Engine Mounting

Sucker

Lidat.... mine already vibrate on year #1 (10K km) when I changed to stiffer and lower springs???

Cannot be right?

Think it also depnds on the type of mounts. If those very hard types (group N or something)...... got very bad vibration I heard.

If 1 or both of these vibrates, yr mounts r starting to wear out.

5 years is about the average life of the mountings.

=============

U different lah. Always go MY & whack till redline. [laugh]

Super hard mounts of polyetehelyne or something is for racing. Like no mounts at all. More like metal to metal contact.

But seriously. All the cars I drove, the mounts started to wear after about 4-5 years. I try to change at 5th year so by time its 10th year, just scrap. No need to change a 2nd time.

As long as the vibes dont get too uncomfortable, just tahan abit lah. Anyway its only noticible when car is stopped at lights of waiting for someone.

Usually workshops would sell it as a package inclusive of labour charges.

=============

I usually buy mounts myself & get my mech to fix only.

My style is parts I prefer to get myself so I know what is being put into my car.

Leave it to the WS & most times they wil source the cheapest & lowest quality parts to maximise their profits.

Now with so many parts being made in China or MY even, the quality is very low.

I tried those Thai parts. Still not too bad & only slightly cheaper than Jap parts.

Thrashing does not mean speeding or cheonging...

I am a safe driver. Keep to road speed limit.

Road trip, for convoy, please don't let me be the 1st driver. You sure regret cos I am a brakester.....Don't believe? Ask Ah Sam....He was behind me before....After that, I kena smoked by him.... [sweatdrop]

================

Hahaha. OK so like that U go half hour b4 us. We catch up with u just b4 we reach the destination.

Ah Sam is cheongster. Last time he drive a old 1 lit Swift also can speed with wife & 2 kids inside. Dunno where he get the power from? [laugh] Hway I do 160kmh also he can keep up. :blink:

Now he drive Evo, sure wil smoke all of us. [laugh]

Bro, before u say i mislead this forum. Please go to check out the mazda 2 sp engine mountings on the driver's side.

Do u know anything about the ride that i am driving?

i saw and witnessed not once, not twice but thrice...

two times on my ride and 1 time on my fren's ride...

How much are u going to bet with me that my ride engine mounting at driver side does contains oil?

Are you game enough to to test it out with me?

buy a new engine mounting for my ride, at driver side.

we cut the rubber,

if it leaks, u pay for the mounting,

if it does not leak (meaning does not contain oil), i pay for the mounting..

swee boh..?

COnsider carefully before u say that what i said is misleading...

it will definately be good if you could check lst...check carefully before u say i mislead pple...

=================

That most likely is hydraulic mounts.

From what he has posted, I think he dont even drive a car.

best to buy OEM then ask ws to change for u...

its cheaper

got one guy driving a mz3sp..

got 3 of the oem mountings brand new at fong yat at approx 285$

then asked ws to change at 80$

still alot cheaper than the 460$ that i am paying...

=================

Thats what I usually do.

Some pple go agent sure kenna [knife]

Currently no such problems... Hope it will never come out hahaha... Lets see how my kimchi will standup to the test of time.

===============

All cars wil encounter it sooner or later. Then u need to change the mounts.

Kimchi cars r very good quality now. Can say sometimes certain things r even better than those Jap but Thai assembled cars.

My car is Kimchi but assembled in Thai but still at 4 years old is in very decent condition. I hope it lasts as well as my previous Corona CD. [thumbsup]

If it gives good performance & is trouble-free, I might consider to extend the COE when the time comes. [nod]

Edited by Pisces69

sorry for the explosive reaction. I was quite pissed off when i saw his comments.

As i have personally witnessed oil stains at the old mounts, oil stains in the engine bay and at my fren's engine bay, which is why i am very confident it contains oil.

my ride OEM is hydraulic type ? now then i know..

but i stick to the same type...

anyway, for my ride, i already changed once at 40k km, another one at 130k km...

if next change coming, should be changing car time, if i can make it..

haha

sorry for the explosive reaction. I was quite pissed off when i saw his comments.

As i have personally witnessed oil stains at the old mounts, oil stains in the engine bay and at my fren's engine bay, which is why i am very confident it contains oil.

my ride OEM is hydraulic type ? now then i know..

but i stick to the same type...

anyway, for my ride, i already changed once at 40k km, another one at 130k km...

if next change coming, should be changing car time, if i can make it..

haha

=============

Wah your mounts seem to wear very fast.

Mine already 80K km & still no vibs. I hope it lasts at least till 5 years(1 more year) then I change.

my car is very high mileage

lst year 45k km

2nd year, 100k km

now 3years, 5 months, already hit 145k km liao

very jia liat one lah

i utilised my ride fully...

got a lot of places to run

lst year 45k km

2nd year, 100k km

very jia liat one lah

===============

Yah I know.

So yours is yellow top, comfort or SMRT? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

But seriously, Mounts normally last till abt 100K km(5years) till its time to change. Yours only half that time. [sweatdrop]

================

Hahaha. OK so like that U go half hour b4 us. We catch up with u just b4 we reach the destination.

Ah Sam is cheongster. Last time he drive a old 1 lit Swift also can speed with wife & 2 kids inside. Dunno where he get the power from? [laugh] Hway I do 160kmh also he can keep up. :blink:

Now he drive Evo, sure wil smoke all of us. [laugh]

That is him lah....You dunno he lup a lot of things below his bonnet.... [lipsrsealed][hur][:p]

lst year 45k km

2nd year, 100k km

very jia liat one lah

You really and fully utilized your car. Must be doing outdoor work or sales.

That is him lah....You dunno he lup a lot of things below his bonnet.... [lipsrsealed][hur][:p]

==============

Yah. He lup so many things.

I think I even saw a Lup chong in there. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Mine's just past 6 years and at 170K km......

You think can go the distance w/o having to change the mounts? The slight vibration has been with me ever since i changed the springs at 10K kms..... no better nor worse.

Mine's just past 6 years and at 170K km......

You think can go the distance w/o having to change the mounts? The slight vibration has been with me ever since i changed the springs at 10K kms..... no better nor worse.

=================

Wah 170k KM & still no need to change? Yours must b super good stuff.

If the vibs r not getting worse & u can live with it, just use lah, as long as its not too bad.

Maybe the vibs u feel is due to the change of springs & has nothing to do with your mounts?

yah...outdoor sales..

always chiong around lah

now died down quite alot..but sometimes no choice one lah

my ride lok lok liao lol

changed shocks at 100k km, tyres 3 times liao...

anyway, i like my ride alot...

plus its at this moment of time, still affordable...

yah...outdoor sales..

always chiong around lah

now died down quite alot..but sometimes no choice one lah

my ride lok lok liao lol

changed shocks at 100k km, tyres 3 times liao...

anyway, i like my ride alot...

plus its at this moment of time, still affordable...

This is called good utilization of resources....since you are paying so much for your car....Use until gao gao.... [laugh]