poorer acceleration due to increased weight

poorer fc due to increased weight

+

cosmetic wise

cornering stability with a wider tire profile

-

poorer acceleration due to increased weight

poorer fc due to increased weight

What if the 17" rims+tyres are lighter than the 16" one? Also poor acceleration and FC?

Regards,

certainly not =)

but investing in a good forged set of rims would definitely save on accl and fc, and at the same time uping the drool factor. but then the cons would be probably worrying about scratches and theft lor.

even hardcore trackies use a 2nd set of cheap and reasonably weighted track rims just for the trip up north, all worried about damaging their precious rims haha

oh yes, another plus for upping rim size would be to accomodate bbks.. =)

and another minus: cost of 17" rubbers are costly.

Edited by Chemz

1. IMHO, depending on the rim design, some are more forgiving in combating scratches against minor knocks and kerbs.

2. In those racing events, I find them using smaller and thiner tyres instead. Big rims/tyres are for street cars and show-off [laugh].

Regards,

Edited by Kelpie

Agree totally. FC will decrease if u get lightweight rims, esp those 5 spokes rims. The lesses the spokes, the lighter the rims (for most cases). My FC decreases and pickup becomes faster after changing rims. The main thing is to get rims that are better and lighter than your stock rims. Lightweight rims need not be forged rims which cost alot. Some taiwan rims are also lightweight. If u wanna know where to get value for $ and good rims just PM me.

Con is if u change to 5 spokes rims ppl can easily put stones into ur rims [laugh]

The best is when you're changing your stock 16", change them to lightweight 17" ones, eg. forged rims from reputable brands like Rays, SSR, Blitz, Enkei, Advan, etc.

The rims will be wider, meaningn that your tire usage will be a wider profile one as well. This allow for better grip on the road and also better power transfer to the ground for higher horsepower cars, thus preventing wheel slip.

The downside is that there will be the higher cost of 17" tires and also a little bit of increase in fuel consumption, but if you do get the lightweight ones, then the loss of weight should negate the increase in size.

For me, I'd like to run 17" rims in the front and 18" in the rear for increase stability.

u used stock 15" (quite light) > 17" (OZsuperlegg) > 16" (OZsuperlegg current) before...

i using a focus 1.6.

15" to 17"

pros:

- better grip

- better feel of road

- look sexy good

- lighter than my stock setup

- lotsa performance tires to choose from

- easy to tire shine due to 45 profile, one wipe

- lotsa clearence if u wan to upsize brakes kit

cons:

- fuel consumption increase by 10% (50km drop)

- pick up slow laggy

- tires more exp

- easy to ganna kerb rash

- less comfort ride

- more pronouned tire noise

17" to 16"

pros:

- more comfort

- cheaper tires (price in between 15 and 17)

- pickup improve alot

cons:

- fuel consumption not much diff

- grip canot compare to 17"

- cant get top end tires, most are 17" above

- look super small to mi like stock

- still can to ganna kerb rash

summary

there is pros and cons or everything.

i can say i am a fast or corner lover. thus got regrets , should stay at 17".

but now on a more comfortable size, so cant complain.

15" for those stock looks lovers. and budget pple. budget low can change tire more for tracks? hahahah

15" oso like cant ganna kerb so fat tires :P

17" looks super nice. glam factor ! (if u wan looks ,no less than 17" unless u running small cars)

grip is so much better. trade off slower pick up due to car no power :P

tires tot wide variety, but not cheap :(

backside sore if long trip, bumpy ... unless u got a nice suspension setup.

16" for 1.6 is jus nice ,unless u running 2L car above.

comfort and pick up i find jus nice. tires not so exp.

:( look so small, like 15 i find.

grip wise better than my stock 15", so is a in between 15" and 17"

anyway be comfortable of wat u want. and make sure if u wan big. pocket must big.

dun buy liao, sell due to no money buy tires , then most stupid.

and if u like corners... think better 17" , i find 16" not really corner frenly , at least to mi

one last thing to note.... pls dun got up size then buy super lousy tires

wait super lousy grip and super noisy , too bad

Edited by Circuit

I've changed from 15" to 16" to 17" within 6 months of getting my car. Never will wanna downsize again. Fuel consumption increase by 1km/L from stock but rest are pros instead of cons. Except when changing tyres, 17" cost more

Basically it is only losing comfort, if you increase rim size, decrease profile and keeping everything else the same spec(width and brand).

Example:

Better grip - depends on tyre type and width. A 225 width and same kind of tyre makes no diff whether it is 16" or 17".

Increase FC and decrease accel - Only when there is an increase in diameter(rim size + tyre thickness) and width of tyre.

Hi bros can anyone pls highlight the pros and cons from changing 16'' rims to 17'' rims

Wat I can think of are as follow:

Pros

1. Nicer and sporty!

2. Better grip to the road

Cons

1. Slower pickup

2. Poorer FC

3. Tyre more ex