Dash Kit Trimmings

Lightspeed

Always wondered, what is "carbon-fibre" look on dashboard?

Is it actually carbon-fibre material? I understand it's matt black.

Or is it some other material which looks like matt black?

Besides appearance, are there any advantages? eg lighter but stiffer (reduce dashboard creaking?

If it's real carbon fibre, go for it! Else for sticker lookalikes go for the brushed alum look, my friend has it on his Clio before and it looks good [;)]

Going for the sticker kind ... [:p] Heard its quite cheap in JB

Saw it in SG many moons ago at $200+ then saw it again yesterday for $110 [laugh]

So I reckon its gonna be lots cheaper in JB

I did see some Carbon fibre stickers in JB as well, but must DIY cut to stick. Probably will be quite messy and unsightly (not saying Ur skillz bad bro!) [:p]

Brushed alum more touring look whereas carbon more racy look [cool]

For your info guys....there is another way of doing carbon fiber, brush alum etc....on your dash. It a electro plating process. It is very nice & looks orginial. Cars like the new Lancer, Civic, Collora is done locally by this company. There are well over 300 over design for you to choose from.

Classic Auto Deco Pte Ltd

53 Ubi Ave 1 #05-16

Paya Ubi Ind Park

Tel : 8444 982

Fax : 8444070

His showroom has been converted to a factory liao....so currently no display piece. But his showroom will be opening soon in Kallang. Will keep all posted if anyone is interested.

Any idea how much will this electro plating process cost?

'Cos this ready made nicely cut dash trimmings I intend to buy costs only $100 or so (hopefully $60 in JB! [:p] )

Edited by Lightspeed

Fake one lah....off course lah !! Real carbon fiber at 400 plus for the whole car's trimming is like daylight robbery on our part man !! [laugh]

Its still plastic but just a few micro thickness & it is done on your present dash trims like the aircon ducts, centre consol,power window piece....etc etc etc.....

But as long as it is plastic, he can do it. But you have to strip your parts out to let him do it cos it takes about 4-5 days to do it.

Just give Andy a call lor....butI doubt he will call you over cos his place is in a mess now !!! Ha ha ha ha ha....

lastest thing that he is into is to warp steering wheel in leather !! Quite a nice option to have......

Dun think its so cheap....the last time I check with Andy was all the trimming (a/c duct,center consol,doors) is about 400 plus.....but different quality as compared to those stick on type as I believe they will peel after a while in our hot weather.

wow... $400 bucks is way off for me.... And besides.. think stick on is the way to go for me...cos if dun like...can just peel off! [:p]

Thought of sending it for spray paint as well ..also in the region of $100 - $200+

But like I said...once its sprayed, you're stuck with it [;)]

Edited by Lightspeed

It kinda expensive....but its nice mah.....if you want to have a sort of customised interior....this is they way to go man !!

But spray hor....warn you first.....not so good & tough to remove. (Still can remove but freaking tough). Had a friend who just bought a old AE86....when he collected the car.....car was pink.....interior was pink.....seats were in multi colour....I think the previous owner is colour blind !!

Now car much better.....more saint colour !!! [cool]

Something like that.....but infront of the ex owner its a beauty man !! Better dun say too much man....sikali the ex owner in this forum also I kenna flame later !! Bwahahahahahhahaha [laugh][laugh][laugh]