First Car & First Accident

Alexius

engine area still ok....just wonder how much it will cost...love my ride

post-1-1211100697_thumb.jpg

Was there a red-light camera or J-eye at the junction? The TP should be able to review the recordings, if any, to prove which party is at fault.

Like what the others said, if the traffic light is green at the time of accident, you're likely at fault (careless driving) as the straight-going car has right of way. If it's red light with green arrow, it's the other party at fault.

Did you sign the gentleman form with the other driver?

The car is repair-able, looks like the chassis is not damaged too. You can engage your workshop to make the necessary claims, on top of the repairs. Will the premium go up? If the case could not be settled by the time you renew your insurance, the claims will be treated as OD claim, hence will go up. If TP ruled that you're at fault, your premium will definitely go up. If you managed to claim full from the other party, then your premium is not affected.

hmmm....I checked and there was no oncoming traffic that is why I moved off....I am puzzled.... [dizzy][dizzy]

From your description of the accident...cfm 101% your fault liao [shakehead]

Left door have to change,left wheel,suspension,axle...most probably few thousands.

Your strut bar in a way helps the chasis

Dont quote me,just estimation

Edited by Route88

Looks like the repair will be a quite a hefty sum. The front LH fender, front left door, left side skirt, and corresponding internal panals, and front left upright/kingpin and driveshaft have to be replaced. Of course, not forgetting the repainting work.

Here are the pictures of my car.... bigcry.gifbigcry.gifbigcry.gif
Edited by Huggable

Put that down during your TP interview and it will be 100% your fault, I'm serious.

hmmm....I checked and there was no oncoming traffic that is why I moved off....I am puzzled.... dizzy.gifdizzy.gif

your engine bay looks ok.... at least the damage is to your door... if it is to the bay, i shudder at the potential cost.... any response, if you are expecting any, from the mini-bus driver ?

don't mind another question ok ? were you distracted when you are driving i.e. friends talking or listening to music ?

this type of case 50/50. my father friend kena, he is a school mini-bus driver.

he claim the other party just dash out n causes him to e-brake but too late. so 50% liability. he was faulted for not 'anticipating' at x junction.

looks like u have totalled yr ride. tough luck.

Definately not total.

Btw, that day u said my 2nd hand sonata was an accident car ? Are u sure abt it ? Or u just say it for fun just like this thread ?

So far i'll driven it for 1+ mth liao, no extradorinary sound over humps nor at high speeds(150km/hr). Only the modify exhaust was done with poor workmanship, hence was knocking the walls giving rattling sounds. I replace the exhaust for a few hundred bucks. Its ok now.

Guess the ex-owner install quite an expensive ICE. Tha was removed. That i can understand.

Any other things u wana tell me abt this car ? [cool]

nope...initially he asked me not to call TP, just claim insurance and settle privately. Bcoz this is my 1st accident, I call TP and promptly get medical help for my loved ones....as for ur second question, we weren't talking at that moment as they know I am a new driver and the music wasn't on either. Any specific reasons for this questions?

Edited by Alexius

nowadays many cases 50%-50%.

So is it better to buy third party insurance? To save on some cost? Especially more so for older cars?

Most insurance companies like to settle for 50-50. TP case will be different.

For cars still under hire-purchase, some companies don't allow third-party coverage. For older cars, or cars not under instalment, buy third-party, and drive carefully.

Just a question post to see wether u are distracted by other things.

Anyway a lesson learnt from this incident,just prepare for the worst ,to be fine and lose ur NCB.

hi bro, thanks for the reply.

sounds fishy when he requested for a private settlement. usually one will initiate such an action if he thinks he might have caused the accident. as for were you distracted, it could be a make or break thing for you if you answer 'incorrectly', should this same question were to be asked by TP.

my advice, work closely with your insurer and close this matter asap. i am concerned that should TP get deeper into this, it may worsen the whole situation.

you got your license recently ? coz if you are and TP were to find fault with you, you will get potential demerit points bro.

money gone in repairing. NCB gone and insurance costs shoot through the roof. fine and demerit from TP. triple whammy bro.

get my point ? [;)]

Edited by Johnyeow

this type of case 50/50. my father friend kena, he is a school mini-bus driver.

he claim the other party just dash out n causes him to e-brake but too late. so 50% liability. he was faulted for not 'anticipating' at x junction.

looks like u have totalled yr ride. tough luck.

No need total? Don't scare him lah.. His car condition 100% can be repaired!

See the below pic, my previous car like that also can be repaired, even kanna the firewall. I drove it for a further 1.5 yrs after the accident and export the car body for $10K. Had quoted in the forum before as this happened in 2005, don't mind share again. Authorised dealer quoted $30K to repair and advise total the car. I did some homework went to 1 of AIG approved workshop and got it repaired for $5.3K. Only 1 AIG approved workshop quoted $5K+, the rest quoted $10K and above. Good workmanship!

post-1-1211103178_thumb.jpg

Edited by Amazon777

I travelled on the 2nd lane of a 3 lane road and making a right turn at towards PIE (btw, this is a straight and right turn lane). IT was a green light for me and my car was at a complete stop. There was an island and I had to inched foward to check for oncoming vehicles on my left. It was clear henceforth I proceed for the turn. About 3/4 way thru the turn, my front passenger shouted to me that a vehicle was about to crach into our vehicle.....wham....it came....pushing my car to the next lane on my right....I was shocked [shocked] and my front passenger took the full force of the impact. I came out of the car and looked....damn...my first car and my first accident with the ppl I loved most in it....I shocked [shocked] and worried [smallcry] ....next I took the steps I know best, call the police.....an the rest is history.... [:|]

Here are the pictures of my car.... [bigcry][bigcry][bigcry]

U dun stand a good chance my bro... you are liable from 50% - 80% minimum.

Perhaps u shd consider claim OD liao.