TOYOTA - More Value Year After Year - Fact or Fiction?

Vit4wd

But the Toyota ads and press releases have claimed that a Thai assembled is of the same quality as a Japan assembled one.

I don't know how people can point out faults with some Toyota cars and arrive at the conclusion that all Toyotas must have sucky reliability (even though it is a fit and finish issue). Apparently no other car makes must have such problems, and if someone does state that they did have problems, major problems even, Toyota-attackers are so damn quick to refute it by saying that since they didn't have those problems themselves, it must be isolated one-off incidents. Logic seems to have taken a freakin' holiday around here.

Did anyone ever think that since there are so many Toyota cars on the roads, there should be correspondingly that many more faults found? Or everyone just jumped on the tomyum-bashing bandwagon?

Did nobody figure out that the Corolla is meant to be a cheap car and that you get what you pay for? Or has the COE and tax structure here blinded car owners into thinking that their run-of-the-mill Jap car must be some high-end luxury liner? Even the so-called luxury cars here like the Lexus GS300 really aren't that expensive in the overall scheme of things.

Just a random side-note: I like how there are people who can push the image of Skoda as almost being the ultimate in fit-and-finish and reliability and everything while trying to make Toyota seem like the worst car maker ever. I'm sorry but the only thing the Octavia has ever succeeded in doing for me is changing my image of Toyota. I thought Toyota made really dull cars going by their designs, but my god the Octavia looks about 10 times more boring. Congratulations for having out-Toyota-ed Toyota, Skoda. You've managed to convince me that my 2 Toyotas have at least some excitement in them.

I shall now proceed to apply everyone's favourite brand of logic here to refute all your attacks on Toyota. My Vios is over 2 years old and has not a single problem whatsoever, so all those incidents and pictures which everyone has been raving about? All isolated incidents. Pfft. My Altis? 1 year running and I haven't had to send it back for anything except for routine servicing.

Although I do agree with you that Jap products are overrated and that cars aren't as well-made like before, but that's an across-the-board kind of thing. As you've noted, even the newer MBs aren't as well-made as before.

P.S. Neither am I a Toyota supporter. I don't support any brand since I find it patently stupid to do so, but if there's one Jap brand I'd put my money on, it's Nissan. I just find it extremely daft that everyone loves to rip on Toyota while championing the brand of their own car as if they were all faultless. Deep down inside I hope everyone knows better. Even the Ferraris and Lambos have problems.

Edited by Requiemdk

hi bro

By now you must have noticed that advertising is about pushing products, and dun necessarily reflect reality. That goes for ANY prorduct or solution. I kinda know, as a former creative director, and a former marketing director. I have been guilty of similar too, although I humbly would say that I have been very controlled and rational already.

bless

tashi

1st & 2nd pictures - Warped rubber on vertical strip

3rd picture - Large gap in between body and bumper

4th picture - The infamour warped rubber again - on the front wondow frame, where wing mirror is.

These problems surfaced on the 1st year, and I got so exhausted sending it back to Borneo Motors.

No doubt it is 4 yr+ now, but you are looking at a JAPAN made Toyota, 80% sheltered from rain and sun, with only 10,000km a year mileage.

Very disappointing indeed [thumbsdown]

Seems like to it is a very common compliants from most Corolla and Altis owners.

kudos...your post long time coming.

toyota accounts for more than 25% of the passenger cars on the roads here so do your math.

Performance Motors got sued for a problematic car and it wasn't for some peeling leather here or warping lubber there...

I drive an altis and my rides is under the sun & rain from Mon-Fri (7am-7pm...OPC). The car is 1 yr 3mths old. Mileage approaching 30k...yes i drive a lot even if it is an OPC...no point paying so much and not drive it?

I have no problem with my ride. If thai made toyota are crap, the toyota club would have disbanded cos everyone (or at least a significant number) would have switched rides and tell friends, neighbours colleagues to get that lancer (outdated engine), sunny (looks like a cousin of the octy)....the list can go on. But the soluna is crap (except the engine), my grandpa used to own one.

