Anyone driven to Malacca before ?

Lufu

Was thinking of driving there, but not too sure of the route and which hotel to stay? Any recommendation ?

tks

Route? NS highway the fastest...

the old road is slow but no toll and can get to see more stuffs...

Stay? Heard that the Equatorial is good

It depend on individual lah, if u wan it fast... then take the NS highway but prepare some note for 'coffee'...

If can, try to bring 2 wallets, one with all the cash and the other with only 20-30 bucks... then if u kana stop for speeding and was asked for coffee money, just show the 2nd wallet and tell the polis that u don have cash then say 30 can or not... the polis will 99.5% accept... then u say... 'but i give u 30 then no more money for petrol leh.... i give u 20 lah, 10 bucks for my petrol ok?'.. the polis will take it one hahaha....

But the old road is more fun, got more stuffs to see as in the country side then can stop for coffee and durians, etc... But the driving more tiring cos alot of bend and the road is narrow... if u not familiar with the malaysia style of driving then use the NS better...

"not too sure of the route"

Hi! there, Lufu,

Easiest route is by the NS highway, turn off to Ayer Keroh. If you like a slow drive, go by the old trunk road to Pontian, Batu Pahat, Muar, then Malacca.

There're quite a few nice hotels/motels, so it's not a problem getting accomodation. There're also resort style hotels along the beach.

Get the latest map of Malacca at the petrol stations along the way, when you reach Ayer Keroh.

Take a look here:

http://www.jkr.gov.my/RoadMap/index.htm#

http://www.malacca.ws/

http://www.malacca.net/

Rgds

Paul Yong

"NS HWY and follow the signs, cannot go wrong"

Hi! there, S2P2,

There's no sign to Malacca at the turn off to Ayer Keroh.

Rgds

Paul Yong

haha u sound like an expert in bargaining the $$ with My TP ler [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

my [gorgeous] is studying in melacca, so sometimes i'll drive up to see her using old rd coz no $$ [bigcry][bigcry]

average 4 hrs to reach there with my old beetle [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

if not much car (at night) then maybe 3.5 h [shakehead][shakehead]

damn slow coz u can always find those kampung cars hogging the rd at 30-50 km/h [furious] and worst is lorries... [thumbsdown]

i did that before but didn't take down the timing.

in my first year uni long vacation, we had a driving trip starting from jb then all the way up to thailand(never cross though coz didn't bring passport [:/] ) through west coarse and all the way back down to jb through east coase, but of coz with stop and rest in between (it's a 9 days trip)

we went through all the stages in West My and all was done in my '74 beetle [thumbsup]

yeap yeap. all the way straight down NS HWY. i took about 5 hours the last time because many r&r along the way fr the older folks. heard some people done it in 4 hours [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

the last time i stayed in hotel makota. it looks very much like a hotel converted fm a condo. one thing good is it provides apartments. so if you go with your family, one apartment can liao. mine was a 3 room apartment with kitchen (but cannot cook).

Edited by Smiley

Was thinking of driving there, but not too sure of the route and which hotel to stay? Any recommendation ?

tks

NS highway, exit from Ayer Keroh. Followed road sign showing Malacca Hospital, then look for sign to show Baybiew, Renancciance (maybe wrong spelling) Hotel and you will reach the townnod.gif. I have stay in Bayview (cheap and good)thumbsup.gif, Renancciance (expensive)frown.gif Century Mahkota (reasonable price and stanard)smile.gif and Equatorial hotel (good though not cheap)thumbsup.gif. Book the hotel thru Asia Budget hotel or Asiahotel website, both provide reasonable rate and conveniencethumbsup.gif.

It depend on individual lah, if u wan it fast... then take the NS highway but prepare some note for 'coffee'...

If can, try to bring 2 wallets, one with all the cash and the other with only 20-30 bucks... then if u kana stop for speeding and was asked for coffee money, just show the 2nd wallet and tell the polis that u don have cash then say 30 can or not... the polis will 99.5% accept... then u say... 'but i give u 30 then no more money for petrol leh.... i give u 20 lah, 10 bucks for my petrol ok?'.. the polis will take it one hahaha....

But the old road is more fun, got more stuffs to see as in the country side then can stop for coffee and durians, etc... But the driving more tiring cos alot of bend and the road is narrow... if u not familiar with the malaysia style of driving then use the NS better...

wah, you like an old bird.