NS

Carmaniac

and i suggest..aim to be the top few in your platoon and make it into OCS..after 9 months of tekaning and gritting teeth in OCS, your remainder in NS life is virtually relaxing liao..

and btw..few years IS STILL DAMN LONG LAH!!

start worrying when you recieve your enlistment letter..

Edited by Shull

Carmaniac

Read what those who posted here as they had their experience in NS and one more thing to add is those things which were not taugh in army like: drinking, gambling, smoking, long weekends goes to bars, pubs, tattoo (to look mancho).

Eating at the mess is worst. Our food preparation is depending on the mood of those cooks. Fried bee hoon are as good as barb wire. Fried maggie noodle is tasteless.

Name calling is very common, like: MC King, Siow On, Blur King, Sarbo King....etc and most common, those blue eyes boys (Chow Kow) which are "untouchable" (in another word CO or OC runners)

Yes those were the days in NS, mine was from 1977 to 1979, f**k those Is**l instructors, running 5 round the parade square before going for lunch. Have to finish the food if not, another 5 rounds. How to eat immediately after a run. [mad][mad]

Nowadays, thinking back those NS dazes (days) brings me good memories and I always explain to my son how I suffer in army so as to get him prepare for his NS. Anyway, it make me a better person with the skills I learned in army which is : eating young tree roots to survice, drinking stream water, fresh water prawns from stream, snake, wild berries, monitor lizard, frogs, wild boars...etc. What we call survival training in Pulau Tekomg for 6 days. (those days, pulau tekong is still a kampong without any army camp) [:p][:p]

Take the opportunity to know more the so called friends in the army, esp when kena all the crap and bs. A time to make new friends and know new... foes (hopefully, avoidable).

Don't be too trusting too. Your only buddy is probably your section buddy. All others may leave in the lurch, when things get too hot. Money also dun anyhow lend. [;)]

yeah man..section buddy is the closest..the one who will sleep next to you, both in bunks and outfield..who will go thru thick and thin with you..BEST..

U have got a boring NS. [laugh]

well not really, i did alot of "official" work... ended up i am quite competent and able to take the workload and etc where it comes to administrative matters... [sly]

the reward for me was that i get to ROD

now even if i want to go back for reservist, they dun even want me... doubt they would want to pay me my salary to just go back for admin...

i have ROD... tt's what my MPO told me [sly]

Edited by Weixiang_06

Just asking a few questions lah.. have to go for ns soon in a few years time [sweatdrop] ..

Firstly right, which part of the military are you guys mainly positioned in? Just want to know which kind of positions are the easier ones.. I know almost all of the basic positions are tough but at least I can know what to siam [sly]

Are there any special and memorable moments in NS that you guys can share? [rolleyes] And also those special events that you think that those who didn't go for NS wouldn't know.. [nod]

And then what is so special about NS that makes it NS? Because it seems like there's a change in my cousin since he went for NS.. I also wonder why.. [rolleyes]

Lastly.. is it very important to know how to swim? Because I can't. [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][laugh][laugh][laugh]

clerk easiest! best is to be a PA to an least a middle ranking officer... LTC or even MAJ good enough liaoz [sly] but of coz the LTC or MAJ himself may be a tough nut himself too but at least you only get f!!ked by him, and he will protect you from whatever f!!k other junior officers want to throw at you.. i rem how he f!!ked a CPT when the CPT tried to be funny with me [laugh][sly]

at least my boss told me that he is a f!!ker but at least he will protect me from being f!!ked by others (he was a LTC then) as i was meant only to be exclusively f!!ked by him... mmz.. it wasn't that easy for me that time but yes my time in army was relatively much easier...

and yes, working directly under a middle ranking officer in NSF time helps, coz junior officers like LTA/CPT will not dare to touch you [laugh][sly][sly][sly]

i am one of those..vocation is ASA(clerk) but PA to an LTC..so far he never farked me..but he did protect me from alot of bxxxxxds out there..even RSM very friendly to me.. [;)]

btw, 11 more months to ORD!!!!

okie lah... start your count down..

for me, i ROD loh!!! note the word used is ROD loh! [laugh][lipsrsealed]

why did i ROD, as a ASA, you should know... 3SG. ex Admin Specialist [laugh] my pes status is [sly] even i volunteer for reservist (but of coz SAF must pay for my pro-rated salary while i do my reservist) SAF won't even want me... [laugh] paying for someone who cannot be stationed outfield [sly]

Edited by Weixiang_06

is it very important to know how to swim? Because I can't. [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][laugh][laugh][laugh]

i can't swim also.. almost going to Pass Out from Tekong, but still don't know how to swim.. [sweatdrop]

they will teach u how to swim.. but then, u can fail that swimming test..

