More ex for servicing of continental cars ?

Kayaki

hi there,

just to check , it is more ex servicing of continental cars ?

as per compared to Japs cars ?

even servicing in 3rd party workshop also ex ?

hope to hear comments..

thanks

kayaki

Typical oil + spark plug change and servicing costs about $200+ for a BMW but the service interval is 25,000km. Its not that expensive if you ask me.

wah Dude your service interval so long?

Is it becos new model BMW, service interval longer?

Mine E60 only 15,000km....

I agree it's not overly expensive, quite standard.

And one can choose to go elsewhere beside PML to do it..

a myth tat needs busting..

of cos, those Jap owners who kena a big bill from their AD just sux thumb and keep quiet.

and i know many kenaed alr..

Generally, yes. There are usually less choice of parts and stockist. Parts usually cost more and so is labour cost for some servicing eg. flush radiator (no Jap-style drain plug), etc...

dont think its a conti vs japanese issue there about the quantity of oil needed. A 1.6l conti eg ope astra needs no more oil than a jap counterpart.

i would reckon its the spare parts price that most people refer to when discussing conti maintenance. that i agree.

It really have to depend.

If you know about the tips on vehicle maintenance, conti maintenance is also still quite affordable.

i think the difference will be more visible with major service that require change of parts.

eg timing belt and the likes.

its the conti parts that cost more

plus not forgetting if things spoil, eg autobox, prepare to pay alot more.

Typical oil + spark plug change and servicing costs about $200+ for a BMW but the service interval is 25,000km. Its not that expensive if you ask me.

200+ only? not from PML I suppose?

Servicing is alirght, it's more of the parts replacement and also depending on the make and model. The common ones are cheaper of course.

hi there,

just to check , it is more ex servicing of continental cars ?

as per compared to Japs cars ?

even servicing in 3rd party workshop also ex ?

hope to hear comments..

thanks

kayaki

dirt cheap actually....and we do it once a year....if you compare others, intervals 10k....2x a year...thus I find it actually cheeper

Actually if the owner is versed with the vehicle, knows what to do with the vehicle. Equips himself with the adequate spare parts lists like TecDoc. Chances of keeping maintenance low is still possible.

But you are still right to say that conti parts costs more compared to the asian counterparts whereby they have the Thai, Malaysian, Indonesian made versions.

Thats why regular proper maintenance is essential. But sadly, many people just dump the car to the workshop and expects the workshop to do 100% of the job and 100% perfect. And so some workshops also unsheath the cleaver and demonstrates their swordsmanship on the customers.

I thought all BMWs' service intervals are 25,000km?

I cant be sure, maybe i'm wrong.

but i sibei kiasu. definitely by 15,000 i will change oil and sparks.

For my Jap cars in the past i change about 8,000km.

Do you reset the OBD service interval when you change oil and spark plugs?

The way I drive... probably no need to change oil even at 25,000km [:p]