Reduce of road tax on all Vehicles

Wish1719

understand is 15% reducation on road tax on all vehicles

That 15% road tax reduction will only be enough to off-set only a fraction of the ERP charges for most motorists....... just like the GST off-set package. At the end of it all, the collection$ from the ERP gantries will be more than the "loss" of 15% road tax.......

Of course it looks a lot rah. U are paying like 10 times more road tax than OPC mah. So what is 15% for OPC road tax ?

By the time ERP is implented island wide & 24/7, OPC will be pharse out liao lor. Lugi what ? Either that, OPC owners just top-up and convert to normal car lor.

Anyway, u will see more & more normal car parking at home very soon. [sweatdrop]

plz lah...pple here are suckers, having a car is a status thing.

whole day erp or not pple will still buy. worse case, keep the car n use public transport. comes, weekend bring whole family to mscp to wash n wax the car lor. family bonding plus exercise mah thumbsup.gif

reasons being getting a car is so cheeeeeeeeeeeep n getting a loan is even easier than finding pig kidney being sold in pig organ stall laugh.gif

wah me very poor thing leh, people buy car for status, i buy car to work.... dunno what is the next unlucky car sold to me [laugh][laugh][laugh]

hmm can see now...liao...

when i jus shifted into my current place... last yr... normally at nite..

level 3 CP oni ard 1/2 full.

now ... weekday level 4 almost full, weekend level 5. sian climb staircase.

and the number of season parking... increase... more pple buy car.

infact a lot of new cars.

buy car like toy like tat.

was at a point of time, hoping recession come then will tow a fair bit of cars aways due to payment .... evil tots :P

Edited by Circuit

If really island wide ERP, then I also dun mind top up another 2-3k to use as a normal car haha but I know that this will not happen at least for the next 5-8 years. However, this may not be good for those whom seldom drive except on sat/sun and since the gov encourage ppl not to drive to work, they will still remain the OPC for years to come lah.

Reduce road tax by 15% and reduce car import tax from 110% to 100%.

But increase COE by reducing the quota and increase ERP rate is just like come back to square. So is LPPL [laugh]

Those who complain about ERP are actually privileged. We have a choice, to drive or not to - Either choice, we are still paying.

Many have been taking public transport all their life and they are not complaining - Are you sure?

LTA claims this exercise is not a "revenue generating" exercise for the state.

They expect a $70 million a-year increase in ERP, but a total lost of $310 million annually from reduced raod taxes.

WTFFFFFFFFF!!!!!

Why dont they increase 100% on road tax and remove all the gantries ????? [:|][:|][:|][:|][:|]

They always play with words. Should know by now. In the first place, there is no one to publicly audit their numbers.

Edited by Starry

sounds ideally but here's what i observed:-

half the time, traffic congestion might be due to poor road design

i do not mind paying erp but i find i get stuck in traffic congestion most of the time due to road planning

so the monies that has already been collected goes to where? no transparency.

as for public transport, i had the priviledge to take the train yesterday, i observed 2 prc eatg inside the statn while waitg for the train. tellg them off falls on deaf ear. so, perhaps, the authorities shd be firm with them. educated through the purse-strings, use the fines collected to spruce up the conditions of our train?

The problem here is you do not mind paying erp, hence the congestion.

Some may say why pay and still jam, I'll say, because the ERP rate is too low to change people's traveling pattern. The road may clear up if LTA were to raise the rates to beyond $10. But I think they are doing a balancing act of maximizing revenue without scaring too many cars off the road. Bringing the rates up to $10 may actually bring the total ERP revenue down. I always think those 50cents gantries are a joke.

Those who complain about ERP are actually privileged. We have a choice, to drive or not to - Either choice, we are still paying.

Yes. And your point is?

Many have been taking public transport all their life and they are not complaining - Are you sure?

Yes. I use MANY, not ALL.

That's because there are always people who think that as long as they are paying, they can complain.

understand is 15% reducation on road tax on all vehicles

Any specific date when it will be implement as mine next road tax is in Feb leh??

it will take effect from 1st Jul

most probably season parking increase will be around the same time [thumbsdown]

why increase? dun like tat leh [sweatdrop]

You are right on that score about not minding the erp.

But you have missed my points. My points are, the revenue collected from erp could have gone into widening those roads that are heavily utilised. I did try to change my route but ended up getting stuck because some drivers choose to use alternative routes.

Most of the time, I choose to use the roads with erp cos it served as a direct link to the places that I want to get to at the fastest time but then I realised that the time spend is similar or even longer had I choose to use other routes.

p/s: Oh I also worry my 2 cashcard falls below minimum value of $50 laugh.gif each. Our marnee is so small, average $50 can cover about 3days travel in S'pore.

Yes, our money is indeed getting smaller with inflation.

I too keep 2 cashcards, topping up alternately $50 each time.

Fearing not having enough credit to get into town using the CTE every morning. [sweatdrop]

u'r really not getting the point

our government is increasingly becoming more like how a MNC is being run.

1) "minsters" are highly paid like CEOs

2) Dividends given yearly to appease shareholders in the form of GST rebates

3) Monopolize elections like how microsoft eats away competitors

4) many more in my mind but i dont wish to go jail....

LTA has become a profit making agency already.

IT IS THE MONEY!

NOT THE PEOPLE!

me agree with you too, i always come in to work before 7:30am and hardly pass by any ERP.. so saving for me too..

sooner or later, i tell u, before 2010, a few ERP gantries will be whole day.