Shell Helix Ultra comparable to Redline/M1/Texas/Blue/X-Rev?

Chewy

c-----e works better than Shell Helix Ultra at least for my ride. Oil pressure on the Shell drops significantly when the oil temp goes up. For c-----e, it holds out better.

wake up lah. u think they are using the SHU from the shelf? anyway, I can also make them use my tigershark engine oil if i have a few billion to sponsor them. its all marketing young boy.

but the marketing power works....

tell that to the ferrari F1 team.

Ferrari F1 cars are definitely using a very different oil specially made for their cars. If they use regular SHU, confirm engine blow....

this is to prevent F1 competitors from buying their oil off the shelf.

[thumbsup] yup you are right...different from F1 to road

The provisional freeze on Formula One engine design this year provides a great opportunity for Shell. The products in the car will become a key differentiator for performance and we will be focusing on providing Ferrari the best Shell Helix engine lubricant to help them maintain their competitive edge. This, in turn, will lead to a greater diffusion of this knowledge into Shell Helix Ultra road oil, giving our customers access to the latest technological advancements", said Lisa Lilley, Shell Formula One Technology Manager.

"Shell Helix Ultra motor oil shares many components with its championship-winning Formula One counterpart", said Mark Wakem, Shell's Formula One lubricant specialist. "We're proud that we put our Formula One expertise and knowledge into Shell Helix Ultra road oil, giving true Formula One technology to you and your engine".

END QUOTE

But IMHO, the technology and experience transfer by Shell, or even Mobil, from F1 to road car motor oil is significant. Over the past few years at least since the regulations on engine freeze, we can now see the current line up of motor oil by these 2 company at least to be significant reliable and give a peace of mind to road users.

I am just a simple mechanical engineer in the aerospace industry and i strongly believe in technology transfer from one high end stream to the common stream and this has been going on in our industry too. So with my experience and gut feeling, i always tend to be a little kiasi and go for product that has its background in F1 like SHU of M1.

0W or 5W is not important to our climate, no winter...But -20 or -30 or -40 or even -50 is fairly important to individual type of car and user preference. IMHO -40 will be the best all rounder, even Mercedes-Benz

i just bought one bottle of SHU 5W-40 from Forklift Enterprise as usual....$55

I saw that the M1 0W-40 is @ $80...so decided to change to SHU from my current M1 0W-40. Economy still bad to me and really have to tighten my belt so no choice have to by SHU. Never used before, wonder if it will be better than M1 0W-40...will give my feedback after this sat oil change.

carrefour SHELL 5W 40 is made in europe.

i bought 1 dozen on 20Dec when they have the 10% discount using POSB everyday card (5% carfour and 5% POSB).

49.90 less 10% = S$44.91 per can

And they deliver to my house.

=============

U running a workshop ah?

use this oil for your promo to customers issit?

Buy 12 x 4 lit if for personal use can use for how many years already.

U buying in anticipation that the earth got no more oil in future so u stock up now ah?

within 10-12months can finish all the 12bottles of oil.

I have 2 lao pok kai that eats oil.

Edited by Mcf777

within 10-12months can finish all the 12bottles of oil.

I have 2 lao pok kai that eats oil.

=============

Like that if your car is burning oil, just use a cheap mineral oil.

Otherwise u r burning money with ex synthetic oil. [sweatdrop]

=============

U running a workshop ah?

use this oil for your promo to customers issit?

Buy 12 x 4 lit if for personal use can use for how many years already.

U buying in anticipation that the earth got no more oil in future so u stock up now ah?

i dun think he is promo cos it is true with everyday card, he gets 5% less and can stock up. but a bit too many liao!!!

=============

Ya he use on worn engines for 2 cars.

burn a lot of oil but he dont seem to mind cos the oil is quite cheap.