Wildlife Rich Rifle Range Nature Park

Meanmachine

Read about the rich R.R Park today ( To be completed in 2020 )

Eager to check out after years of walks and trekking in Venus Drive, Treetops trail along MacRitchie Reservoir Link, Bt Timah, Diary Farm, Lower Pierce / Upp Pierce, Hort Park, Mt. Faber, Yishun Dam and Coney Island etc, kinda wanting to explore new terrain.

67 hectare of hiking trail and less disturbance to wildlife and surrounding greenery with elevated walkway plus a host of wildlife such as Malayan Colugo - a glider from tree to tree, Flying squirrel, pangolin- endangered animal, Palm civet cats also known as " Musang ", Coral snake, a venomous snake, Species of malayan butterflies and other migratory birds can be sighted only from Sept-Novenber annually, not forgetting Fireflies. Yes fireflies  . . .

i'm ready to explore more  [:p]

Eager to check out after years of walks and trekking in Venus Drive, Treetops trail along MacRitchie Reservoir Link, Bt Timah, Diary Farm, Lower Pierce / Upp Pierce, Hort Park, Mt. Faber, Yishun Dam and Coney Island etc, kinda wanting to explore new terrain.

67 hectare of hiking trail and less disturbance to wildlife and surrounding greenery with elevated walkway plus a host of wildlife such as Malayan Colugo - a glider from tree to tree, Flying squirrel, pangolin- endangered animal, Palm civet cats also known as " Musang ", Coral snake, a venomous snake, Species of malayan butterflies and other migratory birds can be sighted only from Sept-Novenber annually, not forgetting Fireflies. Yes fireflies  . . .

which one u think is best for young kids, pre schoolers

I would considered Venus Drive to Treetops and back, saw many family with young kids, Pri to secondary, some JC and few hand carried babies too, coz Nature Park have installed board-walk anti-slipped and wooden hand-railed at least 12 inches above ground level for easy access. Easiest would be Harbour front & Hort park to South bridges and back, strolling on Sunday mid morning for fresh air or ard 5.30pm watching the sunset ard 545-6-00pm ( Bring Camera )

Over at Casuarina Area ( Upp Thomson area ) Do not go in after 5.00pm, coz wild pigs and  their youngs will come out hunting at night,  will charge if provoked.

I would considered Venus Drive to Treetops and back, saw many family with young kids, Pri to secondary, some JC and few hand carried babies too, coz Nature Park have installed board-walk anti-slipped and wooden hand-railed at least 12 inches above ground level for easy access. Easiest would be Harbour front & Hort park to South bridges and back, strolling on Sunday mid morning for fresh air or ard 5.30pm watching the sunset ard 545-6-00pm ( Bring Camera )

Over at Casuarina Area ( Upp Thomson area ) Do not go in after 5.00pm, coz wild pigs and  their youngs will come out hunting at night,  will charge if provoked.

thanks. will wait until they are older.

If can't cycle or what, don't think they are that interested.

not to forget a lot of monkeys, dun get attack by them  [laugh]

Monkeys has already accustomed to our SInglish trekkers, don't ever feed them nor touch their young's and thy will leave you alone... Do not carry NTUC/ Giants plastic bags, coz monkeys knew its contain foods, thy will snatch and run.

2 years ago along Casuarina Area, a group of monkeys were chattering loudly and gesturing wilding to us on my right ( trying to warn of the danger ahead ) coz it was my first attempt after work for a brief walk, heard some noises among some bushes on my left and making noisy sounds, 30m ahead, saw a male biggest pig with eyes blinking & looking angrily ready to charge at us, we hide among the trees between poles and branches and kept complete silent, luckily the group dispersed quickly coz the leader of the wild boar was thinking we are going to trap their young's.  it really scare the shit out of us. :we-all-gonna-die:

Monkeys has already accustomed to our SInglish trekkers, don't ever feed them nor touch their young's and thy will leave you alone... Do not carry NTUC/ Giants plastic bags, coz monkeys knew its contain foods, thy will snatch and run.

2 years ago along Casuarina Area, a group of monkeys were chattering loudly and gesturing wilding to us on my right ( trying to warn of the danger ahead ) coz it was my first attempt after work for a brief walk, heard some noises among some bushes on my left and making noisy sounds, 30m ahead, saw a male biggest pig with eyes blinking & looking angrily ready to charge at us, we hide among the trees between poles and branches and kept complete silent, luckily the group dispersed quickly coz the leader of the wild boar was thinking we are going to trap their young's.  it really scare the shit out of us. :we-all-gonna-die:

This is the risk when you hike at these area, risk of monkeys or wild pigs. I remember when i was hiking in bt timah nature park in one of the trial inside, walked halfway and saw a group of monkeys ahead of me, i dont know if i should continue walking ahead or back track and i just pause there dont know what to do.  [sweatdrop]

Just continue but don't make eye contact with them. 

Some months back, I did some treks of MacRitchie starting from Flame Tree Park ending Bukit Timah. Explore some other routes too. Quite nice I must say.

There is this one time I started at Flame Tree and ended at the MacRitchie carpark area just enough to catch the sunset by the waters.

7 hours ago, Hoseyboh said:

RIP 🙏🙏🙏. Wasted, Just about to enjoy his cpf.

Veteran wildlife consultant and conservationist Subaraj Rajathurai dies aged 56.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/subaraj-rajathurai-dies-wildlife-nature-conservation-12025734

Quite not an old age to go , wonder how come a person in nature work also can go so fast at 56 

1 hour ago, BanCoe said:

Quite not an old age to go , wonder how come a person in nature work also can go so fast at 56 

Because it's a jungle out there....😥

11 minutes ago, BanCoe said:

They did not mention the cause of death 

orh hor unker neh read.. article got say his son mentioning that he died of a heart attack at home