But I will admit that BM sucks BIG TIME, I was lucky to get a decent SE who always returns my call within 10mins (even for an OPC) if he does not pick up and agreed to drop the "freebie" charade and cut to the chase.

I guess I belong to the camp that does not to trade fuel consumption for "stretch marks". One swallow does does not make a summer, neither does a few.

Before I bought the car, I went to a number of car forums...they have their share of problems too. Megane has the infamous battery problem but I still think its a nice car and my friend's tourer has no issues.

Edited by Sabian

Way to go bro! [thumbsup]

Frankly, I'm quite tired of seeing pics about misaligned doors, which by the way is misaligned by a few mm only . Gosh, it's not like your colleague will say 'Hey, your front and rear door are misaligned by a few mm leh, that suxs' when they take your car out for lunch. Misaligned doors are fit and finish problem, not reliability problem.

I rather have a car which have slightly misaligned doors but it's reliable to bring me places everyday THAN a car that have perfectly aligned doors but facing reliability problems such as those posted in the other thread abt Skoda.

http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/Volkwagen_...uality_P1420280

Edited by Fcw75

I don't know how people can point out faults with some Toyota cars and arrive at the conclusion that all Toyotas must have sucky reliability (even though it is a fit and finish issue). Apparently no other car makes must have such problems, and if someone does state that they did have problems, major problems even, Toyota-attackers are so damn quick to refute it by saying that since they didn't have those problems themselves, it must be isolated one-off incidents. Logic seems to have taken a freakin' holiday around here.

I re-read this thread, but couldn't seem to locate your claim that people have arrived at the conclusion that "ALL Toyotas must have sucky reliability." Neither could I find claims from other people that "apparently no other car makes must have such problems." Did logic really take "a freakin' holiday around here" as you have so boldly stated?

Of course, it's understandable that your defensiveness stemmed from the fact that you own NOT ONE BUT TWO Toyotas, and none of them have developed any problems that have bothered you. But the same could not be said for Vit4wd, and as an owner who has paid good money for his car, he is ENTITLED to rant and share his experience with everyone else.

colleague brings a calliper out every lunch time....oohh oohh which car's gap shall we measure today...

This is a biased assumption. Where the hell did you get this information? There may be cases of breakdown after 3 yrs same as any other makes but not for the majority. I have driven 2 Hyundai work horses for the last 9 years without any problems at all. During this period, I made frequent trips to Kuantan, KL, Genting, Malacca, Bukit Tinggi Resort etc. without the slightest hint of any problems. Although I have made a switch back to Honda which also happened to be the 1st brand that I owned, I still have a deep affiliation for Hyundai.

[laugh] maybe you got a good horse.. i got my information from outside mechanics... last time been asking around for quotations... then also kpo asked about cars... most mechanics tell me to siam korean cars.... [laugh] coz most break down after a few years.... the korean technology is no doubt improving, but since some distance behind... [laugh]

see an earlier post by a brother.. The ECU broken down after 1 yr? Hello, over @ Toyota... we can warrant our cars for 5 years, additional 2 years on top of normal warranty or 140,000km whichever is earlier... ECU and most electrical and mechanical parts are covered.. [thumbsup] only pay 1.3k more... [laugh]

try korean cars to do these [laugh] aiya, the information from mechanics lah... they been servicing so many cars, to know which are good.. [laugh]

Read the thread attacking Lexus. As for this thread,

---------------------------------------------------------------

But Toyota are still recongised as a very reliable brand in the world which even merc has vowed to be as reliable as toyata in the near future.

Please allow me to correct you. It should be :

Toyota is still PERCEIVED as a very reliable brand in the world

----------------------------------------------------------------

That correction implies that Toyota's reputation as a reliable brand is only a perceived reputation and not justified. How one arrives at that conclusion based on such limited information demonstrates the excellent brand of reasoning that passes for logic in such threads.

