Malaysia: Directions to Genting

Nhrisuzu

Hi all,

Tried the Tips/Resource folder and did a search but to no avail of what i want..

i want to know the driving directions to Genting, hopefully the most convenient route (no small roads please).. only found a map from internet (http://www.abcmalaysia.com/maps/wmsia_map.htm) but don't think is enough.. [sweatdrop]

Points i will be interested to know badly:

1. How much stops recommended and at where??

2. What to do if encounter MY TP??

3. Any precautions to take when leaving car overnight??

4. Roughly how much money is needed to clear the Toll to and fro??

Please help.. thanks alot.. [:)]

Mods: can consider putting this in Tips/Resource folders if there are proper answers, will be helpful to first-timers..

got this from Motoring@asia1, i let the rest help you with your Q1-4. When are you driving up? I am heading up this coming friday..

http://motoring.asia1.com.sg/cgi-bin/motor...ic;f=7;t=001912

Directional Routes to Genting Highlands Resort

ALTERNATIVE 1 : CHERAS WAY

At Sungai Besi Toll, proceed straight, keep left, enter exit to Cheras heading up the flyover.

Follow Cheras direction, go straight.

Pass by Makro on your left, go straight.

Follow Ampang direction

Pass by Ampang, go straight and you will pass Zoo Negara and Melawati (on your right).

Go straight, follow Kuantan direction.

Exit Kuantan flyover. Go up the flyover and join Karak Highway.

After the Karak Toll, proceed on till you pass the Genting Sempah tunnel. Exit to Genting Highlands after the tunnel.

ALTERNATIVE 2 : BATANG KALI WAY

At Sungai Besi Toll gate, proceed straight (heading towards city), do not take the left fork heading to Petaling Jaya or the Sultan Abdul Aziz Airport on your left.

Take the left fork heading to the North-South Highway. You will see the Istana Negara (Agung's Palace) on your left. Proceed on and you will see Landmark - Muzium Negara on your left.

Exit to Jalan Duta, (see Landmark) at this exit Parliament House). Keep going straight, passing Jalan Damansara exit.

Join North-South Highway (green signboard), and head north (Utara) towards Ipoh.

Exit at Rawang. Proceed towards Rawang town.

Pass Rawang, Sungai Choh and Serendah towns.

Next town is Batang Kali. Turn right to Genting Highlands (signboard shown).

At the next T-junction, turn left to joint road to Genting Highlands.

After about 10 or 15 minutes, you will see Genting Skyway Station and Awana Horse Ranch on your right. Proceed and follow directions to Awana and Genting.

ALTERNATIVE 3 : BATU CAVES WAY

At Sungai Besi Toll gate, proceed straight (heading towards city), do not take the left fork heading to Petaling Jaya or the Sultan Abdul Aziz Airport on your left.

Take the left fork heading to the North-South Highway. You will see the Istana Negara (Agung's Palace) on your left. Proceed on and you will see Landmark - Muzium Negara on your left.

Exit to Jalan Duta, (see Landmark) at this exit Parliament House). Keep going straight, passing Jalan Damansara exit.

Keep going straight on Jalan Duta, (do not take exit to North-South Highway). You will come to a small roundabout. Take 12 o'clock, and you will come to another big roundabout. Take 9 o'clock to join Jalan Kuching (heading towards north to Ipoh).

Pay toll at Jalan Kuching. Proceed straight heading up the flyover towards Selayang. Go straight, follow Kuantan direction and go up the flyover on your left.

Make a right turn (follow Kuantan).

After passing Batu Caves (on your left), exit left (follow Kuantan) to Karak Highway. Proceed on till you pass the Genting Sempah tunnel. Exit to Genting Highlands after the tunnel.

ALTERNATIVE 4 : GOMBAK / SETAPAK WAY

At Sungai Besi Toll, go straight, pass the old airport (on your left), proceed straight on to Jalan Tun Razak.

Keep on Jalan Tun Razak, pass Jalan Ampang and the National Library (on your right) and the General Hospital (on your left). Keep left and take a 3 o'clock at the roundabout and join Jalan Ampang.

Go straight heading towards Jalan Genting Kelang / Setapak. After toll gate, proceed on towards Setapak, and go left to Jalan Gombak.

At around 4th mile, Jalan Gombak, make a left turn to Kg Bandar Dalam, proceed on, then take a right turn (follow Kuantan) to Karak Highway.

After the Karak Toll, proceed on till you pass the Genting Sempah tunnel. Exit to Genting Highlands after the tunnel.

this is a good guide from one of the bro here (cant remember who...) last year or 2..... the tolls cost was correct back then but now should be slightly higher...

