Alternative to having maids

Redz

That's what we're doing now. Cost is high!!! [shakehead][shakehead][furious][furious]

Monthly cost:

Part time maid: $120

Nanny for small one: $500

Childcare for big one : $650

Tingkat Dinner : $200

Total: $1470

Will have to bite the bullet until the big boy goes to pri then consider getting maid or other alternatiives. With is money, can go buy another 2.0l car plus spare change for car wash... [bigcry][bigcry]

wow, very siong leh.

put in this way, you will see a clearer picture:-

part-time maid: $120

nanny: $500

tingkat: $200

total: $820 can pay for:-

maid's salary: $350

fwl: $170

savings = $300 right

bad part: increase in utilities, food cost, surveilliance cost, lack of privacy plus the headaches if cannot get along.

good part: come home got food to eat (good or bad depend on how much u can teach her), no need to clean the hse, got time for yrself, wash yr car??

truth facts:-

some maids are cunning, purposely sabo cooking so that no need to cook. some will chut patterns once they hv finished their loan.

somehow, threads like this remind me just what a pain kids will be in our behind [knife]

but discussed with wifey. in event of accident, better she become a full-time tutor and look after our kid herself than to get a maid, day care, or entrust the child to either of our parents (not likely to be very good for the child).

one sickening thing abt hiring maid (not the maid!) is that u pay gahmen more than u pay the maid [rolleyes]

Self service lor... Save money, no wayward maids to worry about, no extra mouth to feed, more privacy at home, can exercise more, no extra person to spend on...etc. The list goes on...

You missed out on a lot of unseen expenses on having a FDW...besides those listed by you...

1) FDW spoils your things in your place!...who is to replace and pay? [sly]

2) Uses maintanence tools and spoils them quickly!...who is to buy replacement after replacement?.. [:/]

3) Falls sick and medical is ON YOU! [:/]

4) Detergent, floor cleaners etc...that could last a mth or more...seem to be used up in a couple of days !!! [:/]

5)Clothes seem less clean than you were to expect! [sly]

All in...expenses should be close to $800 or more per month! [sly][laugh]

is there any alternatives instead of employing a maid? as we know, some of them comes with unwanted baggage be it socially or otherwise. and funny thing, not much protection are given to employers on this wayward maids but there are tonnes of law that protects them.... very weird. eg, if they are pregnant, run away....employers are to blame?? what part are we involved in getting them pregnant or run away? by giving them off days that are required by law? whose law was that in the first place? sigh.... in dilemma now.

You have to decide, ..... what is your wife's salary and if there are opportunity gains if she continue working. If not, then consider asking your wife to quit and be full time housewife. It may be cheaper then hiring a local maid plus plus plus all other expenses of sending the kids to child care etc....

is there any alternatives instead of employing a maid? as we know, some of them comes with unwanted baggage be it socially or otherwise. and funny thing, not much protection are given to employers on this wayward maids but there are tonnes of law that protects them.... very weird. eg, if they are pregnant, run away....employers are to blame?? what part are we involved in getting them pregnant or run away? by giving them off days that are required by law? whose law was that in the first place? sigh.... in dilemma now.

If kids is the only issue, why not get a Nanny? surely cheaper than childcare.

actually when u hv a maid, u hv to be prepared for alot of "hidden" costs.

been there, done that won't be relying on maid anymore. thank god!!

btw nanny n childcare, the latter better value and at least TS knows the whereabouts of his kids.

Yes, a lot of hidden costs.

Bring family out, if need maid, maid's meals, entrance fees, transport - you pay.

1 more person live in the house, extra utilities bills - you pay.

If maid is good, her birthday present - you pay.

If maid is not good, surveillance equipment - you pay.

...just to name a few. Basically everything you pay. [sweatdrop]

If maid is not good, surveillance equipment - you pay.

good one!

You have to decide, ..... what is your wife's salary and if there are opportunity gains if she continue working. If not, then consider asking your wife to quit and be full time housewife. It may be cheaper then hiring a local maid plus plus plus all other expenses of sending the kids to child care etc....

understood...but with the cost going up on everything except pay....how to survive?

yup, better hv her work otherwise she's be taking out her frustrations of being a SAHM on u.

no choice living here lor. must work and work to pay and pay

btw...anyone can recommend me on installing cameras?

Edited by Redz

mY iNDO MAID make love with her bangla bf on my bed...

Caught red handed.

till now no maid oredi... haha...

I personally feel that the best is to let your relatives or spouses to take care of your the kids. Save all the hassel. [:|][:|]