Vooth 2nd Gear July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 I use M660+. Maybe I dun know how to read map on the GPS whahahahaahaha My previous gps was the M660 as well. That unit is not very good, you should trade in for the latest. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 QUOTE (Kopites @ Apr 13 2012, 09:50 PM) No more special parking lot for "silver" card liao lah. -------------------- Parking for "Silver card" still apply at Highland Hotel carpark during my recent trip on 24/6/2012. Going next week and my card expired liao and yet to renew...you think can still park before renewal ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 (edited) QUOTE (Kopites @ Apr 13 2012, 09:50 PM) No more special parking lot for "silver" card liao lah. -------------------- Double deleted. Edited July 6, 2012 by Luckcent Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarquin 1st Gear July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 Dear bros and sis out there, My family are back from KL/Genting. We used the GPS but somehow we do not really know how to read the GPS or the Mapking in GPS is inaccurate. We got lost along the way but managed to get right on track using the bros and sis guide here. From KL to Genting, the GPS anyhow lead us to nowhere and we were lost then luckily i remember someone posted the route 1, will pass by negara zoo, then ampang. Luckily we saw Negara Zoo road sign and we keep following the sign and thinking mayb we could ask around when we reach Negara Zoo. But luckily, along the way to Negara Zoo, we saw the Genting sign and we keep following it and finally reach Genting. Then on the way back to Singapore, we remember the bros here said just follow KL then Semberan all the way. We did that and somehow, we itchy backside and see the GPS it said go Sungei Besi then we turned inito Sungei Besi and got lost again, end up we anyhow turn and went to KL hoping to ask people and luckily we saw Semeran sign again and we keep following it all the way until we saw melaka then to singapore. However, we didn't managed to fill up our petrol in JB cos the new highway lead us to woodlands directly. We didnt see any exit sign to johore and we had no choice up to follow and we were scared to exit wrongly then get lost again. Do you know where to exit the new highway in order to pump petrol? If there's no exit then where is the last petrol kiosk available in the NSH? Thanks bros and sis here for your kind guidance and made us reach our destination smoothly. Oooh...not able to pump before heading back SG is very very unfortunate I also just used the EDL last school holiday for our road trip SG-Genting-KL-SG...and during the Northbound (to MY) trip from JB using the EDL I already noted that if I wasn't going in JB Town and using the same route back I will not be able to topup before going back to SG...so I took the last topup at Shell Machap and through EDL (right most) lane...but I noticed at the last road towards the JB customs via EDL there's an exit at the left...but didn't try it out...so not sure if that exit will lead you back JB... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear July 6, 2012 Share July 6, 2012 Going next week and my card expired liao and yet to renew...you think can still park before renewal ? During my recent trip in Jun'2012, the carpark barrier was permanently raised and Security Staff will take a quick glance at the silver card, before waving us to enter. In the past, when the card reader did not open the carpark barrier, the Security Staff will just take a quick glance at the silver card before they allow entry. So, suggest you try. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 Usually I start about 10 am and reach Gohtong Jaya for early dinner at 5 pm. with 1 stop at Ayer Keroh for food and fill up. Driving at 100- 110 km. My 1st trip years back start abt that time and i was "burnt" on NSH in the afternoon sun...thus all other trip start in morning and reach SB toll before 12noon and proceed to Gohtong jaya for lunch before check in.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear July 10, 2012 Share July 10, 2012 Oooh...not able to pump before heading back SG is very very unfortunate I also just used the EDL last school holiday for our road trip SG-Genting-KL-SG...and during the Northbound (to MY) trip from JB using the EDL I already noted that if I wasn't going in JB Town and using the same route back I will not be able to topup before going back to SG...so I took the last topup at Shell Machap and through EDL (right most) lane...but I noticed at the last road towards the JB customs via EDL there's an exit at the left...but didn't try it out...so not sure if that exit will lead you back JB... nv try the EDL...heard it will lead straight to the customs... i preferred to go Taman sentosa for shopping and dinner before heading back home... