LG/Samsung/Sony TVs

Zoner

Looking at these 3 models:

1)LG scarlet 42LG60FR. Quoted by HN 2599.(free dvd player).

Quoted by another shop 2388(no free gift)

2)Samsung LN40A650. quoted by HN 3339. (free HT).

Quoted by another shop 3339. (Same free gift).

3)Sony Bravia KLV40W400A. Quoted by HN 3099(no free gift).

Quoted by another shop 2888(no free gift)

Questions:

a)Any difference between soft/hard panels. HN staff says that 2nd and 3rd option are of soft panel. Option 1 is hard panel. Any pros/cons of soft?

b)Is the above three of reasonable price or still ex?

Lastly, am targeting the LG for now...open to all views....

Thanks for reading

Edited by Zoner

LG/Samsung - Kimchi

Sony - Jippun..

furthermore, Sony's quality has been consistently good..

I had a 21" Sony CRT bought in 1991..until now still going strong.. [thumbsup]

brand may be those country u stated...

they may not be manufactured there.... mostly in Malaysia and Thailand nowadays

I suggest you wait for the PC show in June. You can get fantastic deal there. My frend got a good deal there, a 37" after discount, petrol voucher and shopping voucher only $1299. [nod]

Soft panel means that if children take something and whack again the LCD panel, the panel will be damaged but hard panel will protect the LCD panel. Go for hard panel if you have kids around.

PC show in June... [idea] ...yeah, why didn't i think of that,just around the corner.

So the soft panel vs hard panel is only the physical contact. But it seems to me that

soft panel got a clearer contrast than hard panel. Was comparing bet sony bravia(soft panel 30000:1) and the LG model(hard panel 50000:1)

Just FYI.

Sony and Samsung had a joint venture LCD panel manufacturing plant in Korea.

LG and Phillip had also a joint venture LCD panel plant in Korea.

For the above 4 brand, some of the LCD panel are produce from the same plants. Sony & Samsung from same plant. LG and Philip from same plant.

Yes, wait for the show in June. Sure got good deals.

Not sure is it PC Show, IT Show or COMEX. Nowadays every 3 mths got one, I oso confused. [laugh]

Regarding the type of panel, I'm not sure about the contrast...paiseh.

actually..i got a pretty good deal abt 4 weeks back..

Samsung 40" FullHD selling at $1699 from Audiohouse..

at first can't believe it..but yup, it's true..

Looking at these 3 models:

1)LG scarlet 42LG60FR. Quoted by HN 2599.(free dvd player).

Quoted by another shop 2388(no free gift)

2)Samsung LN40A650. quoted by HN 3339. (free HT).

Quoted by another shop 3339. (Same free gift).

3)Sony Bravia KLV40W400A. Quoted by HN 3099(no free gift).

Quoted by another shop 2888(no free gift)

Questions:

a)Any difference between soft/hard panels. HN staff says that 2nd and 3rd option are of soft panel. Option 1 is hard panel. Any pros/cons of soft?

b)Is the above three of reasonable price or still ex?

Lastly, am targeting the LG for now...open to all views....

Thanks for reading

Hihi,

Firstly, I must say im not an expert in this field but did read up a bit here and there when I bought my 2 LVD TV. IMHO, for brand wise, I will go for LG and samsung. The specs for LG is quite good.

I dun prefer Sony TV as I feel that it is slightly overpriced. I dunno how true, but i was told by the salesperson that Sony actually bought the display panels from samsung and den assemble, hence costs slightly higher.

You may want to check out GainCity, cos their prices there are quite competitive. Even during PC fair, they will have promotions to compete during that period too, hence you may be able to get a good bargain.

Disclaimer: Im not in anyway related to Gaincity, haha

I mention earlier already, Samsung and Sony had a joint venture LCD panel plant in Korea.

My company made equipment for LCD panel manufacturing, they are our customer.

Just bought a 55" LG OLED and noticed that the TV does not able to detect my Bluetooth headphone. I understand from some forums saying that LG TV does not support other brand of wireless, except LG. No sure if this is true.

I called up LG service to verify. Was told that LG technology is "high tech" and under "wireless sound sync". Therefore, I should look out for headphone that is able to support wireless sound sync. My current headphone is a bluetooth one, so unable to connect to LG TV. Bluetooth and wireless sound sync are different. Although I am not a technical guy, but I have a feeling that he is BS.

Is this correct ? Anyone wants to clarify on this ?

Pls share. 

Thank you.

Just bought a 55" LG OLED and noticed that the TV does not able to detect my Bluetooth headphone. I understand from some forums saying that LG TV does not support other brand of wireless, except LG. No sure if this is true.

I called up LG service to verify. Was told that LG technology is "high tech" and under "wireless sound sync". Therefore, I should look out for headphone that is able to support wireless sound sync. My current headphone is a bluetooth one, so unable to connect to LG TV. Bluetooth and wireless sound sync are different. Although I am not a technical guy, but I have a feeling that he is BS.

Pls share. 

Thank you.

It seems to be a compatibility problem.

Not all bluetooth devices are equal, there's quite a few version.

http://forums.webosnation.com/lg-webos-tv/328403-lg-sound-sync-wireless.html

Maybe this will explain why pairing fails, probably the LG is bluetooth "smart"

http://www.techlicious.com/how-to/how-to-fix-bluetooth-pairing-problems/

Edited by Kb27

Pls share. 

Thank you.

Hi Bro,

I'm looking to buy an OLED B6 model. So far the cheapest was from Best Denki for me.

Do you mind sharing your pricing and model you got ? 

I thought all bluetooth is the same.

So for adult educational vidoes in surround sound

I will need to get the extra blue bluetooth for it to work?

Edited by Jamesc

Hi Bro,

I'm looking to buy an OLED B6 model. So far the cheapest was from Best Denki for me.

Do you mind sharing your pricing and model you got ? 

No problem, I got OLED 55EG910T from Gaincity Marina SQ branch 2 weeks ago @ S$2,658 (3+ 2 yrs warranty), include wall mounting.

As far happy with the viewing except this pairing issue..Sigh...

It seems to be a compatibility problem.

Not all bluetooth devices are equal, there's quite a few version.

http://forums.webosnation.com/lg-webos-tv/328403-lg-sound-sync-wireless.html

Maybe this will explain why pairing fails, probably the LG is bluetooth "smart"

http://www.techlicious.com/how-to/how-to-fix-bluetooth-pairing-problems/

Thks for the info, bro.

So may I know why is your suggestion ? Get a LG headphone ? unlikely cos I have already got 2 , not going to spend more...

Any bluetooth dongle available in the market can helps ?