Parallel Importers: Recommended ones/ones to avoid

Linusloh

Don't worry too much. Just go for those PI companies that is established in this market, don't get attracted by those low price advertisements.

This needs to be taken with a pinch of salt.

Haha, they nv pay me to do advertisement leh. This one you have to find out yourself liao. One the criteria that I look for is they have to be in this industry for more than 10 years.

I bought my car from a purple theme shop at AML level 1, I think my hint is clear enough liao.

My PI from hell has been around for more than 10years!!! Still hellish... and they texted me close to 5pm yesterday saying if I did not deliver the car back to them before 6pm, they would charge me xxxx sum.

I think you got fooled by them.

They founded on 2008 after I done a check on arca website, which is only 9 years.

With their current business scale, can see that they are much smaller compared with other PIs & more interested in selling old cars rather than new cars.

Edited by Sugimoto

Don't worry too much. Just go for those PI companies that is established in this market, don't get attracted by those low price advertisements.

Is having own WS means more established?

No, having own workshop doesn't mean they are established. It can only mean....

1) They are serious about aftersales service, warranty defects or recalls can handle by themselves rather than 3rd party workshop.

2) They feel that the profit from selling you the car is not enough, they want to milk you more through the workshop.

Most important is the deal have to be reasonable, if you found out the dealer is too sneaky or unbelievable good, walk away.  

Beware: there are PIs who claim they have their "own" workshop, when it's nothing more than a community workshop that's shared by many many other PI setups that are nothing but shop fronts!

These PIs pay a fixed pittance fee to the workshop, to cover each car they sell, over the so-called "warranty period".

Go guess the level of support you'd get ... it's more like them stressing only on the exclusion clauses in the contract that indemnifies them from having to perform warranty replacements!

Beware: there are PIs who claim they have their "own" workshop, when it's nothing more than a community workshop that's shared by many many other PI setups that are nothing but shop fronts!

These PIs pay a fixed pittance fee to the workshop, to cover each car they sell, over the so-called "warranty period".

Go guess the level of support you'd get ... it's more like them stressing only on the exclusion clauses in the contract that indemnifies them from having to perform warranty replacements!

hearsay, PI pay as low as $1k to $3k got their car covered by so called "our specialist workshop" liao

be worry ... be very worry

until you see 1 day ... the PI has a workshop that service all their cars ... every single car that sold by them ... ie own workshop

like that they are macam semi AD liao ... PI is a PI they never want to work on AD model

their business model is to earn commissions and outright car import and profit margin

they never wish to run the after sales service ... so even a PI claim they have their own workshop ... 99% is outsourced la and the outsource model is direct transferred to ah beng ah seng workshop and shit happen ... jit thong jiang

having said that ... anyone wish to buy from PI still can go ahead ... make sure save upfront and fck the warranty

just like buying the most expensive iPhone export set or PI set from ah beng stall dont know get from where ... fck the warranty and "pray" all good for several years and even breakdown ... $2k-$3k can fix liao

with cevs rebate of 15k to 30k free money the PIs are making huge margins selling hybrid cars atm... When next year comes no more high rebates i think many will be squeezed out of the competition or run road

Kindly share how cev rebate works

From PIs, not ADs.

I believe they only deal with the big PIs.

Got one ongoing lawsuit between uber and Surita (holding company for one PI called SPL). LOL.

Like that SPL should consider big PI but it's price relatively cheaper, don know risky or not .,,

Anyone ? Any experience?

glad to hear you had a positive experience with MyCar. few were skeptical when i told about my 5-day from 1st payment to collection. i gained nothing from MyCar or Boss Tan when I shared my experience with them, just plain honest experience.

Sounds good, will check it out, I looking for Freed...

Relatively young coy?

How about WS?

Haha, they nv pay me to do advertisement leh. This one you have to find out yourself liao. One the criteria that I look for is they have to be in this industry for more than 10 years.

I bought my car from a purple theme shop at AML level 1, I think my hint is clear enough liao.

Purple shop sell Freed?

High price doesn't mean safe... TLC cars were not.cheap but TLC also.run road

Ya, but if you check TLC, they being PI for how long in this industry only?

Less than 10 years, no talk seriously. Let alone the high price.

There are always buyer fools in the market......

Like that SPL should consider big PI but it's price relatively cheaper, don know risky or not .,,

Anyone ? Any experience?

There is a discussion on SPL in General. My best car buying experience, as promised as delivered as assured. Even 12V battery is replaced FOC after 1000KM.