[lipsrsealed]

now even if i want to go back for reservist, they dun even want me... doubt they would want to pay me my salary to just go back for admin...

U are damn wrong on this one. [:p][:p][:p]

My wife's ex-boss.....one month earn 15k still goes back for reservist as a LCP drawing maps in ops room..... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Its yr luck lar...bro. [;)][;)][;)]

Just like me in reservist now.....defer my reservist due to a 1 year full time studies after NS. So kena posted to another unit(lao chiao waiting for ORD one) instead. By sheer luck, i stayed in this unit permanently until they ORD within 3 years. Thier in-camp training is super "switch-off" one, moreover i do "lobo spare man" 100% of the time....practically do nothing one. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

4th year onwards.....kena put into "holding lists" for donkey years until now. Every year take half-fark IPPT static stations and declare fail 2.4km...."No need do RT"!!!!! [sly][sly][sly]

Maybe "Up there" knows i suffer like shiit in NS, so give me a big big break in reservist. [;)][;)][;)]

Act blur for anohter 4+ years.......officially reservist ORD liao. [wave][wave][wave]

Yes ur posting bring back alots of memory for me. During the last few mth of my NS life i was posted to be CO PA (that is y i got my nick) as my unit had ORD liao except a few of us . My new boss is a Maj and the biggest in the whole camp, basically i become "untouchables" and all the cpts and lts are very nice to me, even the RSM also tok to me in a nice manner. best of all, when S4 fall in the HQ coy for arrowing session, he will tell me COPA go back and manned CO office hahahahaha

maybe... erhmm... but due to my medical pes status, SAF doesn't recall me for reservist [mad]

want reservist doing admin also cannot [mad]

Edited by Weixiang_06

Got posted to Air Force as an air force tech after BMT, seeing my pink self in five days.

Which is the toughest? Overcoming yourself and going in with a positive attitude.

Purple light .......

Edited by Garlic

was in the armour infantry last time as a pc runner.. dun chao keng lah.. i'm not those "siao on" type. these 2 yrs can bring you many memories, field camp, out field, life with camp mates and all those cxxk things dat can make you laugh when you think of it. but reservist sux! remember those days cooking instant noodles/can food during field camp, training at australia. smoking while chiong sua with my pc! haha best part sleeping/smoking in BX (armour vehicle). After Atec at australia waiting for ord, you can hear everyone Shorting "ORD LOH!" smoking anywhere like nobod's bussiness, sleeping in the morning, awake in the night. Life in army is carefree! 4 meals provided. slack when ever you can, but dun get caught!

Edited by Calvin53

Just asking a few questions lah.. have to go for ns soon in a few years time [sweatdrop] ..

Firstly right, which part of the military are you guys mainly positioned in? Just want to know which kind of positions are the easier ones.. I know almost all of the basic positions are tough but at least I can know what to siam [sly]

Are there any special and memorable moments in NS that you guys can share? [rolleyes] And also those special events that you think that those who didn't go for NS wouldn't know.. [nod]

And then what is so special about NS that makes it NS? Because it seems like there's a change in my cousin since he went for NS.. I also wonder why.. [rolleyes]

Lastly.. is it very important to know how to swim? Because I can't. [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed][laugh][laugh][laugh]

Pray you don't end up in guards.

clerk easiest! best is to be a PA to an least a middle ranking officer... LTC or even MAJ good enough liaoz [sly] but of coz the LTC or MAJ himself may be a tough nut himself too but at least you only get f!!ked by him, and he will protect you from whatever f!!k other junior officers want to throw at you.. i rem how he f!!ked a CPT when the CPT tried to be funny with me [laugh][sly]

at least my boss told me that he is a f!!ker but at least he will protect me from being f!!ked by others (he was a LTC then) as i was meant only to be exclusively f!!ked by him... mmz.. it wasn't that easy for me that time but yes my time in army was relatively much easier...

and yes, working directly under a middle ranking officer in NSF time helps, coz junior officers like LTA/CPT will not dare to touch you [laugh][sly][sly][sly]

i am one of those..vocation is ASA(clerk) but PA to an LTC..so far he never farked me..but he did protect me from alot of bxxxxxds out there..even RSM very friendly to me.. [;)]

btw, 11 more months to ORD!!!!

okie lah... start your count down..

for me, i ROD loh!!! note the word used is ROD loh! [laugh][lipsrsealed]

why did i ROD, as a ASA, you should know... 3SG. ex Admin Specialist [laugh] my pes status is [sly] even i volunteer for reservist (but of coz SAF must pay for my pro-rated salary while i do my reservist) SAF won't even want me... [laugh] paying for someone who cannot be stationed outfield [sly]

then most prob i also will get ROD..coz my PES also cannot go outfield..