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Obscurest 1st Gear July 16, 2012 Share July 16, 2012 this is a good guide from one of the bro here (cant remember who...) last year or 2..... the tolls cost was correct back then but now should be slightly higher... Take the NS highway from 2nd link and drive all the way to towards KL. You do not have to turn out from the highway as you will reach and stopped at Sungei Besi to pay a toll of about RM 37+. On exiting the toll booth, keep to the 2nd lane from left. Keep a lookout for the sign to "Cheras" (it is a signboard in blue, I think, on the left kerb of the road). After you pass the 1st Petronas station on your left, filter to the left and you will see the signboard to take a left turn to Cheras. This is a steep curving turn to connect you to the Cheras flyover. On this road to Cheras, keep to the centre lane. You new destination aim on this road should now be Kuantan. Keep driving straight ahead (landmark: you will pass zoo negara), and use the overhead lane-guide for Kuantan/Genting Highland (usually the 2 farthest right lanes - use the middle lane as I do not expect you to do much overtaking during your first drive here, but also you will have to exit on your left to join the Karak Highway to Genting Highland. You will need to pay RM4 toll at Karak Highway. After the toll station, it is a scenic drive with roadside stalls selling lemang, fruits and plants. Do not be tempted to speed here because some parts of the highway here are downhill and curvy. Keep on driving and keep left for the turn off to Genting Highland (the sign will read as Genting Highland and also a teachers training college). After the turn-off, it is mostly uphill but there are also steep downhill on some strtches. Use engine brake (lower gear) on these stretches. You will arrive at the peak and Genting. It may seems a little daunting from what I write here but it is actually a very easy drive. Returning is even easier. From Gentin! g, look for sign and drive towards KL. After the RM4 toll again at Karak, look for sign and head for Seremban (no longer KL). Keep left when possible as there is an abrupt left turn-off for Seremban. When at KL outskirt, do not head for Sungei Besi but keep on heading for Seremban. You will still join the NS highway at Sungei Besi. From there, just head south for home. Hi guys, I'm travelling to genting this coming national day... Wondering is this still an updated path to genting? Else can share how to get there? Thks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LTLT 1st Gear July 16, 2012 Share July 16, 2012 Hi guys, I'm travelling to genting this coming national day... Wondering is this still an updated path to genting? Else can share how to get there? Thks My experience is just get a updated and reliable GPS,it will guide you to your destination no matter which road you turn. Enjoy!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged July 16, 2012 Share July 16, 2012 Fully agree... I survived my gold coast trip with just sygic on my galaxy s3, except for once brought me to kfc instead of mcD, it works perfectly... I believe everyone own a smartphone nowadays... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ronleech 2nd Gear July 17, 2012 Share July 17, 2012 BTW...Note have a GPS function...do it need data plan for it to work? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged July 17, 2012 Share July 17, 2012 Hi guys, I'm travelling to genting this coming national day... Wondering is this still an updated path to genting? Else can share how to get there? Thks yes. more details: when heading to genting, fm sungei besi toll, its 2km to the cheras exit on the left Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Priccichan Neutral Newbie July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 Hey fren, just went up Genting a couple of days ago. i have done up a route card i will attach it its an example. Just need to do a little bit of homework. It will be very useful. Anyway just an advice, while i was driving downhill my brake disc got overheated. Got to stop by the side and let it cool down. The air up there is really chilling. Make sure you have a 1.5 water bottle at all times for situations like this.Best way to get up there is by Karak Highway. Alot of Singapore bikers use that road. Have a great time driving mateROUTE_CARD_1.doc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alvin89 Neutral Newbie July 19, 2012 Share July 19, 2012 thanks for the map Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watchalukin Neutral Newbie July 29, 2012 Share July 29, 2012 Jus got back from Genting.... E 3rd post in this thread highlighted in Red is still correct! Toll charges are increased slightly thou.... After e $5 toll (no longer $4), remember to keep to e left!! Else u will miss e entrance to Cheras! Once on Cheras, jus look out for "G. HIGHLANDS"... They dun put e word Genting in full. :) Fun drive up! Love it and will do it again! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear August 6, 2012 Share August 6, 2012 http://www.rwgenting.com/en/fb/promotions/2012/fruits.htm Went for the dinner buffet 6/8/2012. There is a separate section offering unlimited servings of durians, which is included in the dinner. Any durian lovers who will be at Genting can check out the First World Cafe. Right now I am still stuffed with durian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged August 6, 2012 Share August 6, 2012 http://www.rwgenting.com/en/fb/promotions/2012/fruits.htm Went for the dinner buffet 6/8/2012. There is a separate section offering unlimited servings of durians, which is included in the dinner. Any durian lovers who will be at Genting can check out the First World Cafe. Right now I am still stuffed with durian thanks! i will be there on thurs. How is the quality of durians? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear August 6, 2012 Share August 6, 2012 The quality of the durians vary, as they are opened and laid onto plates at the counter. You pick your choice and eat at the tables, and go back for more. I had 4 servings before throwing the towel. There are some bitter ones which we love very much. So a bit of luck unless you know how to pick the right one. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...