30,000Km servicing. Very cheap!

Treesmaker

Hi, I want to share my experiences with my AVEO'S 30,000km servicing.

I paid $10/- to the mechanic at Caltex petrol station in Upper Thomson Road, next to the Shell and Esso Stations. I bought my own oil (some Arab brand, 5w-40)from Song Yi and I got a free oil filter for $55/- . I also brought my own air filter. I bought Japanese Nissan spark plugs from a spare part shop in Upper Weld Road.

I needed to change my brake fluid as stated in the owners manual. He drained my brake fuild for $38/- using his own DOT 4. In all, I paid $48/- and I got 10 manual car wash vouchers for free. I only waited no more than 40 minutes!.

Edited by Treesmaker

did my 40,000km today oso.....at Taman Sentosa,JB.

brought my own engine oil,oil filter,air filter,spark plug,air-con filter(from SongYi)

use their ATF (Mobil 220,3Ltre @ 36 ringgit)

use their Coolent(8 rgt)

use their labour(15 rgt)

total: $59 ringgit.

then go tyre shop, service rear drum brakes....+ change front brake pad(original from Korea) + top up brake fluid + tyre rotation.

total: 115 ringgit (think i kena ketok liao...) [dizzy]

then go jalan jalan....eat....pump petrol....buy ciggies.....buy chewing gums....wash car.....balek. [:p]

Edited by Ah_veo

u purposely pick on me hor.... [:|]

i'm not comparing, juz sharing info here. [nod]

i took the risk go jb mah....shd give me some incentives wha.....

anyway,intend to change timing belt in jb oso during my 60k svcing.(est sometimes early 2007) will jio some kakis here along. [:)][;)]

buy original parts from here, then pay for labour over there. [rolleyes]

I bought my own oil (some Arab brand, 5w-40)from Song Yi and I got a free oil filter for $55/- .

Can know off another $15 if buy the following :

Oil : cxxxxxe = $29.90 ( Giant was selling $26.90 last week )

Oil Filter = $6-8

Was it the one recommended by SongYi? Is the mech some friendly guy called Gary?

Went for my major servicing, changed timing belts, brake fluid, almost everything that can be changed. Was charged $150 for labour only. Parts all get from Song Yi. Good Service. Cheap too. But too far from my home to realise the savings for an oil change [laugh]

heard they quite familiar with Korean Cars, particularly Hyundai and Chevy/Daewoo.

I will be goin for my 45,000km servicing soon im driving a Chevy probably will be gettin oil filter, air filter, spark plug, air con filter on my own @ song yi btw where is song yi [laugh] what else should i buy? i will be goin back to SA for my servicing next friday......pls help thanks

I will need to undergo my 60K servicing in early 2007 too. Maybe can join you to purchase the items from Song Yi and go JB to do servicing. Can ask for group discount. [laugh]