Can't renew road tax - what happened?

Jeuda

Hi all, 

2nd car, bought new. COE, Insurance, Road Tax start on same day. Have been paying & renewing for 3 years.

Then for past 1 week, have been trying to pay road tax renewal (6 mths) at onemotoring / AXS came back with insufficient coverage period.

Has LTA change something in their system?

Called LTA, lady says require insurance coverage for 1 more day. 

Called insurance, extend coverage need to pay. 

What is going on? 

Anyone experienced the same issue? 

Did you pay for the extension? 

Means ur Insurance started one day before u collected your car I guess. Insurance can start earlier one.

Ask them extend one more day, yes needs to pay.

Try to get a set of quotes and purchase the best one to cover you for another 1 year 1 day, then pay the road tax.

Why no problem for the past 3 years but this year kenna? Did the insurance company made a mistake on the date for this round of renewal?

Means ur Insurance started one day before u collected your car I guess. Insurance can start earlier one.

Cannot be leh... say roadtax start 02 Jan.

You buy insurance from 02 Jan to next year 01 Jan. Right bo?

Will you buy from 02 Jan to next year 02 Jan?

Yes extension require to pay, but if industry norms is to buy 1 year.

Why do we need to buy 1 year + 1 day now?

Sure we can buy 1 year + 1 day. That would means that LTA system change.

That would create issues for car owners who bought 1 year only.

Some insurance company charge admin fee, i.e. $10 + insured rate $ per day. 

In principle, if there is a change in rule, why LTA never announce, why insurance company did not mention?

Why no problem for the past 3 years but this year kenna? Did the insurance company made a mistake on the date for this round of renewal?

Don't think so it is the mistake of insurance company... more like LTA change their system

If more car owners can affirm to this, then we know it is system change...

In principle, if there is a change in rule, why LTA never announce, why insurance company did not mention?

Don't think so it is the mistake of insurance company... more like LTA change their system

You can always buy insurance at your own cost at your discretion.  I recently bought 1 year+ insurance to cover the odd road tax expiry date too but during road tax renewal, I only renewed for 6 months if I recall correctly.

In the eyes of LTA, as long as the road tax renewal period is covered by insurance, they do not need to know whether you have purchased extra duration.

Did u read my post anot

Thought you joking... :(

Yes, if this continues, car owners will have to buy 1year + 1 day.

For road tax, you have the option to renew 6 months or 1 year.

I have colleagues who renewed back in May, nil issue.. with same old 1 year insurance policy.

What's your period of coverage?

Sept to Feb?

Don't tell me your road tax start 1 Mar, but your insurance coverage was from 1 Mar 2019 - 28 Feb 2020? Then 29 Feb 2020 not covered liao lor....

Edited by Sx4falcon

What's your period of coverage?

Sept to Feb?

Insurance bought earlier, 26 Feb 2019 ~ 25 Feb 2020

Road tax to renew, 26 Aug 2019 ~ 25 Feb 2020

In order to renew road tax, my insurance now have to cover 26 Feb 2019 ~ 26 Feb 2020

Don't tell me your road tax start 1 Mar, but your insurance coverage was from 1 Mar 2019 - 28 Feb 2020? Then 29 Feb 2020 not covered liao lor....

haha...  so unfortunate..

In order to renew road tax, my insurance now have to cover 26 Feb 2019 ~ 26 Feb 2020

Nothing wrong leh. Road tax renew to 25 Feb 2020, Insurance coverage is sufficient as it only need to cover till 25 Feb 2020. Why say short of 1 day coverage leh?

Why not give a call to your insurer to check it out? Could it be the case that the insurer entered the wrong date into LTA system, thus resulting in the 1 day shortage in coverage?

E.g. cover letter of insurance stated 26 Feb 2019 - 25 Feb 2020, but LTA records provided by insurer shows coverage till 24 Feb 2020?

Nothing to do with leap year, as insurer will always cover full 1 year, regardless of date the insurance starts.

haha... so unfortunate..

Then it's not leap year. Need to call up LTA to ask why.

When is your car registered? Is it in-line with your insurance?

Your insurance is bought till 25 Feb 2020. But is your car registered on 26 Feb or 26 Aug?