire)

• No spillage

• Non-toxic and no rare earth materials

• Constant & stable discharge

• Light-weight (this one really quite amazing, like only 6 to 9kg???!)

• Longer cycle life

• Battery management system (not sure what this is for)

I mean there must be a reason why the electric cars and buses are using this LFP batteries right? But I will definitely do more research first and would be great if you guys are able to share your thoughts!

TIA

https://medium.com/solar-microgrid/battery-showdown-lead-acid-vs-lithium-ion-1d37a1998287
https://www.roadpro.co.uk/lithium-battery-guide

↡ Advertisement
  • Praise 2

@jumpwarrior, first of all, I hope the intention of starting this thread is not for advertising purposes (as we noted that you have been posting questions on batteries in several thread), else we will close it.

OK, back to the topic. Have we not heard enough of fire caused by Li-ion batteries, ranging from mobile phones, laptops, PMDs to even cars... and what make you think that LiFe4Po4 maybe a much safer option?