Yet Another Car Catches Fire...

Typhoonz

26 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

I read it was a rental car.

If someone put a 70% alcohol hand sanitizer for a while in the car and then he proceed to light a cigarette, is there a danger? Genuine question.

It's possible..

The maotai sellers used to light up their wines to demonstrate their high alcohol content, and that is less than 70%..

But in this case, maybe a poorly maintained fuel line or radiator ruptured? I can't imagine how well these rental cars are maintained?

37 minutes ago, Blueray said:

hmmm ... i doubt 70% is that flammable ?

yes, its rental car, so maintenance and could also be a factor.

this model of mazda 3 is not that old too.

70% is flammable actually. I read before. But it’s those isopropyl alcohol. Not sure about hand sanitizer.

3 hours ago, Blueray said:

looks like fire is from cabin.

fell asleep smoking in car ?

electrical add on inside car not wired properly ?

Whatever the cause, you and I can be sure nothing will come out of it. Coroner will rule a "tragic misadventure".

There won't be any rules or regulations being passed if this was due to some oversight or what.

If due to electrical short-circuit due to some bad worksmanship by workshops, you can bet that workshops will still take shortcuts when splicing electrical wires when customer needs some wiring work done like installation of sound systems, in-car cameras etc.

If due to smoking inside car, meh - nothing will/can change...

Everyone just watch the video and say "oh so sad, so young, so tragic" - then everyone moves on with their lives the next day instantaneously.

4 hours ago, Mustank said:

I don’t know leh

juat keep lor

if keep too long then before use must shake first then use 

take out not working then sway lor

There is expiry date to all distinguisher. 

Google there are some company doing walk in fill up.

I would suggest beside extinguisher one can consider those fire blanket. More handy in time of emergency I reckon. 

3 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

70% is flammable actually. I read before. But it’s those isopropyl alcohol. Not sure about hand sanitizer.

i don't think hand sanitiser's are that flammable lah ... otherwise will have warning labels pasted everywhere already. 

this fire was not very big and confined to the cabin. looking unlikely that its an electrical short circuit fire, me thinks. 

13 hours ago, Kopites said:

There is expiry date to all distinguisher. 

Google there are some company doing walk in fill up.

I would suggest beside extinguisher one can consider those fire blanket. More handy in time of emergency I reckon. 

Nobody bring one lah

all say this one good that one good

nobody do one lah

then when problem come, people say how come nobody has fire extinguisher :XD:

after so many, anyone here got put fire extinguisher in car? Hahaha don’t have :XD:

Edited by Mustank

6 minutes ago, Mustank said:

Nobody bring one lah

nobody do one lah

after so many, anyone here got put fire extinguisher in car? Hahaha don’t have :XD:

I have one given by supplier but find it cumbersome inside the car so opted for a fire blanket instead. Neatly folded up inside the glove compartment. 

47 minutes ago, Mustank said:

Nobody bring one lah

nobody do one lah

I have a 1kg one in my car but many years. That’s why want to renew/refill.

Edited by Fcw75

11 hours ago, Yamapi said:

Article from xin ming today

Screenshot-20220108-173057.jpg

The Paper said this Engineer missed a chance to save the Driver from the Burning Car,do you think alot of People like the Tanjong Pager Accident,where the Lady rush to the Burning M4 to save his Boyfriend.?

If a car door is auto lock and cannot auto unlock after accident or engine is off. I think this is not safe.

At least I know my previous 2006 German car, door lock up when drive off and auto unlock once engine is off.

Edited by Tohto

4 minutes ago, Tohto said:

If a car door is auto lock and cannot auto unlock after accident or engine is off. I think this is not safe.

At least I know my previous 2006 German, door lock up when drive off and auto unlock once engine is off.

My friend smashed up his BMW E46 eons ago.

Doors unlocked, engine off and hazard light on.

3 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

My friend smashed up his BMW E46 eons ago.

Doors unlocked, engine off and hazard light on.

My last car is E90.

I know most conti even hard emergency braking hazard light will also auto turn On.

Edited by Tohto

1 hour ago, Symantec9 said:

hmm....the sequence of the pictures a bit sal-lah ? then notice the time in the picture all within one minute ? 5:58 to 5:59 ?

the picturees are the screen capture from his phone, the times reflect the phone's time, not when the pictures were taken. 

bye the way this is a COE model? 

Edited by Ct3833