Don't know what to get for Rims & Tyre

Tok_Kong

Hi All,

I will be getting my Sunny soon. I does not come with sports rim. I would like to change it to sport Rim & Quiet tyre. I am new to Rims & Tyres. Any recommendations? I have a tight buget of $500. Does you guys think I can get a 14" Rim and tyre with that amount? I will trade in the stock tyres.

Cheers

↡ Advertisement

Try to get Taiwanese rims for ur budget, avoid the Malaysian JRD or BSA rims, they have poor build quality.

Some quiet tires are:

- Yokohama Aspec dB

- Bridgestone Turanza

- Continental EcoConti CP

Neutral Newbie

Actually for your 500 budget including tyres & rims, the choice can be a bit limited.

I think you can skip those reputable tyres liek Aspec Db or Falken ST115 as these cost at least 8o bucks for a 14 inch each... leaving you too little for the rims.

Suggest instead you keep the stock tyre and get a 14 inch rim with the 500 bucks you have. Taiwanese rims cost below that for 14 inches - which means you have spare cash from your budget.

If changing tyres is a MUST, then with the limited money, go to JB and try checking out the SIMEX tyres... heard to be damn good and yes, cheap.

Neutral Newbie

Hi Tok_Kong

The last time I went to Autobacs for my regular car servicing, I changed my 4 tyres for about $240 ( Japanese Dunlop -185/65/14). The salesperson was trying to pursuade me to change my sport rim together as well for a total of $540(for a set of 4 tyres and sport rims together don't know what rim though).

You may want to try and find out from them.

I suggest you go to places where there is a higher turn over of tyres replacement rather than those smaller shops where you find piles of tyres stocking up even though they are new. Because all tyres have recommended life span and you certainly don't want to get one which have been left lying unsold for more than two years.

Hi Guys,