Taxi fare & charges in singapore

User12343

The purpose of this adjustment is to attract more taxi drivers, not passengers. This is because many have switched

to driving uber.

But think also many uber driver switched back to taxi lo.

It's a push-pull game.

Taxi got surcharge after midnight, uber don't have.

So uber drivers say what's the point of driving after midnight ? All the calls then go to taxi.

Smart uber drivers only drive during peak hours where there is surge. No surge no drive, business go to taxis.

Now taxis have surge, business go back to uber.

Are we having the most complicated taxi fare system in the world? I think if you do a survey, more than 80% of the people cannot tell you the fare structure. I have no clue and pay what they say not what the meter reads.

We can expect some dispute soon with the complex taxi fare structure.

Especially with certain nationalities when they are more used to paying what they see on the meter and perhaps unable to read English.

Tourists will find it frustrating and much irked by the messy fare structure, imagine if they demand the taxi driver to break down the fare for them. 

Did anyone realise that this is a 2007 piece of news?

Btw, article was referring to 17 December 2007. Not Dec 2017.

Moderator please help to edit thread title, can be pretty misleading.

Edited by Invigorated

Maybe smaller surge, and only for people who booked. And without normal fares coming down. They hear the cabbies want it, so they do it lor. For them the direct source of revenue is rental not fares.

Maybe they are thinking of a semi-surge scheme.

Actually there is already peak charges, now still surge?

The big players are probably senile. They think customers like surge pricing [laugh] [laugh]

Uber/Grab surge pricing actually helps taxis get fares when taking the former is more expensive. Now, they are chasing customers back to Uber/Grab. How stupid can they get? :secret-laugh:

Did anyone realise that this is a 2007 piece of news?

Btw, article was referring to 17 December 2007. Not Dec 2017.

Moderator please help to edit thread title, can be pretty misleading.

No lah

Correct

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/comfortdelgro-is-third-taxi-firm-with-plans-to-introduce-surge-pricing?utm_campaign=Echobox&utm_medium=Social&utm_source=Facebook&xtor=CS1-10#link_time=1488511512&utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social-media&utm_campaign=addtoany

Use old thread

Wait mod scold

damn article dun even explain what the hell surge pricing is like.
looks like i got excuse to keep my ride a little longer.

Car-lite indeed!  [rolleyes]

Taxi gonna be more ex than Tokyo hahahahaha

Err no lah. I took a taxi in 2010, it's a distance of <3km. Something i could have walked but totting too much luggage.

I don't remember the exact fare but it's more expensive than the shuttle bus to the airport  -_-

Worse are the folks who approved this...PTC...ivory tower huggers....

what is our country becoming into....slumland for only the richie rich... [shakehead]

gotta ask the pappies where do they see our country heading towards?

Worse are the folks who approved this...PTC...ivory tower huggers....

what is our country becoming into....slumland for only the richie rich... [shakehead]

gotta ask the pappies where do they see our country heading towards?

I think PTC has no right to stop taxi companies from changing the fare. Taxi coys only need to inform them of the changes.

think Tokyo recently revised the taxi fare downwards.

Only in this sunny island, everything increase, never decrease....

Oooopsss.... only one thing deccrease....

Salary.

Taxi gonna be more ex than Tokyo hahahahaha