How much does the gahmen tax on our cars?

Shull

Damn..the most expensive GTR recommended selling price in US is USD 72k..

taking dollar for dollar..72k cant even buy a mid range jap executive saloon..after conversion, it's barely SGD 100k

that said, car lovers shouldn't stay in SG..even up north and down under is better..

Down under is very good..up north not that much betta actually..in fact some models up north is comparable to ours..

I can easily buy my dream alfa GT or 159 if I stay down under... [:/]

Not only cars...HDB also taxed hor!

No choice lah. LPPL if you are a Singaporean with no where else to migrate to.

In Singapore, when rules are made unfavourably, it will only be changed when foreigners complain.

Just look at the recent Taxi in CBD hoo-haa. You think if the foreigner never write to the ST to complain about his FT clients having difficulties getting to offices in CDB area, will LTA make a U-turn?

You think if hotels in CDB never make a complain to LTA that the rule is affecting the tourist who stays there, will LTA make a U-turn?

Another example, the Income tax lower rates. Again, it was made to attract high income foreigners to come to Singapore.

You want another clear cut example? Take the casino entrance fees. Maids, Bangala, foreigners/tourist can enter for free, but Singaporeans has to pay a fee of $100 per entry.

Just observe the news and changes made by the various Singapore agencies , most of the time foreigners/tourist are the beneficiary of whatever rules/incentives they impose.

Precisely...read alr damn TL...locals write to ST to highlight some stupid rules/policies they usually bochap..but FTs write they immed take action to change it..I think this is the only country in the world where FTs are treated better than locally-born citizens.. [shakehead]

No need talk dream car was talking to my freind from USA last Fri.....full spec 3litre Camry only US$31k...... [jawdrop]

cars up north are not that cheap actually. if you wanna compare

vios 79k RM RAV4 203k Altis 1.6 102k camry 141k

jazz vtec 103k civic 1.8 113k

down under would be better. but then if you dun pay on cars you also pay on something else.

[thumbsdown] Exactly lah !!! My company got few china PRs and enjoying good benefits and 1 of them converted to sillyporean few years back together with her husband and they enjoyed HDB grant, baby bonus, ERS, GST rebates 100% same as all of us born here at KK, Mt Alvernia, Mt Elizabeth or even at home, taxis (where ever u name it. Those of us born here got to serve NS, do revervists and if war, got to hold the gun and fight ! How about these 1/2 way turn sillyporeans ???!!! Worst of all, many scholarships were given to all these ^&)(^@$%&& [thumbsdown]

taking dollar for dollar..72k cant even buy a mid range jap executive saloon..after conversion, it's barely SGD 100k

that said, car lovers shouldn't stay in SG..even up north and down under is better..

this one, i'm afraid there's nothing we can do. dun tax sure jam. LPPL [:/]

i rather they make homes much cheaper and whack for cars. [lipsrsealed] EVERYONE needs a home. for most of us, car is lifestyle/luxury. got pubic tpt mah [:p]

actually with petrol prices, motorists already kena whack lor [shakehead]

i think even UK (with its world famous London jam and sky high congestion charges) tax lesser on the motorists right?

All cars are not worth buying here.

This will be a good signature

110% ARF,import tax 30-40%,GST 7%,40% petrol tax,road tax,insurance,parking,ERP=tons of $$$$$,driving test fees and traffic and parking fines as well.

Got to pay the price for the safest place to live in this world ! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Safest place to live can let 1 CPL sneak out of camp with loaded live rounds to Orchard and let 1 paika escape from high security centre..

steady lah!!! [thumbsup]

If you look back at some postings

many forumers argue that cars here are cheap because they said car price have dropped

but they dont realized is that the drop in car price is made up by the maintenance cost