Electronic Tagging System for OPC

Gnoikj

Maybe the government should ask for tender to upgrade the present IU with a microprocessor with timer. Timer should be pre programme such that when the driver moves his car during peak hours, it automatically deduct $20 from the cash card.

With this system, TP no need to be so on the ball. No need to waste paper for coupon, no littering for used coupon. Shouldn't be that difficult to upgrade, coz just need a mircoprocessor, firmware and a timer.

Edited by Ender

Depends on what is the impact on me.

I hardly ever drive during peak time so almost never need to put coupon, and so in the times that I need to put, I put lor, takes me 1 min to do that, very difficult for me meh? Also i always keep coupons in my car when i need to put. And come on lah, those people who say buy coupon is troublesome, then buy 10, 100 or 1000 pieces at one go lor. So the point about tagging making it more convenient for OPC drivers is bullsh|t.

If I need to pay $ or waste my time or take leave to install that thing, 1st of all who will compensate me for time and material? Even worse if need to pay recurring charges to be tagged. Also bad is if I need to stick another fugly IU-like device on my windscreen.

So what's in it for me, what benifit do I get for tagging? Is it the only reason I tag is to keep normal plate people happy? Are they going to pay me for the tagging? Are you? As mentioned in another thread, I am already doing normal plate people a favor by switching from normal to OPC plate and help reducing cars on road, so do I still owe them anything? Do I still need to prove to anyone that I am not cheating by tagging my car?

So one suggestion, only OPC offenders caught should be tagged (like criminals on parole). For me, if LTA give me another extra $10K OPC rebate than we talk somemore about tagging. Maybe can even suggest to LTA that they can earn back the $ for the extra $10K rebate by slapping another $1K special annual road-tax on all normal plate cars [laugh] Lets call this Tag-the-OPC tax, imposed on normal plate cars only.

Edited by Sgnick

unlikey for the LTA to implement this . think of the huge costs that goes into the electronic gadget, the effort needed to monitor it etc. i do not have statistics, but the cheaters are a small % of the OPC population.

the LTA would stick with the current system as it reaps more profits for them. one offender kena caught and its thousands of extra $$ into their pockets.

Actually, it may benefit the opc owners more with the implementation. From a monetary point of view, the charging system could be something like if use for certain km/hours, S$20/-, if used less, pro-rate...Rather than the current manual system of flat S$20/- even if its only to collect the kids which take only an hour...

As for the non-opc cars, well, thats not really the issue I was going into..I saw a problem between OPC and non-opc owners, I saw the unhappiness caused when the name calling started, when drivers started drawing battle lines, hence, i focused on the opc system, to improve it if you will...

Not coming out with anything at all right now will perpetuate a system of anger and misunderstandings...

Haha... i second your thoughts. Its not any of our business if OPC owners so called "cheats" and its also none of our business if the offender gets caught.

Im sure those who complain against such are typical Singaporean who is being overly protected and have so much free time. Let those people do whatever they want with their life and you do whatever you want with your life and may everyone be happy. Why bother yourself with such a silly thing? [thumbsup]

It is our business. It's like attending a rock concert, and paying premium for standing close to the stage tickets. Standing tickets already so crowded, if any people who pay less for the seats tries to cheat and wiggle their way into the crowded standing area, I have no qualms to ask them to get back to their seats. Bouncers are no everywhere.

Is there a division between OPC and normal car owners? I doubt so.

When people report the offender/s to the authorities, it is just like any other civic minded people who feel that they have a duty to do, not just against OPCs. They report illegal modifications, illegal parking, parking in handicap lots, dangerous driving etc...

Imo, there is no issue at all! Thus the tagging is not necessary too!

I wonder at the general public's reaction to electronic parking when it was first implemented. i wonder if it helped resolve similar opc related problems we have right now.

I think the contention is this. The OPC owner who abide by the rules is a victim (my view)when he comes to know that OPC owners who do not stick to the rules benefit. From his perspective, he could have gotten away with it too by not using the coupon...