Btw, I said I'm not a Toyota supporter. I happen to think that if one pays for a Corolla, then one had better make sure he knows he's getting a Corolla. Like I said, even a $60-$70k car here is considered a cheap car. 1) Don't buy a $70k car and complain that it's not as well-made as a $200k car, and more importantly 2) Don't compare cars made now with cars made 10 years ago. If you want to compare old cars, look at how many Starlets and G7 Corollas are still running around just fine. We've already established that cars made now are nowhere near the quality of cars made back then and that applies for ALL car manufacturers, not just Toyota.

So yes, logic has not only taken a holiday but probably long passed on.

Edited by Requiemdk

end of the day.. everyone just quit lamenting, and move on...

heee... you tell me MB now is as good as MB ten or twenty years ago.... come on, gimi a break... goods now are not made to last.. else where got so many carrots to cheat? hehe.. after a few years, change car... hehe

no offense to anyone.. i see no point in debating this... [laugh]

yoyo.. you driving a vios? how is ur vios fetching you?

mine clocking at 5.5k... still on mineral.. changing @ 10km to sythentic....

now average fc is 15.1km/l... abit not so good hor... hehe.. mine is a manual.. After changing to synthetic oil... think the FC will improve.. let it be 16-17km/l... wee wee.. i love driving manual...

[thumbsup]

Way to go bro! [thumbsup]

Frankly, I'm quite tired of seeing pics about misaligned doors, which by the way is misaligned by a few mm only . Gosh, it's not like your colleague will say 'Hey, your front and rear door are misaligned by a few mm leh, that suxs' when they take your car out for lunch. Misaligned doors are fit and finish problem, not reliability problem.

I rather have a car which have slightly misaligned doors but it's reliable to bring me places everyday THAN a car that have perfectly aligned doors but facing reliability problems such as those posted in the other thread abt Skoda.

http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/Volkwagen_...uality_P1420280

No no, these are isolated cases ..... [lipsrsealed]

Read the thread attacking Lexus.

So yes, logic has not only taken a holiday but probably long passed on.

Please leave your comments on other threads in those threads themselves.

However, you still haven't furnished any evidence to your claim that posts here have concluded that "ALL Toyotas must have sucky reliability." Ditto for your claim that others have pronounced that "apparently no other car makes must have such problems." Please point those posts out for us, for we wish to see where "logic has not only taken a holiday but probably long passed on."

OT:

15.1km/l is pretty good for running-in already... Most people get about 13-14km/l while running in. My Altis was doing 9km/l until the 10k mark, but now it's at about 12km/l (though it's hard to compare since it's always carrying full-load under city-driving conditions and the family likes 22 deg C aircon [furious] ). Mine does on the average 17km/l or thereabouts, also a manual car. Mileage at 59k already loh [laugh]

The way I see it, it's a great car to run around in, not so nice for fetching the family (very crammed at the back). My gear-stick used to be really rough, but it's a lot better now after the 40k mark. Definitely not as comfortable as the Altis though, but it's more fun to drive too. They should've made it a 2-door coupe since the rear seats aren't of much use anyway. [laugh]

My post about Vit4wd's "correction" of Toyota's reputation to that of a perceived reputation should be sufficient, unless you're assuming that Toyota doesn't make Toyota cars.

Edit: Doesn't the word "apparently" tell you that it's an impression gained from the sad fact that people post pictures of door alignment problems of Toyotas and Lexus cars, and then pictures of Skoda cars with seemingly perfect alignment? Or is my English really that difficult to comprehend? I can easily go down to the carpark a few blocks away and start snapping pics of this Cefiro owned by my friend that also has very slightly misaligned doors, and pics of my own Altis with no alignment issues. Perhaps I should do that and declare that the Cefiro's classification as a luxury sedan is unjustified. (I'm hoping that you can see the crap reasoning behind this here.)

Edited by Requiemdk