Asking his friend to reserve parking lot???

Friendstar

Hey peeps,

I was in Ikea yesterday and had a hard time finding a lot. finally i saw one car moving out and i immediately proceed to park there as i was the only one in the vicinity. Then while reversing, i saw a person running to the lot and stopping me from entering. he pointed at the car behind approaching and said he spotted the lot first.

Got such things meh? Asking his friend to physically stand there and "chop" the lot. I didnt wan to end up with a quarrel so i moved away. (Actually, more like i don want my car to kana scratched in case of revenge)....

If I'm already approaching the lot, and someone comes running towards it, they'd most likely get to see smoking tires and my blow off going off laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Luckily haven't really needed to do that so far... nor would I really want to do so... tongue.gif

But seriously, I'd just keep reversing and wouldn't give a damn about that person standing there. Upon alighting, I'd take note of the other vehicle number and such and then tell that person, "I've been waiting for this lot and if I find anything wrong with my car, I'm going to remember your face and that car and make sure you're responsible for it." sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

The only time such a thing happened to me was at East Coast Car Park near the hawker centre. Some group wanted to prevent me from parking next to a stack of mineral water that was going to be used for the next day marathon, claiming that they had the rights to hold off that lot. Their security guard was giving me a very menacing look.

I told them to show me their permit.

They couldn't produce any.

I promptly said to them, "Unless I see any written authorization RIGHT NOW, as far as I'm concerned, I've PAID for this lot with my parking coupon. Where are you all from? What is your name? Ok, so far you guys are here in a very persistent manner about this lot being yours and that security guard is being very hostile towards me. If anything happens to my car, you all will be the first ones I will claim responsibility from. I have my witness here too about your security guard's hostility. So you better ask him to watch over my car properly instead of giving me that look on his face."

Hey peeps,

I was in Ikea yesterday and had a hard time finding a lot. finally i saw one car moving out and i immediately proceed to park there as i was the only one in the vicinity. Then while reversing, i saw a person running to the lot and stopping me from entering. he pointed at the car behind approaching and said he spotted the lot first.

Got such things meh? Asking his friend to physically stand there and "chop" the lot. I didnt wan to end up with a quarrel so i moved away. (Actually, more like i don want my car to kana scratched in case of revenge)....

i flip out my mobile phone, take a couple of his picture, as well as his friends car w licence plate, den proceed to reverse into the lot [flowerface]

Hey chromas... thats very brave of u... esp ur car is a mouth-drooling .....

I wanted to reverse... but if he wan to play punk and pretend to get hit and fall on the floor... u'll be in deep trouble right? i donno... just a fear

If you can't get a parking lot at IKEA, just drive out and park opposite, at Anchor Point.

Always tonnes of parking lots available. Just take the sheltered overheadbridge across to IKEA.

I always park there if I need to go to IKEA over the wkend.

At IKEA, the time spent waiting for a parking lot, wear and tear to engine during idling and petrol burnt is not worth the wait at all.

i flip out my mobile phone, take a couple of his picture, as well as his friends car w licence plate, den proceed to reverse into the lot

honestly, this kind of game the other party can also play. he also can take pics of yr lot, he also can take pics of yr face. Then he don't do anything to yr car lor so u tot everything's fine.

Then he use those old existing scratches on his car n blame it on u. He can also say that u wanted to revenge on him that's why u scratched his car when he was not around. If there is no CCTV there, then it's yr word against his.. in the end how? If he cannot put the blame on u, similiarly, by warning him, taking his pic n all that, also cannot pin the blame on him unless u got install car cctv in yr car. Looks like a stalemate to me man..

Hey chromas... thats very brave of u... esp ur car is a mouth-drooling .....

I wanted to reverse... but if he wan to play punk and pretend to get hit and fall on the floor... u'll be in deep trouble right? i donno... just a fear

good point man.. The law always favours the pedestrian. Wat if that guy got some existing leg condition, then he claim that u made it worse, ask some specialist to write letter, then claim yr insurance, make it a police case cos it's a case of knocking down pedestrian mah, etc etc. In the end is it worth it for a parking lot? But if u have the time n money to play with him, then by all means. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

bro i hope u were right abt ur intuitions.

that said - in such pre race nights generally several parking lots are booked and bought at a fee frm URA up to 1 mth before event. ppl r hired there overnight to watch over the lot because sometimes organizer vehicles need move in at any hour to load/unload.

the guards tt wld be employed wld just noe his duty but most organizers will not rem passing a firm copy of the permit to the guard. in any case when wardens check the area they already noe which lots r booked because it is given to em ahead of schedule.

well bro noe u r popular, skillful and giving good advice frm time to time but hopefully if its events lidis dun gif the poor jaga whom usually dun get much frm poor organizers too much trouble! cheers! [flowerface]

Hey peeps,

Yah ... actually .... this is stupid ... we can't do that .... if you sit down to reserve place at hawker centre ... it's understandable. So what .. next time we all bring "cones" to use to reserve parking lot? [laugh][laugh]

Hey peeps,

I was there (Ikea Tampines) also on the same day as you. Me and fiance witnessed a chinese couple(driving a vios) with their infant and a man(driving a Mondeo) in that "ugly" scene. Were you either one of those men?

Hey peeps,

Take his pic and put up in stomp - what a CREEP!