Aircon Repair, Cooling Coil Leak

TopGear

Hi Pisces & Kb, thanks for your replies. My car only has 1 fan to cater for both aircon and engine radiator.

Yesterday I was stuck in a shopping ctr carpark for 5-10mins and the aircon stopped working again. Once I managed to get a parking lot, I checked the fan by switching off aircon which made fan stopped spinning. Once I switch on aircon the fan starts spinning immediately but no aircon compressor 'tock' sound and aircon was still not working.

Not sure if this has any reference but I have a Scanguage that shows my water-temp and the temp never heats above 97C cos thats when the ECU tells the fan to spin when it hits 96C to cool down the engine radiator. So I guess this means that the fan is working properly?

What else could be the problem? I just spoke to a mechanic friend who does general repairs but not an aircon expert and he told me could be the dryer "stuck/jam" due to wear & tear over the yrs. Or aircon thermostat faulty causing the aircon to stop working when it heats up.

Instead of trying to 2nd guess what cud b wrong, just bring to a good honest AC mech to check for u.

I suggest Ah Huat of markcool. He very experienced.

My Kia Rio 06 Aircon not working, I top-up gas couple of time. My last top-up only last for 24 hrs.

Now really need to repair it, anyone has any idea how much it would cost?

Tech has to open the dash board?

I think your coil is leaking. By right, the gas won't escape at all, or will at least last for years. If It's really leaking, the damage might be $800 -$1200, depending on your car make. The downtime can take about 3 days due to the extensive labour work. They need to remove the entire dashboard and coil.

My Kia Rio 06 Aircon not working, I top-up gas couple of time. My last top-up only last for 24 hrs.

Now really need to repair it, anyone has any idea how much it would cost?

Tech has to open the dash board?

Go to a aircon specialist workshop and let them check. I think most likely the cooling coil is gone case and needs to be replaced. The cost varies among car models......

Not all replacement of cooling coil needs to remove the whole dashboard. It depends on the car model. If need to then a min of 2 days work is required. If no need, half a day's work would be enough to complete.

Go to a aircon specialist workshop and let them check. I think most likely the cooling coil is gone case and needs to be replaced. The cost varies among car models......

Not all replacement of cooling coil needs to remove the whole dashboard. It depends on the car model. If need to then a min of 2 days work is required. If no need, half a day's work would be enough to complete.

My verna cooling coil was diagnosed to be leaking 5 mth ago, when the aircon suddenly became not cold at all one day.

Drove the car to workshop early morning on way to work, and they said needed to remove dashboard and is big job... By mid afternoon called me to say changed already can collect.

Damage was $500, + GST... [bigcry]

My verna cooling coil was diagnosed to be leaking 5 mth ago, when the aircon suddenly became not cold at all one day.

Drove the car to workshop early morning on way to work, and they said needed to remove dashboard and is big job... By mid afternoon called me to say changed already can collect.

Damage was $500, + GST... [bigcry]

Oh....can remove whole dashboard, replace coil, and put back in half a day ??? Maybe they have many manpower to do the job faster...

So your aircon all OK now?

Oh....can remove whole dashboard, replace coil, and put back in half a day ??? Maybe they have many manpower to do the job faster...

So your aircon all OK now?

touch wood, so far ok... si bey cold after the replacement. It also got rid of some sourish smell that will stay for a few sec every time i start engine and on aircon... For that prob, tried many ways to get rid of it before, but couldn't. So finally replacing the leaking cooling coil made the damage less painful by taking the smelly problem away too...

They specialise in auto air-con, so i guess they focus all manpower on each vehicle, and do vehicle by vehicle lor... (just my guess).

I think they did indeed remove my dashboard, as i had some cards and other things in one compartment in the dash, and they were all on one chair when I collected the car. (but of course that could also be just there to try to fool me lah - i just take it in good faith lor...)

To update fellow MCFers on "L & Kim Auto Air-conditioning" price:

Top-up gas : $20 (Very reasonable price. Good and efficient service).

To replace leaking cooling coil (for Toyota) : about $450. Half day's work required.

Hi all,

First of all, apologies for hijacking this thread.

For the past week, while stationery, my car air-con blew hot air, only blowing cold air after moving off. Was planning to head over to a workshop this weekend (was super occupied for the past wkend) for the mechanic to take a look at what was wrong,

However while driving today, i noticed white smoke coming out of my car bonnet and a hissing sound (goes eeeee) while stationery, only disappearing after moving off, suspecting that it could be the air con. i switched off the air con and the white smoke disappear however the hissing sound still persist while stationery. Even after i park my car, the hissing sound would persist for a short while before stopping.

Any idea what wrong with my car as i may have to drop by a nearby workshop for repairs, so that i dun get chop by the workshop, as i dun feel comfortable driving it across Singapore to my usual workshop.

I work nearby ubi, so was planning to go autobacs to cdg for repairs, Any bros can recommend another workshop nearby for 3rd opinion?

Thank you very much in advance.

Hi all,

For the past week, while stationery, my car air-con blew hot air, only blowing cold air after moving off. Was planning to head over to a workshop this weekend (was super occupied for the past wkend) for the mechanic to take a look at what was wrong,

However while driving today, i noticed white smoke coming out of my car bonnet and a hissing sound (goes eeeee) while stationery, only disappearing after moving off, suspecting that it could be the air con. i switched off the air con and the white smoke disappear however the hissing sound still persist while stationery. Even after i park my car, the hissing sound would persist for a short while before stopping.

Any idea what wrong with my car as i may have to drop by a nearby workshop for repairs, so that i dun get chop by the workshop, as i dun feel comfortable driving it across Singapore to my usual workshop.

I work nearby ubi, so was planning to go autobacs to cdg for repairs, Any bros can recommend another workshop nearby for 3rd opinion?

Hi all,

Should be compressor problem. Go to Tomika or Kim Aircon to check, they are both at Ubi.

Hi Bro Fcw75,

Any aircon specialist locate in Jurong?

Thanks.

thanks so much bro for your recommendation, went to one of mine first intended workshop, was shocked by the quotation of around 1.5k and half a day. Took your recommendation and found tomika, settle for less then 20% of the original quote and a 15 mins work.. turn out the fan was not working.. i also wanna to check if the gas was an issue anot, but was told by Mr. Lee, that it is not, saving me some monies. [thumbsup]

so far so good, no issue after driving back to the west. [thumbsup]

thanks so much bro for your recommendation, went to one of mine first intended workshop, was shocked by the quotation of around 1.5k and half a day. Took your recommendation and found tomika, settle for less then 20% of the original quote and a 15 mins work.. turn out the fan was not working.. i also wanna to check if the gas was an issue anot, but was told by Mr. Lee, that it is not, saving me some monies. [thumbsup]

That's good. [thumbsup]

But how come the fan not working will affect the aircon blowing hot or cold air leh ??

That's good. [thumbsup]

But how come the fan not working will affect the aircon blowing hot or cold air leh ??

the engine bay is hot, thats where the hot air comes into the cabin.

Hi Bro Fcw75,

Any aircon specialist locate in Jurong?

Thanks.

Hi Bro LPK00,

You can try Technic AutoCare. Located at Jurong West area.

Pioneer Point #06-14