Wheel Arch SoundProof?

Zsr19

juz curious how to soundproof wheel arches? Can it be done by DIY?

is the SP material paste juz above the wheels?

pretty complex work.

for me, find my friendly neighborhood workshop, jack up the car. remove the front wheels.

remove the weathershield, n u will sell all the bare metal behind. start sizing out the bitumen and pasting. during pasting, i found that the inside metal were pretty thin; acoustically thin. theory is sound travel in straight line, sound can b reduced by thinness. so i added another layer, and another and another.... cos each time, i will slap the surface to hear if the hollowness is still there. until i get a more solid response.

acthung: make sure u dun cover over the holes for the fixing bolts of the weathershield!

before covering back. replace wheel.

afternote 1: after driving around for a while. not happy that after 6 layers, noise still there. used those rubberized spray can and spray onto the weathershield, whilst protecting the outside paint. sounds better.

afternote 2: sounds better detoriate after a while. not satisfied. so drove to MSCP, turn wheel,remove part of weathershield, + paste insulflex into the arch. ok, slight improvement. but too much foam cause the weathershield to depress into the hub. sometimes turn corner will buay the tyre.

wa....so complex...thks for the details

better ask for professional help...

any workshop recommended that is good in doing wheel arch sound proof?

thks

I wonder why bitumen is used?

Maybe could have better sound proofing if go for those audio shops that sell dense sound proofing material?

Or maybe is it possible to pump foam into the empty space?

cost it is the spares tat i hv left over fr doing the doors.

it is NOT possible to pump foam cos there is the side signal and the suspension.

pretty complex work.

for me, find my friendly neighborhood workshop, jack up the car. remove the front wheels.

remove the weathershield, n u will sell all the bare metal behind. start sizing out the bitumen and pasting. during pasting, i found that the inside metal were pretty thin; acoustically thin. theory is sound travel in straight line, sound can b reduced by thinness. so i added another layer, and another and another.... cos each time, i will slap the surface to hear if the hollowness is still there. until i get a more solid response.

acthung: make sure u dun cover over the holes for the fixing bolts of the weathershield!

before covering back. replace wheel.

afternote 1: after driving around for a while. not happy that after 6 layers, noise still there. used those rubberized spray can and spray onto the weathershield, whilst protecting the outside paint. sounds better.

afternote 2: sounds better detoriate after a while. not satisfied. so drove to MSCP, turn wheel,remove part of weathershield, + paste insulflex into the arch. ok, slight improvement. but too much foam cause the weathershield to depress into the hub. sometimes turn corner will buay the tyre.

Why u dont want to paste on the inside. Why u paste on the outside? Which method is better? How many piece of bitumen is needed? How much u spend?

1st, cabin problem... plenty of things in the way, including the fusebox. bitumen 1 used 1/2 roll, the other 1/2 i sold off. but for wheel arch, i think it is less then 1/2 of the 1/2 roll, say abt 4m2. each 2m2 on each wheel arch.

the workshop, i got it jack up for just 1 cup of kopi, the bitumen say $50?, the tools free to use.. so say $60 plus some bandaids for cut fingers and 1 bottle of min water.

it hell of a work i wun wanna repeat for sure.

they may do it, i wun know. y not u diy just for the fun of it. just make sure u do a complet job lor. i can ask the workshop to let u use one of the jacks on sat for a small fee and u DIY up the car lor.

ohh... me old man liao... and lazy... with clumsy fingers and hands; prefer to leave it to the hands of professional..:)

just curious... which of the following will reap best results in terms of eliminating noise from outside (esp. exhaust noises)?

1. Floorplan with accumat (or butyl based products?)

2. doors with accumat?

what about those foam based materials - e.g. aerofoam?

thanxx..

floorpan - do urself a favor and try to prise open the side trimming to check what's below the carpet. if u hv an underlayer below the carpet.. it's good enuff soundproof. an underlayer is a thick carpet like material, which has some rubber material in between, tat soaks up noise (sound pressure)

doors - yes u will definitely need them. for me it is solid rubber sheet. so far, no dent after doing it.

but eventually u will head for the wheel arch, when u get addicted. regardless of how fantastic the tyre is acclaimed for being quiet.

so a bit of jedi mind trick for u. ignore the noise. eventually, whatever is louder will cut out the others. noise has this habit of growing on pple. the more u pick on it, the louder it grows. but if u choose to ignore it, it will not b irritant to u.

This is just the beginning part of my soundproof project.

Road noise shifted from front to floor and rear.

Road noise from front is muffled as compare to before, that's why can hear road noise from floor and even rear wheel!!! which I cannot hear before !!!

So I have to say there is improvement.

Dun expect a Lexus ride though.

I'm in no hurry to do the whole car. Maybe 4 Saturdays to do all. May add 40kg to the car.

Some say I'm crazy but I dun care [:)]