Taiwan: Taipei Free and Easy (F&E)

BoneStock

I am planning a F&E trip to Taipei this Dec with my wife and kid. Need to plan early cos my boss is asking for my vacation schedule sweatdrop.gif

Since both my wife and kid are strong supporters of TW variety shows, I think a visit to TW will be interesting for them and they will be able to better relate the places they are going to visit.

After doing some research on the web, the following are some places that I have shortlisted. Appreciate advice from all bros here. The last I visited TW was almost 20 years ago during NS sweatdrop.gif

1) Ximending - heard this place is very happening and if lucky enough can catch glimpses of TW artistes?

2) Shilin night market - makan paradise

3) Change of Guard Ceremony? - worth watching?

4) Rao He night market

5) Wu fen pu - shopping paradise?

6) Taipei 101 - major landmark

7) Danshui - see sunset and some shopping?

8) Leo foo Village - dunno if this is worth visiting; need to find a place for my kid(10 y.o.) to enjoy.

9) any interesting places outside Taipei? advisable to use the new bullet train to get there?

Will be good if those who have been to TW can advise the approx time needed for each location and whether to visit during weekend or weekday. I still have to neg with my boss the number of leaves i can take. Most prob i am looking at 4D3N or 5D4N depending on my leaves....leaving on a Sat.

thanks beri much.

Dansui is definately worth going lot's of XMM

Ximending ...abit sian for guys... but try the or ah mee sua ...

the rest ok lah...

Shilin abit sian leh ..our laupasat better selection ... but can try..

remember to try smelly tofu and also bak uan

My 2 cents worth. Just came bac from Taiwan a couple of months ago.

1) Ximending - A nice place to shop.. A lot of stuff to buy..

2) Shilin night market - A lot of stall selling food. Must go try the food.

3) Change of Guard Ceremony? - I feel not worth it. Just c the guard marchup n down.

4) Rao He night market

5) Wu fen pu - wholesale for ladies fashion. Quite cheap

6) Taipei 101 - Landmark worth taking some pic.. but inside is something is selling those branded stuff.. TOO X

Sugguest u find a hotel to stay near their MRT. Armed with a map, can go anywhere u want. Veryeasy

Some places on the out-skirt of Taipei to consider :

1. Wu Lai - spa and forest http://tw.knowledge.yahoo.com/question/?qid=1205080806643

crw_5926_std.jpg

http://www.wulai-spring.com.tw/images/car.bmp

2. Jiu Fen

http://tw.knowledge.yahoo.com/question/?qid=1005022101921

http://tw.knowledge.yahoo.com/question/?qid=1607021209482

http://tw.knowledge.yahoo.com/question/?qid=1607042509701

Jiufen2.jpg04.jpg3.jpg

3. Neiwan, Lavender Cottage - old street with glass-making and caricature. Haka town.

Lavender cottage is a nice cafe sited on a hill nearby. Awesome view. go to the one in Hsinchu.

http://www.lavendercottage.com.tw/

m04593_2.jpg

just do a search on tw.yahoo.com for more info.

These are day trips that you can do. Might be better to hire a car with driver for the whole day to bring you around. Cost for a 9-seater with driver+petrol+toll is

Edited by Fondue

yeah....I am still considering that change of guard thingy...maybe will drop by if it is along the way...if not, I may just skip it.

As for the hotel, thinking of Kilin because it is 10mins walk to MRT and also XMD. any better hotel to recommend?

wow! thx for the pictures. really nice.thumbsup.gif

yeah, maybe will consider taking one of those day trips if I am able to neg more leaves with my boss. I guess I should able to book these with the hotels right?

btw, suitable to bring my kid to spa? sorry never done this before so suar koosweatdrop.gif

oh yes, i saw that website too....after doing a search in the internet. Most probably i can only make the trip in Dec. Do you know if the weather is good in Dec? Rain?

I am also contemplating on Taiwan cool.gif but friend can't confirm leave yet... any experienced chap here can advise usually by which when it will be almost impossible to book anymore because it is Nov n Dec holiday now...

for me i am planning to make the bookings within the next 2 weeks after confirming leaves with my boss. My OC also need to take leave quickly. Actually it is considered a little bit late now for me even planning a trip in Dec. Nov/Dec is peak season....I would avoid this period if I dun have a kidlipsrsealed.gif

I am so worried that i didnt maange to book because leave pending on my friend side tongue.gif

U decided to get yr own air tix and book yr own hotel?

Or u get a F&E package from agency?

I hope to go 5D4N....meaning i need at least 3 days leave from my boss. If cannot, then settle for 4D3N....but this will be very rushsweatdrop.gif

Me looking at Hotel Kilin....many seem to recommend this one because it is in XMD.

我爱台妹,台妹爱我,

对我来说林志玲算什么.

*song by MC Hotdog*

Nice place with nice girls. [thumbsup]

Enjoy yourself.