Take the NS highway from 2nd link and drive all the way to towards KL. You do not have to turn out from the highway as you will reach and stopped at Sungei Besi to pay a toll of about RM 37+. On exiting the toll booth, keep to the 2nd lane from left. Keep a lookout for the sign to "Cheras" (it is a signboard in blue, I think, on the left kerb of the road). After you pass the 1st Petronas station on your left, filter to the left and you will see the signboard to take a left turn to Cheras. This is a steep curving turn to connect you to the Cheras flyover.

On this road to Cheras, keep to the centre lane. You new destination aim on this road should now be Kuantan. Keep driving straight ahead (landmark: you will pass zoo negara), and use the overhead lane-guide for Kuantan/Genting Highland (usually the 2 farthest right lanes - use the middle lane as I do not expect you to do much overtaking during your first drive here, but also you will have to exit on your left to join the Karak Highway to Genting Highland. You will need to pay RM4 toll at Karak Highway. After the toll station, it is a scenic drive with roadside stalls selling lemang, fruits and plants. Do not be tempted to speed here because some parts of the highway here are downhill and curvy. Keep on driving and keep left for the turn off to Genting Highland (the sign will read as Genting Highland and also a teachers training college). After the turn-off, it is mostly uphill but there are also steep downhill on some strtches. Use engine brake (lower gear) on these stretches. You will arrive at the peak and Genting. It may seems a little daunting from what I write here but it is actually a very easy drive.

Returning is even easier. From Gentin! g, look for sign and drive towards KL. After the RM4 toll again at Karak, look for sign and head for Seremban (no longer KL). Keep left when possible as there is an abrupt left turn-off for Seremban. When at KL outskirt, do not head for Sungei Besi but keep on heading for Seremban. You will still join the NS highway at Sungei Besi. From there, just head south for home.

[:p][:p][:p]

heading up this Sunday morning.. coming back on Tuesday afternoon..

thanks alot bros.. [wave][wave]

thanks alot.. erm.. which part of the route is best to top up??

afraid drive halfway can't find petrol station like those movies.. [sweatdrop]

what car u driving? actually, most car with just one full tank can go up till geting easily and can top up when down to KL lor..... or u can top up when reaching KL town before go up to genting..... [:p]

Sunny A/T.... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

heard Ayar Keroh.. but is it along the highway?? or must filter out and turn into small roads??

ayer keroh stop (melaka..) is at nearly middle of the NSHW(btw sg-kl) and if im not wrong, just another 1.5hr drive away from kl, where most people will stop for meal/tolet break/drink... it a big stop which has an overhead bridge with fastfood restaurant (u wont miss it..)... u dont have to exist the NSHW, just filter out for stop and pump petrol..

btw, have u been to NSHW before?? first time??[:p]

2nd time to NSH.. 1st time driving up..

sorry if i sound noob.. i am Singapore Tortise.. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Why not get a GPS navigation system? It's easy to get lost especially u first time. It's unlike sg road with many road signs.

With a GPS even if u make a wrong turn, it'll guilde u back on track. Plus u can plan your stops with your GPS. Can just sit back and enjoy your drive.

too much spent.. and not frequent traveller by driving.. just want to experience it driving up with family..

appreciate ur suggestion.. [:)]

bro,

give me some feedback when u r back ok.

thinking of driving up for a short break 1 of these weekends with wifey.

never driving on NSHW b4 so quite blur.

been thinking about it for sometime liaoz but wifey scared lost our way. [laugh][laugh]

thanks in advance.

petrol kiosk aplenty. just see the "pump symbol" along the NSH [;)]. Usually, most "Hentian Sebelah..." (aka rest stop beside...) whatever turnoff will have. but only those with the symbol

Ask for directions at petro kiosk closer to KL. it's the best bet. they know how to give directions pretty well.

copy n paste the relevant posts from MCF (and elsewhere on the net) and print a few copies. pass a copy to ur Co-driver (the passenger in the front seat). ensure he or she is competent at it. dun let a kid sit in front. u will [furious] if u need help with navigation

for TP? dun speed [laugh]. the market rate is RM50 the last time i tio. so if u really must speed, just prepare RM50 bill. cheap n easy.

wanna speed then speed fast. dun half fxxk speed at 125 or so.. tio also for no good reason. safe speed is 115 n below IMHO.. pls keep left at that speed hor [;)]

wa lao..

must try la [thumbsup]. different experience. but after a few times it's all the same scenery [:|]

one exception is the section north of KL, around ipoh, the rock formations are damn swee! [thumbsup][thumbsup] first noticed it when i took the KTM train to kelantan. got much closer, and see from the base. on the highway it's a different kinda view, both also nice.

malaysia is a very good place to go for holiday. just bypass u know where if u have low risk-tolerance [;)]

GPS is not foolproof. good to have but best to have maps and general directions. Ideally, one shd be able to survive w/o it. but use it for convenience sake [nod]

thank u bro..

erm.. heard that need to fill in some white cards to drive in?? where to get the white cars har?? [sweatdrop][confused]