Is national security about luck?

Apollo

April 15, 2008 JI escape: One blot should not mar good work, says Jaya By Zakir Hussain

THE escape of Jemaah Islamiah (JI) leader Mas Selamat Kastari from detention has understandably resulted in public criticism of Singapore's security agencies.

But Deputy Prime Minister S. Jayakumar yesterday cautioned against letting this one incident overshadow the bigger picture: what he described as the truly outstanding work of the Home Team and Internal Security Department (ISD) in keeping Singapore safe.

'Since 1966, men and women from the ISD have dedicated themselves to fighting threats to Singapore's domestic security,' he said, citing groups such as the Japanese Red Army, the Tamil Tigers, and more recently, the local JI network.

Indeed, had the JI's plans for several bomb attacks here not been exposed in time, 'Singapore would have suffered disastrous consequences', he said.

Mas Selamat, who led the Singapore JI network, fled in the aftermath of the 2001 crackdown. He was nabbed in Indonesia and handed over to the Singapore authorities in 2006.

His escape from the Whitley Road Detention Centre on Feb 27 sparked a manhunt.

Professor Jayakumar, who was Home Affairs Minister from 1985 to 1993, also noted the warning issued by the Provisional Irish Republican Army after its bombing of a Brighton hotel in 1984 failed to kill then British Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher.

The group said: 'Today we were unlucky, but remember we only have to be lucky once. You will have to be lucky always...'

These chilling words came back to him, he said, because Mas Selamat's escape was threatening to make people forget the good work that the ISD had done over the years.

The escape was a blot on its copybook, and even more so than the public, ISD 'must feel keenly' the seriousness of the setback, he said.

'But the ISD officers have not been paralysed or demoralised. They are as determined now as they were seven years ago when they first identified the JI threat and took prompt action...

'They have continued working patiently and resolutely with the detainees, their families, and the Malay community. These are crucial yet delicate tasks, and the officers deserve our full support.'

Prof Jayakumar, who is also Coordinating Minister for National Security, was speaking at a conference of security officials organised by the S. Rajaratnam School of International Studies (RSIS) and the National Security Coordination Secretariat.

Noted RSIS dean Barry Desker: 'Precisely because no society can be impervious to attack, we must focus on resilience. It's not how or how often you fall that matters, but the getting up again.'

[email protected]

there's no doubt abt ISD, even with drug busting groups.. but why the snr minister mention luck? dun think their paycheck was benchmark against luck...

whenever they come out once in 2 weeks to give updates about Mas Selamat, all I hear is their own positive thinking and praising how good they actually are etc.

And they will drill that mas selamat escape has brought the nation together, improve harmony and all those c.o.c.k crap.

We dont deserve S$3 million a year crap, do we?

interesting they say abt LTTE... tamil tiger

here's another article

LTTE number two detained on court order14-04-2008

Muthusamy Ilangovan alias Saamy, a Singaporean alleged to be the second- in-command of the LTTE international shipping network has even cheated his own organisation, police revealed in court last week.

The Mutwal police sought a detention order against the suspect when the case was taken up before the Colombo Additional Magistrate Ravindra Premaratne.

The Mutwal police informed court that the suspect is the agent appointed by the LTTE to collect funds in countries such as Australia, New Zealand and Fiji and to deposit them in the Tiger office in Singapore.

However, he had failed to honour that obligation. The Mutwal police sought permission of court to detain him in Sri Lanka and to interrogate him under police custody. Police also told court that the suspect had close contacts with leading LTTEers, including Velupillai Prabhakaran.

The Additional Magistrate, having listened to the submissions, gave the permission to detain the suspect till May 7 and to interrogate him.

siao siao... another top terrorist... dunno if they will fly him back to join the Whitley band.

Edited by Apollo

u 6 early 7 early looking for ur lurver, ask Tony76 & Porker lah. if 3 of them missing, u sud know wat happened.

whenever they come out once in 2 weeks to give updates about Mas Selamat, all I hear is their own positive thinking and praising how good they actually are etc.

And they will drill that mas selamat escape has brought the nation together, improve harmony and all those c.o.c.k crap.

We dont deserve S$3 million a year crap, do we?

They will as usual take turn to praise themself and what is next? Increase salary?

Wont be surprised if they increase salary again now instead of nearing to the next GE.

$300,000 a month is really not enough for some greedy pigs.. I walked around my estate and see those cardboard aunties in their 80s carrying heavy stuff to sell and earning S$500 a month, i feel sad for them.

One whole lot of bird talk...

Aiyah talk cxxk sing song story.....Remember when our government said there is no more iron rice bowl..Actually the same lah...What u did loyalty to the government will no longer be appreciated that why lots of us been retrenched in someways.... [rifle][hur]

this conversation should be in talkingc-ock.com...Not on paper... [thumbsdown] What luck? If it is a screw up , it is a screw up...Remember all bosses only remember the bad work done..not the good work...So guess he have not been in the private sector to realise the culture of a true business world... [thumbsdown]

Who are their bosses? Rightfully we should be since they are paying themselves millions per year of our hard earned tax money...