USA: Traveling to US - What to take note?

Albeniz

If he was due for NS or call up or reservist, then he cannot just notify and leave. Notify and get the acknowledgement number, doesn't change the liability he has for the call up.

Everything can play but army thing cannot play play.

yes. That key chain thing gets a random number from some clock or something I think. No radio/wifi/wimax or satellite technology in that small thing. It'll work everywhere.

I have a question regarding my return air-ticket, back to Singapore.

I bought a round trip ticket online (united airlines) and I initially expected myself to return in about 2 weeks' time. Now, I may decide to stay for up to 3 months. There may be a change in the return date. Will there be a penalty if I change it?

Actually, I have not firmly decided on the duration of my stay yet. Do I need to confirm the return date with them, even well before I depart from Singapore?

Would it be necessary to get travel insurance for up to 3 months? Wife was saying medical/hospital charges over there can be expensive, if something happens.

bro, just call up UA and find out. its always a good prcatice to buy travel insurance. The health cost is really expensive in US. short consultation would cost at least USD50 not including medication. the medication can be bought at any Pharmacy (can find in Walmart) and its is a separate cost from consultation.

Depending on the class of tickets that you bought. Within economy, there are different types although once your butt is on the seat, there is no difference. Some tickets allow u to change dates without paying as along as u inform them early enough, some deep discount econ tickets are strictly no amendment.

Bfgta made a gd suggestion. if u scrutinse insurance covering medical in the US, the premium rates are siginifcantly higher when the US is included. get the travel ins for peace of mind.

Depending on the class of tickets that you bought. Within economy, there are different types although once your butt is on the seat, there is no difference. Some tickets allow u to change dates without paying as along as u inform them early enough, some deep discount econ tickets are strictly no amendment

I have called the UA up.

There will be a penalty of US$100 + price difference for ticket of the new return date.

I can go to US first and then make the change when my original date of return is nearing.

Singaporeans do not need visa to travel to states. its good for 90 days. however, now you have to fill up a form and submit 2 days before you are allowed to board the flight. which part of US you intend to go?

I bought the tickets online.

Strange. I called up UA and asked them if they will mail me the "physical" ticket.

They told me "no" and I just need to print the confirmation Email and then bring that mail to the counter at Changi Airport on the day itself.

Where do I get the "form" to submit before my departure?

Some tickets are only valid for 30days while others for 1 yr. Check first.

For changing of dates, UA usually say there will be an admin charge. But on a few occasions, when I go to their USA office in person to change dates, the counter lady says no charge required. Note that those were the days before e-tickets.

For e-tickets, usually just need to present the reservation number and your passport at the counter.

Edited by Fondue

u travelling after your stay in the US?

if u have plans, might as well make it an annual plan if the premiums do add up?

i suppose ur wife's TI is being provided for by her co.?

actually dont even need to show the reservation number. Just show your passport and they will tally your name in the database. Can even check in on the website to choose your seat. Dont know about UA but NW and SIA can do so.

As for the travel insurance, you may want to talk to your insurance agent if you have one. I go to my agent whenever i go on personal trip with my wife and kid. Its like 150 bucks for the 3 of us for a short trip of 2 weeks to US. Furthermore, this insurance even cover us up till a week when we get back to Singapore physically.

I am not too certain how long my stay would be. Can I buy the insurance for 2 month first and then if I wish to stay for the 3rd month, I will just buy the 3rd month insurance, on-line over there. Is this arrangement possible?

And don't forget to tip the taxi drivers especially.

They can get very nasty io you don't.

Typical tip is 20% of fare.

1. Everything in Texas is big. The central divide on some of the highways can fit our HDB block with space for parking.

2. When going to strip joints, bring lots of one dollar notes. Its okay for them if you bring spouse, not sure about you.

3. If you are lucky, it might snow again in Texas this winter.

4. There are many good makan place in Dallas/Fortworth. Just need to find them.

5. Don't be greedy when ordering lobstors ... 2 lbs lobstor taste sweetest.

Thanks for the suggestion.

Texas is very hot now. Went to San Antonio and taken a picture to share with our folks here.

post-15-1190725312_thumb.jpg

Singaporeans do not need visa to travel to states. its good for 90 days. however, now you have to fill up a form and submit 2 days before you are allowed to board the flight. which part of US you intend to go?

For Singaporeans, there is no need to submit any forms 2 days before boarding.

We just need to complete two forms on the plane. They will provide on the plane.

If you landing at LAX, please try not to look anxious or overly excited. If got mainland Chinese groups, dun walk near them.

Apollo asks: why arh? me gg LAX in Oct leh.

I think this is a wise advice.

There can be quite alot of old Asian people going to US to visit their children. Most of them could not communicate in English. As the custom clearance procedure can be quite elaborate, it takes a long tme for each of them to clear.

As the time of my connecting flights (from SF to Texas) was close to each other, I missed my transit flight as a result.