Calling Alpine HU owners

Gadgeter

will do just tat...trade in my current one to reduce the price if possible [thumbsup][thumbsup] , damn i shouldn't listen to Gad..he is trying to convert me [smash] ....but the alpine convince me [thumbsup]

Hi Linus,

Saw that you finally installed an Alpine HU - paiseh couldn't locate a 2nd set for you [:p]

I actually only just took out my 9835 last week - but already reserved by others half a year ago liao [;)]

Hope that you are enjoying your Alpine sound [thumbsup]

no worries, dude. [thumbsup][thumbsup]

yeah. enjoying it every minute. today juz learn the media expander gives very good basey effects. [:)][:)]

Hey! The Media Expander is actually meant to restore the dynamics for music in compressed form e.g. MP3 format - not for boosting dynamics in music already in uncompressed form [shakehead] It is essentially an advanced "Loudness" setting.

For my former Alpine unit - 9835 - there were 3 settings for the Media Expander with varying effect. I found the settings overly bright for my liking in general.

Don't know how your set-up is but for a start, if you have a 4-channel amp can try running an active set-up to maximize your front component speakers' potential - world of a difference (when properly set-up) as compared to a regular passive system. [flowerface]

opps. pai seh. [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed] i thot its something like loudness, to enhance the base effects.

learn something new. [:)]

9855 only has "on" or "off" media expander. no other settings.

my setup now is 9855 HU. the rest all stock. no amp, no sub, no components, no tweeters. [;)]

my setup now is 9855 HU. the rest all stock. no amp, no sub, no components, no tweeters

invest on sub-woofer/power amp 1st lor....ur buddy frequently go-ovr PG, get him to buy woofer box ovr there...cheaper.. [;)]

If want to get more oomph ... can play with the EQ settings! [nod] rather than use the Media Expander.

But if you really like the sound then it doesn't really matter [flowerface]

List

1. Gadgeter - 9833

2. Linus - 9855

3. SuckeR- 9835

4. Taz- 9860

5. Jojon - IVA 300E

6. Tarmac - 9855

7. Ironstarz - 9853 ( still learning abt this HU [dizzy] )

8. ahhan7 - 9833

haha, pai seh lah. ask him to buy. he aldy put his efforts into detailing. [;)] maybe check location where to get. [sly] next PG session can consider.

wat budget shld i set aside for a decent sub/amp ? [:)]

yeah, got to settle down and play ard with the settings. so far meddle with the ME nia. [:p] but really, no regrets on getting this HU. [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

hope u guys know there's an alpine competition out there now. check out SPL! magazine current issue.

1. Gadgeter - 9833

2. Linus - 9855

3. SuckeR- 9835

4. Taz- 9860

5. Jojon - IVA 300E

6. Tarmac - 9855

7. Ironstarz - 9853 ( still learning abt this HU )

8. ahhan7 - 9833

9. kanikani - 9855

1. Gadgeter - 9833

2. Linus - 9855

3. SuckeR- 9835

4. Taz- 9860

5. Jojon - IVA 300E

6. Tarmac - 9855

7. Ironstarz - 9853 ( still learning abt this HU )

8. ahhan7 - 9833

9. kanikani - 9855

10. mage - 9853

Anybody know what are the numbers for me to "mimick" the preset Rock in the Custom setting? ... I like the sound, but finding the highs a bit sharp, so just replicate the rock sound with lower trebles on my 9853...