Chucky88 Neutral Newbie April 19, 2006 Share April 19, 2006 No, Sunny does not fit the place of Sylphy comparing to Altis as Sunny only available at 1.6 litre whereas Sylphy available model are 1.5 litre and 2.0 litre just like the Altis comes with 1.6 litre and 1.8 litre. Shape wise similar to its bigger brother Camry just like Sylphy similar to its bigger brother Cefiro. Hope you get what I mean. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear April 19, 2006 Share April 19, 2006 well..wad u said make sense oso lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saabest 2nd Gear April 25, 2006 Share April 25, 2006 although our poll shows only 16% in favour of Sylphy, I believe this should improve to 25% when word spreads around Sylphy is value for money with its features but albeit with less power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Requiemdk 1st Gear April 25, 2006 Share April 25, 2006 After driving my Vios, I realized one thing. Comfort is good. Very good. If I can't get to where I want in an exciting manner, I might as well get there in the most comfortable way possible. Somebody wanna sponsor me a Maybach or Phantom? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest66 Neutral Newbie April 25, 2006 Share April 25, 2006 HARRRRR HAHAHAHAHAHAHA !... .....sniff..sniff...good one!! havent had such a good laugh for long time liow. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lackcy Neutral Newbie April 25, 2006 Share April 25, 2006 yup...guess for comfort, go for Sylphy... For a little more thrill, go for CIVIC.... agreed different car have different appeal for different people not everyone like the design of the civic nor the sylphy. it all boils down to taste and requirement. so both cars win www.cylack.com Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear April 25, 2006 Share April 25, 2006 yeah man...btw the 1.5l issit out for sale already???.. cos so far on the rd i onli saw 2.0l ones... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knight 1st Gear April 25, 2006 Share April 25, 2006 CIVIC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clement 2nd Gear April 26, 2006 Share April 26, 2006 Yes, the 1.5L version is on sale now. But I have'nt seen any Sylphys (1.5L or 2.0L) on the roads! The only way to tell for sure is to take a look at the rear of the car. The 1.5L Sylphy has a blank top right section. The 2.0L Sylphy has the lettering "2.0 XV" on the top right section. Also the 1.5L has a locally fitted 15 inch alloy wheels (5 spoke?). The 2.0L has factory fitted original Nissan 16 inch alloy wheels (7 spokes?). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clement 2nd Gear April 26, 2006 Share April 26, 2006 although our poll shows only 16% in favour of Sylphy, I believe this should improve to 25% when word spreads around Sylphy is value for money with its features but albeit with less power. Agreed. I don't think the lower BHP power output would be a limiting factor in the Sylphy as it was designed to be more of a mid-sized family/junior executive car. I find the 2.0L version has more than adequate power for the roads in S'pore. It should also have sufficient power for driving in Malaysia. The speed limit in S'pore is only 90 km/h and on NS h'way in M'sia is 110km/h. This already puts a severe limit on how fast one can drive. (legally lah!) BTW, the 0-100 km/h for the 2.0L Sylphy model is 10.7 sec which is comparable to that for the Nisan Cefiro 230JM V6 and Saab 9-3 2.0t cars. The 1.5L Sylphy is a bit underpowered with a timing of 14.0 sec as it is using the same engine from the Latio Sedan/Latio Sport. The Civic 2.0 Si (Auto) is definitely quicker with a time of 9.2 sec. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nav14 6th Gear April 26, 2006 Share April 26, 2006 although our poll shows only 16% in favour of Sylphy, I believe this should improve to 25% when word spreads around Sylphy is value for money with its features but albeit with less power. Most of the forumers here are below 40 and thus you have a large percentage favouring the Civic which is more attractive to these group of people with its sporty engine. Majority of those above 40 who are inclined more towards comfort and luxury will most probably go for the Sylphy. So the results are really not reflective of the which car is more favoured. I doubt in reality you will have 16 Sylphy's sold as against 84 civics. It will be more like 40 : 60 in Civic's favour Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear April 26, 2006 Share April 26, 2006 hmmmm i see...oh god hw cum u haven seen them on the road yet?...me seen them quite few times le... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The01 Neutral Newbie April 27, 2006 Share April 27, 2006 Me also very surprise that the New Civic has such a good response (orders recd without testing the car) even before it was launched. When it finally arrived at our shore, I went to KM hoping to get a test drive and was being told by the SE that the 'Q' was very long and I've to go back another day. After test-drove the 2.0L Si, SE told me then that there wasn't any stock available and have to wait till late July or early Aug. Whereas for the Sylphy, the test drive was available immediately on launch-date - maybe TCB SE was more efficient... My frank opinion of the sylphy (2.0L) : The drive is OK but lack the responsiveness of its competitors like the Civic FD or Subaru R (around $80k range). Very spacious and lot of 'gadgets'. Look-wise (subjective), it doesn't get my vote. I really can't see how the sylphy can match the speed of the Saab 9-3 2.0t and the 'quiet-drive' of that of the Lexus or that of its big brother! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear April 27, 2006 Share April 27, 2006 I dun think there is anything sporty about the new Civic engine. The iVTEC is just SOHc or DOHC mode, unlike the previous VTEC engine where it is low cam or high cam. The iVTEC engine of today is nuttin but a fuel saver, not including the 3 Stage VTEC engines of the R. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robin 4th Gear April 27, 2006 Share April 27, 2006 saw the papers today, they were talking about how it has turned from an ugly duckling to a swan. which do you prefer... for me, i'd like the sylphy more but, i still have doubts on its FC. heard the FC for Sylphy is lower than usual. the honda civic is always a great car, but, i think its too low.. i saw the specs (engine etc) for the sylphy ... not so good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nav14 6th Gear April 27, 2006 Share April 27, 2006 Sporty in the sense that the Civic is more responsive and has faster acceleration than Sylphy. Anyway other than these, I do not think the Civic is superior than Sylphy in all other areas. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_z 1st Gear April 27, 2006 Share April 27, 2006 I think Civic have better FC and HP than Sylphy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear April 28, 2006 Share April 28, 2006 hmmm...gd analysis... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...