Need advise on scrapping my car

Paladin

Planning to scrap my car sometime this week.

Need some advises on how to go about doing it? Should I call up those dealers to help me settle or I arrange myself?

How much does those dealer charge? Some of my friends told me that the chassis can also fetch some cash right?

Anyone can share? Thanks in advance. [nod]

i think this 3% comes in if he selling the parf paper to dealer. but if using the parf to buy new car, can use full amt.

errrmm....maybe i'm wrong. pai seh..... [sweatdrop]

Edited by Ah_veo

i heard if scrap only maybe $50-$80 max for the metal. but if export, can get a couple hundred for the body. but all depends on ur model,age of car,milege,accessories,dents/deep scratch,auto/manual,colour,etc.

check with dealers...the market rate should be 3% of the parf paper...nod.gif

Thanks for the advise..

3%? Ok... but can I remove my rims and other accessories like my stereo system before I pass the car to the dealer?

i think this 3% comes in if he selling the parf paper to dealer. but if using the parf to buy new car, can use full amt.

errrmm....maybe i'm wrong. pai seh..... [sweatdrop]

I think u are right. [nod]

i heard if scrap only maybe $50-$80 max for the metal. but if export, can get a couple hundred for the body. but all depends on ur model,age of car,milege,accessories,dents/deep scratch,auto/manual,colour,etc.

Mine is already a 8 year old car liao.. so guess I can't fetch much from the chassis.. [:|]

why not try to sell away? even at paper + $500 oso shiok mah. [thumbsup]

btw, what model?

96'Lancer 1.6 GLXi...

u think still got market? Paper value around $24k

still got 2 years left, I think you can still ask for a little more....nod.gif

Ok... maybe I'll try to call up some 2nd hand dealers first early in the morning before I decide whether to scrap or sell... [nod]

Thanks !

parf 14k? auto? milege? repairs? owners?

coz if can sell, better....take back more. [thumbsup]

Edited by Ah_veo

parf 14k? auto? milege? repairs? owners?

coz if can sell, better....take back more. [thumbsup]

Ya.. parf is 14k.. COE 41k... [sweatdrop]

Bro, i'd say scrap it. Best if you're trading in for new car. That's because the PARF paper can be used to register new car. If not, there will be a deduction from the scrap value by the dealer.

No point selling it cause your paper value would be so high, no one will buy your car at $6,000+ depreciation! If sell below paper... Might as well scrap right?

Hope i helped. By the way, i used to be used car dealer, so i won't be wrong about these points.

eddie