Anyone make good money from stock market?

Actually I do feel that current valuations on SGX are pretty reasonable. Although it is likely the market might trend further down, but if you have a 2-3 year horizon, blue chips are definitely worth picking up!

No all blue chip can make it. DBS was near $30 in year 2000 and never reach that price since then. Now only $18+.

For those who have cleared their positions, I have this little advice to offer:

1. Be in no hurry to go back into the market. There may be technical rebounds (like what's happening to Wall street tonite) but don't rush in thinking that you may missed the boat

2. Only if you have deep pockets, you may consider playing the market small & long. In small lots but long positions

3. Dumb's right! Not all blues are doable. Do your own homework, talk to people whom you may trust

4. The counter which you would expect to give you a higher quantum when market turns around positively long, you should take a longer time to buy them in for example Capitaland. She has some downward way to go but when she turns, should be rewarding. I like Keppel land too!

5. I also like Keppel Corp & Semb Corp Marine. But, also not ready to go in as yet

6. If your hands are really itchy and have deep pockets, may consider small & long counters like SPH & Singtel

7. But, if you can really avoid it, don't go point 6 yet caused the market is real shxtty

[rifle]

Happy investing! [:)]

When there is a stock-market boom, and everyone is scrambling for common stocks, take all your common stocks and sell them. Take the proceeds and buy conservative bonds. No doubt that the stocks you sold will go higher. Pay no attention to this - just wait for the depression, which will come sooner or later. When the depression - or panic - becomes a national catastrophe, sell out the bonds (perhaps at a loss) and buy back the stocks. No doubt the stocks will go still lower. Again pay no attention. Wait for the next boom. Continue to repeat this process as long as you live, and you have the pleasure of dying rich.

A glance at financial history will show that there never was a generation for whom this advice would not have worked splendidly. But it distresses me to report that I have never enjoyed the social acquaintance of anyone who managed to do it

Semb Marine is very very volatile, can go up suddenly (good news from sign new contract la... bla bla bla) and then can drop drastically

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

zhun! [furious]

Bro dun worry, going up again ... I gain a lot from this counter, yet looses more tahn I gain [shakehead] very very volatile.... look at the graph... like roller coaster ride

1. Be in no hurry to go back into the market. There may be technical rebounds (like what's happening to Wall street tonite) but don't rush in thinking that you may missed the boat

2. Only if you have deep pockets, you may consider playing the market small & long. In small lots but long positions

3. Dumb's right! Not all blues are doable. Do your own homework, talk to people whom you may trust

4. The counter which you would expect to give you a higher quantum when market turns around positively long, you should take a longer time to buy them in for example Capitaland. She has some downward way to go but when she turns, should be rewarding. I like Keppel land too!

5. I also like Keppel Corp & Semb Corp Marine. But, also not ready to go in as yet

6. If your hands are really itchy and have deep pockets, may consider small & long counters like SPH & Singtel

7. But, if you can really avoid it, don't go point 6 yet caused the market is real shxtty

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

V well said.

It will be a long while before mkt recovers. Or may be worst after the olympic??

If hand really itchy, I suggest go Genting!!! HeeHee.

Edited by Bullrun

i only have shallow pockets, but i am trying to do 2 and 6, but with US stocks. if sg stocks are blue, i feel US stocks are deep blue [flowerface] . they have their troubles, but i still cant find companies more famous or strong here (or in Asia, heck, anywhere on earth) than GE,Visa,Morgan Stanley, JPM, BAC, Citi, Merrill, Caterpillar, Sands, Starbucks, Walmart, P&G etc

it's also a way to buy into cheap dollar, or at least that's how the theory goes.

now just soaking up the punishment, more good years ahead : )

Wonder if anyone in MCF made good money from stock market... cos its really bad at the moment.. since surgence of subprime issues in US. [shakehead]

I lost lots of $$... [bigcry]

Down down down... [shakehead]

I lost all my profits...now thinking should I throw or continue to keep for dividends. [bigcry]

If dun need the $ then keep, no point selling.... very very low now (of course not the lowest)

but in the midst of darkness, I see some light [nod] ...My SPC going up liao

i know what u meant... [:/]

when i thought it has reached the bottom (hell) and started fishing, i learned a lesson that hell actually got 18 levels/floors... [dead][dizzy]

[laugh][laugh][laugh] Me too! [sly]

In this bear market there will be many false rallies so its not easy to spot any bottom. It takes time for a situation like this to work itself out.

Warren Buffet has said this will last longer and deeper than what most people anticipate. [sweatdrop]

Not just warren buffet...even our LKY also said that, so i guess this time its gonna be jia lat jia lat.

[rifle]

Happy investing! [:)]

And yes, as most of us are car owners, can buy some petroleum related like SPC to hedge against high oil prices [laugh]

For those more faint hearted, I feel that invest in those counters that you can physically see and avoid S-stocks. China bubble very risky. Go up fast, come down even faster. Many S-stocks reaching historical lows i still will not touch.

Stocks i will invest only like:

1. SMRT, Comfort, - see people packed like sardines all the time. cost goes up, they also increase fares, so they dun lugi. petrol go up, and with PARF encashment, more car owners give up driving and switching to public transport. U think they will lose money?

2. Telcos - Singtel, starhub. stable yields esp starhub. again, all of us carry hp wat. 13 yr olds also get hp, so u think they'll run out of biz?

3. Genting Int, Starcruise - casino coming soon. casino got lose money one meh?

4. Banks - S'pore financials shd be ok, not like US suka suka approve loans. Expensive though, save for OCBC.

5. My view is that construction is ok, not developers. But I am avoiding both. Usually stock market pok liao, then follow by property.

these are my own opinions only hor, and all long term, not for trading. some of the above vested, not all. Just bo liao ramblings since nothing to do and no trades this week due to volatality [:p]

Gent Int'l - Casino no loose money, but before the casino come out, they already lugi much cos when they estimate the building cost few yeears back is much different from the current cost..... sands, steel, cement...etc all gone up [shakehead]

i know gg up but i hold a little too much to pickup... so bo pian... made a loss cuz was last day of contra... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

bought in low again thou.. [:p][laugh][laugh]

is it really true that casino will not lose money? and good point you raise, casino not losing money doesn't = casino stock not losing money. btw LVS and MGM have all tanked in the US.

Don't go in now.

Some fund manager may say its best to go in but I always stick by the common sense... I will not have that much free time giving out advice on how to make $$$ if I'm really making $$$. $$$ makes people selfish. Sad but true.

Good luck and play safe