As many have said, leave the system alone. We paid millions of dollars to the government. Let them crack their head if the system really become an issue. When a person buys an OPC car, he/she should already understand the system and usage. If they want to cheat let them be. They should have keep spare coupons to standby for emergency usage. By implementing some more electronic tagging thing, it might end up increasing in cost not only for OPC car user but maybe non OPC users. Just look at ERP implementation, we had to pay for a hardware to be installed in our car and cash card. Who knows when such tagging system implemented, they might say is necesary to be fitted in everycar.

In Singapore, if you complained, all you get from the government is they will come out something and make you pay for it.

[:)] Guess that means if it comes from the gahmen, it will be less challenged, more correct and i should just shut up...

Well, you know what they say about the best of intentions...

I see the current system as ok/alright cos OPCs are a matter of fact under "watchful" eyes. [laugh]

Even if they want to so call cheat, it'll be tough.

If u intro electronic gadgets or tagging like u say. The cost price or even the tax will go up for purchasing the car which in turn defeat the purpose of having an OPC.

The current coupon system is low cost to run and maintain compared to electronic gadgets. Although not perfect but it works thanks to "righteous" drivers who paid car taxes in full [laugh] . A minority will get away with it lah but the majority OPC owners will not risk it cos of the hefty fine. Money plays a part in the system.

Nothing is perfect. There are bound to be loopholes and ppl trying to get around it but chances are small.

[nod] well, if the idea was shot down cos its not economically viable, then guess there's nothing that can be done...

Still, I believe the idea has merit for 'righteous' OPC owners as well as non-opc owners. If there's anybody it hurts, its the OPC cheats most of all... [:)]

LTA have all the answers to manage & control the OPC lah............ it's just cost vs benefits. economy of scale etc... it's in the pipe line for sometime oredi, just waiting for the OPC car critical mass to implement the system (inside source). I repeat, those cheaters that are playing game , just once caught, is game over. LTA has the technology to know their usage pattern, it just that these cheaters need to be caught RED handed on the spot by law as evidence to be charged in court.

Then LTA will churn out all the OPC cheater's usage pattern to the court to fine. [rifle] That's why some OPC cheater kenna fine up to $20K. If cheater (OPC) game enough, let them play....who cares! Just caught once, it's game over! [knife] Just go to nite court 26N, from 7pm near Havelock road, you'll find out many OPC kenna charge every night, no secret lah.......... [rifle]

Just remember our gahmen are entrepreneur. No more providing service. Everything comes in a price. When we suggest something or complain, they will give reason like market forces and ask us to don't patronise this or that. Recently someone said about the difficulty of getting a cab and all the gahment can said is up the surcharge rate. Such words a normal civilian also can come up yet we are paying millions for them to say.

So my point is still leave the system alone. Just imagine more OPC offender--more revenue for that department.

I think the contention is this. The OPC owner who abide by the rules is a victim (my view)when he comes to know that OPC owners who do not stick to the rules benefit.

Talking about victim, OPC who don't cheat (I think it's safe to assume it's the majority, unless u have reasons to think otherwise) but forced to pay $ to install some tracking device are also considered victims. So for me, i rather be the type of victim that u stated above, at least i don't have to fork out a single cent.

Edited by Sgnick

Still, I believe the idea has merit for 'righteous' OPC owners as well as non-opc owners. If there's anybody it hurts, its the OPC cheats most of all...

Sorry, but no merits for righteous OPC owners. i am one, so I can speak for myself.

BTW, r u a OPC owner Gnoikj? Oh yeah, from one of your earlier post u say u r not OPC. Anyway bro, if u speaking as a normal plate owner and from the point of view of normal plate owner i don't really mind, but to claim that this scheme will benifit OPC owners when u r not one yourself...sorry lah bro, I cannot accept, speaking as a OPC owner

Edited by Sgnick