What makes French cars unreliable ?

Darth_mel

What are the reasons for poor workmanship despite the French being first-world nation ?

Why are they famous for their fashion and cosmetics but infamous for their cars ?

Peugeot used to have a solid reputation but recently, they have suffered the plight of unreliability too. Possible reasons:

1. Strong Unionisation?

2. Socialist left slant?

3. Compared to the Germans, Brits and Northern Europeans, they are less industrious and more fun loving, perhaps??

4. Or they just can't design things simple, perhaps?

Or is it just that, as other makers have improved so much over the years, they have been left behind a bit? But wait, didn't the Megane get some "most reliable in Germany" award a few years back?? The same model that had so many problems here?

Perhaps it is just that their cars don't take the tropics well?

Having said that, they are world class when it comes to trains, planes and even ships. Also wine - now that takes a lot of hard work.

If their French caps are as unreliable as their cars, then more "accidents" will happen liao lor ! [laugh]

On another note, condoms invented by the french izzit ? [:)]

Edited by Darth_mel

Its prob due to their way of life .... more focus on cosmetic but less on practicality [laugh]

A friend at I*M working with a french IT group on a local project commented that when problem arises, the french folks attitude is that its normal to have issues ... lets move on ,......., whereas the Germans that I've encountered will ask : why did it go wrong ?

Edited by Fondue

Simple...designers dun communicate with engineers.

Designer designs the car.

Engineer build the engine...

How you put the engine into the car is not my problem....

How else can one explain why change sparkplugs needs to remove 101 components before they can do that ??

laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

This was the view that my mechanic gave me when I told him that I wanted to buy a frenchie Cit.

No idea about french cars reliblity. My only experience with french car is the peugeut 206 which has excellence quality for its time.

Despite its relative size, French is a force in motorsport, dominating in top competition like F1 & Rally.

Neither did i for 2 years with my megane before i came to melb. The friend i sold it to had no problems for 3 years either, but subsequently scrapped her for another megane as it worked out to be cheaper.

I think this is becoming the norm nowadays.

Cud b the manufacturers only want the authorised agents to work on the cars. Plus point is they "should" do a better job but then again, minus point is in SG it does not happen.

Maybe the reliability of the conti cars is partly due to the competence of the guys repairing the cars has not kept up with the complexity of the cars itself. [gossip]

Just look at the number of COE cars here. How many r conti brands?

Most r Jap, then got some Merc. Very few BMW's & that's it.

That is one way to judge how reliable a car is.

Many french stuff are lousy. Why?

Because they think of themselves as the best in whatever they do!

When you sincerely believe you're the best... you go downhill...

LOL...

Oh French women are pretty hot though [cool]

What are the reasons for poor workmanship despite the French being first-world nation ?

Why are they famous for their fashion and cosmetics but infamous for their cars ?

also famous for their caps...